We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cozy little place”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
FROM GALLERY GALLERY
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
FROM GALLERY
GALLERY
COMFORTABLE 150 CM BED
WIDE WARDROBE
BEDROOM
KITCHEN AND DINING ROOM
WELL EQUIPED KITCHEN
DINING ROOM
LARGE 140CM SOFA BED
VIEW
MAIN ENTRANCE
Puerta de Alcala
Royal Palace
Plaza Mayor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Madrid

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
GregoryAs
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent cozy little place”
Reviewed 17 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
3
people found this review helpful

I loved the place, it'r right smack in the center, Plaza Mayor and Royal palace are just a 5 minute walk from the place. Apartment was cozy, everything was good and working, quiet and nice. It is small, so if you want to go there to stay in the apartment all day - don't go there :) But if you want a cool place to live with all the delights of Madrid within walking distance - do book this place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YasminMon...
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Quaint and Cosy”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We occupied the loft apartment and its unique - truly a historic building and within walking distance of everything in Madrid. The kitchen was fully equipped, the bed was wonderful, and the bathroom, small but perfect. The only thing is that if you are a tall person, you would need to crouch in half the apartment. Because it is a loft, you can only stand tall or even normally in one half of the apartment. Also, it is 3 flights of stairs so it is a climb if you are coming in with heavy luggage. Carmen is fantastic and a real help, truly warm and welcoming. She carried our bags up the stairs for us and waited till we got in - she is an amazing host, even providing us with info on things to see and how best to get around!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: couldn't walk upright in half the apartment. Banged our heads quite often!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The flat and where the flat is placed !
Liked least: Nothing !
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yasmine M
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A fabulous apartment!”
Reviewed 25 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed in Carmen and Manuel's apartment with two teenagers for a week and had a wonderful stay. It has everything you,could possibly need and is so well kept, modern and clean. I choose it initially because it appeared to be in a great position in the old part of the city and I also wanted something with character. This apartment did not disappoint. Great position for walking to main attractions and restaurants and you feel like a local. We were warm and cosy, tucked up in the attic. New wifi had been installed and it was incredibly quick and efficient. Carmen met us at the start and explained everything we needed, and Manuel's met us at the end to refund the bond and call us a taxi to the airport. They couldn't have been more helpful. I can't wait to come back some day and stay for longer than a week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The Several fights of stairs could be difficult for less fit people.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janev_Aus...
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment in a superb location - clean, quiet and with very kind and helpful owners”
Reviewed 23 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed in this apartment in February 2013. As we were getting out of the taxi, the taxi disappeared with one of our bags. Carmen and Manuel were very helpful in calming me down and taking us to the police station to make a report. They also rang the taxi company every day for a week to try and locate our bag. We appreciated their kindness very much. The apartment is a studio on the top floor of an old building. It is double glazed and thus very quiet. It has everything one needs and is clean and quiet and in a safe area. We enjoyed our stay very much. The bathroom was very good and the kitchen had everything one needs, including a pair of kitchen scissors (for dealing with pesky packets). the bed was very comfortable and we slept well. The apartment is near Plaza Mayer, the centre of the city, the Mercado San Miguel (wonderful food and drink), the delicious restaurants and tapas bars of La Latina and within easy walkable distance of the big art galleries, Retiro Park, the shopping in Salamanca, the Museo of the Americas and the central station. We enjoyed Madrid, there is a lot to see and having a good,comfortable base makes a big difference. The apartment felt like a home away from home.
Carmen and Miguel were very professional in their dealings with our booking and as I said, very kind and helpful when we were staying at the apartment. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosiness, the atmosphere, the facilities, the location and the kindness of the owners
Liked least: We stayed for ten days or so and would have appreciated a change of linen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Reviewed 25 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sophed
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in a wonderful location.”
Reviewed 18 September 2012 for a stay in April 2012
3
people found this review helpful

I stayed here in April with my family (2 adult children) for 3 nights as part of a months trip round France and Spain. We loved our stay here - the apartment while small was very cosy and had everything you could need. It was very nicely decorated with lovely bright colours, a comfortable couch/sofa bed and dining table. While the ceiling was low there was a skylight with a view over the Madrid streets. The kitchen was well equipped for cooking and there were nice little necessities for when we arrived such as tea bags, toilet paper etc. which all the other apartments we stayed in didn't. It was on the 3rd floor with no lift which didn't bother us at all. It is in the most beautiful old historic building that was very old but beautifully decorated and maintained.
When we walked out the door we realised as well as being in a lovely area we were very central to everywhere which to me is a major plus when you only have a few days in each place. When we walked up behind the apartment we ended up right near Mercado de San Miguel (fantastic market) Plaza Mayor, the palace and shopping area. Across the road was a lovely area of little narrow streets full of bars and restaurants (Calle Cava Baja)
Dealing with Carmen was so easy and by far the best experience out of all the apartment rental dealings. Before we left we corresponded by email then when we got to Madrid we rang her as we headed to the apartment (we were driving) and met her outside. The security was good with a code to get in. Carmen showed us around the apartment, explained everything and there were instruction books on all the appliances. As we wanted to get an early start to Barcelona on our last day Carmen met us the night before to give us back our bond. The only downside of renting apartments over hotels is the meeting up. We had to ring ahead which was difficult when we weren't using phones overseas (been bitten before when travelling from Australia) and then having to meet up again to get bond back and for them to check the apartments whether it's the night before or the day of leaving can be difficult. We had made the arrangement with Carmen when we first arrived but on the actual day we were miles away over the other side of Madrid and we had to rush back. I'm not sure how this could be improved - but it's definitely better to stay in an apartment with a family of 5 rather than a hotel.
Madrid is fantastic - we really loved it - the palace and parks are beautiful as are the bustling squares and shops and I would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location was fantastic and apartment was cute and cosy.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing