We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location close restaurants and Museo de Prado”
Review of Hotel Persal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Persal
Ranked #130 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Pleasantly surprised with the location , walking distance to restaurants, bars, cafes and Museo de Prado. Decorated in old world style, although rooms are small, the convenient location is well worth it for travelers who want to experience what Madrid has to offer. Includes breakfast and free wifi.

Room Tip: We had a double room acing the plaza - noise level was not an issue unless windows were left open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Loretta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Hostal Persal. It really felt more like a hotel because the staff was very helpful and nice. Also, the room was cozy and we enjoyed the balcony. The location was one of the best features because it is within walking distance to everything. We also enjoyed the common areas, like the lobby and the library. There is a breakfast available for 8 euros (a bit pricey) but it was tasty and we took some to go! I would recommend this place and come back if I return to Madrid.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony if you want a cool view. When the blacony door is open, then you hear everything g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eldina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We had a room with a balcony overlooking the Plaza which I enjoyed immensely. The room is soundproof from any outside noise with a very thick window\door to keep out the plaza sounds. The bathroom was small but clean. The staff was always pleasant and helpful. Location is unbeatable within walking distance of the Prado, the main train station, Plaza Mayor, San Miguel and many plazas and restaurants! Breakfast is extra.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalPersal, Gerente at Hotel Persal, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinion and pointing out one of our best actives: very central location, in a quiet area. Looking forwawrd to lodging you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

You really can't ask for a better location. The Hostal is located at Plaza de Angel around the corner from Plaza Santa Ana. The area is very nice and you can enjoy sitting outdoors at one of the many cafes. Having said that, Hostal Persal is just about as centric as you are going to get in Madrid and you can go anywhere in just a few minutes. It is close to Plaza del Sol, Gran Via, Plaza Mayor, the Royal Palace, the Prado Museum, the Atocha train station and even El Retiro Park. The staff was very pleasant, bilingual and the service was excellent. The room is indeed very basic and on the small side for sure but it was very clean. Another reviewer commented on having a hard bed but mine was quite comfortable. I would not hesitate to stay there again. If you are traveling on a budget or enjoy a good bargain, all things considered, you will be hard pressed to find a better deal.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DeNorgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

This place is located on Plaza de Angel. Close to Plaza Santa Ana, in the middle of Madrid. You will be close to almost anything. A small walk from the metro stations of Anton Martin or Plaza Puerta del Sol this is really in the thick of things.


A little old and in some need of updating this is still a decent hotel, nice bed, although the bathroom and shower in my single room was abit on the smaller side of things.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Christian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

PERFECT LOCATION. Staff very nice and are bilingual. Had a room issue and they moved me with no problem. Hotel is a NON SMOKING HOTEL!!!! They do have breakfast for 8 euro (bit high for breakfast) you can go down the block for much cheaper. My only complaint with this hotel are the beds. they are ROCK HARD. both rooms. Very very clean. No carpet, Wood flooring instead better option! Bathrooms are very clean and nice size. I will stay there again

Helpful hint: YES you can get to the hotel from the airport via metro. You will take Aeropurerto (L8) to L10 Nuevos Ministerios then L1 from tribunal to SOL. very easy.

I would have given this hotel a 5 if it wasn't for the rock hard beds~

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StJohn2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Great location, helpful staff, nice reception, kind of poor room, a bit noisy, but nothing compared with some reviews I read here. I guess I had luck !! At the end was vey nice option. Close to everything.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PedroAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Plaza D'ort
Plaza D'ort
#384 of 437 in Madrid
141 reviews
Huertas
Casual Madrid del Teatro
Casual Madrid del Teatro
#156 of 437 in Madrid
220 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#38 of 437 in Madrid
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#45 of 437 in Madrid
1,286 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Ballesta
Hostal Ballesta
#142 of 437 in Madrid
623 reviews
La Latina
Mayerling Hotel
Mayerling Hotel
#50 of 437 in Madrid
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Persal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Persal

Address: Plaza del Angel, 12, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#66 Family Hotel in Madrid
#97 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £57 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Persal 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in a building dating back to 1871 which preserves its original structure, Hostal Persal is located in Barrio de las Letras, in the very heart of the historical and tourist centre of Madrid, 100 metres away from Puerta del Sol, beside Plaza de Santa Ana and very close to Plaza Mayor and Prado, Thyssen and Reina Sofía museums…Hostal Persal is located in a pedestrian area with access for taxis and private vehicles to its doorstep. There are two public car parks just 50 metres away from our establishment (Plaza Santa Ana and Plaza Jacinto Benavente). Plaza de Santa Ana is famous for being an area for tapas and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mirai, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel Persal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Persal Madrid
Hostal Persal Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing