We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location for fantastic price”
Review of Hostal la Macarena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal la Macarena
Ranked #253 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location for fantastic price”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Located in the center next to the Plaza Mayor. Cozy, clean, and comfortable room with balcony overlooking a charming and animated plaza. Perfect place with a very affordable price. With the window and the balcony door closed it was so quiet that we overslept the next morning. Will certainly return here again and will recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    87
    26
    8
    2
See reviews for
19
79
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
255 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed at this hostal for six days, centrally located, rooms are small but cosy,tastefully decorated, try get a room with balcony ,you cansit and see action below ,you can people watch ,or listen to the roaming musicians play below, plenty of action the oldest restaurant in the world a couple doors away,museum of ham across the way,plaza mayor just across the street and up the stairs,Mercado San Miguel couple doors a way,you can walk to calle mayor ,one of the major streets that leads to Sol,walk to palico real and cathedral, tons of cafes and restaurants on same street,and very reasonable priced .this hostal a very good bargain.

Room Tip: Room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beverley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelkheim (Taunus), Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Located in the very center of Madrid, right behind Plaza Mayor and in walking distance to the main touristic spots of the city, it is the perfect spot for a young couple to spend a romantic weekend in Madrid.

Room Tip: Ask for views to Arco de Cuchilleros
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Bertuccio83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights in November with a friend and it is a beautiful little hotel. I had asked for room 206 before I arrived as I had read good reviews..and I was not disappointed. Whilst the room is small, it is perfectly appointed with everything you could require and the sheltered balcony overlooking the gorgeous street is a great bonus!

The hotel is directly across from the steps to Plaza Mayor and also opposite the oldest restuarant in the world, Botín. When you step out of the main entrance and turn left, in a few steps you will have reached the Mercado de san Miguel which is an amazing place to pass a few hours! We went every day for a glass of wine, tapas and just to soak up the great atmostphere this place has!

Back to the hotel - as already mentioned it is perfectly located, well appointed and the fact that it is part of a building that houses apartments just adds to its charm. It is on a beautiful street with plenty of bars & restaurants. And the staff are extremely friendly and courteous. Some people undoubtedly will complain that it is dated but to me it was quaint and extremely clean. There is also free wifi. I would not hesitate to return, it is the sort of place I would happily stay longterm.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank halfpint08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed here in 2004 and loved the convenience, just off Plaza Mayor and a block to the Mercado San Miguel. We returned in 2013 and loved it all over again. The rooms are small and don't have all the conveniences of typical American hotels (dresser, e.g.) but it's well cared for by a delightful staff, especially Fernando, who was also there in 2004. There's now a salon where you can hang out, drinking one of the eight different kinds of coffees from a machine that is the likes of no American coffee machine I've ever used. Delicious. We loved our balcony over the street where we watched life going by. We were there for the night that Christmas lights were turned on in the Plaza; it was festive and fun with all the booths with Christmas items. You can go in any direction from Macarena and find something fun - the Mercado where we ate many of our meals, the Puerto del Sol, Madrid's central square with its performers and stores, El Rastro, the Sunday morning flea market. We walked over to La Chueca for good restaurants and innumerable shoe stores. We grabbed the bus or the metro nearby to get out to the museums.

Room Tip: You can get rooms on the street or you can get rooms off the street. We found that the on the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kassie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Cute cozy room near plaza mayor. Great location for sightseeing by foot. Across from Belgian bar and flamingo venue. Hotel delivers cool cervaza to my room for little more than I'd pay in a shop which I drink while people watching and journaling from my balcony!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The hotel was a very nice value for the location; you can be in the center of Plaza Mayor in 2 minutes.. It was hard to find though, especially since we had a car. We drove past it twice before figuring it out. It does not have a formal entrance, the hotel sign was not obvious for us, and the check-in desk is on the second floor. The street is one way with no place to pull over, except for another 100 feet down the street. The first room that we were going to stay in was quite small, but the desk clerk managed to upgrade us to a very nice room on the upper floor with more space and a small balcony overlooking the street. The place was clean, but not updated at all. The wifi was so-so, but our room was quiet. Although, when we opened the balcony windows, I felt like I was on Bourbon Street with all the action down below; it was fun.

Room Tip: You should ask for one of the rooms with a balcony and a view. They have small rooms and nice size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal La Casa de La Plaza
Hostal La Casa de La Plaza
#276 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Centro
Hostal la Perla Asturiana
Hostal la Perla Asturiana
#235 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Centro
Hostal Hispalense
Hostal Hispalense
#302 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Plaza Mayor
Hotel Plaza Mayor
#256 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Centro
Hostal Comercial
Hostal Comercial
#215 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Mayor
Petit Palace Mayor
#93 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal la Macarena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal la Macarena

Property: Hostal la Macarena
Address: Calle Cava de San Miguel 8, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal la Macarena 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hostal la Macarena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal La Macarena Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing