We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Junior suite - outstanding”
Review of Catalonia Atocha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Atocha
Ranked #74 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Junior suite - outstanding”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed in the Junior Suite. The pictures looked nice, but the room is absolutely unbelievable!!! Very romantic! This gives you a taste of royalty during your stay. Decoration is beautiful with angels painted on the ceiling, gold painted decorations, fantastic bed, exceptional wooden floors and soooo spacious. We got the room at off-season price and per square meter this was surely the cheapest room in all Madrid. Service is at equal high standard. Treat yourself to an unbelievable stay and choose this suite, you won't be sorry.

Room Tip: Don't think twice - there is no better place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Guest,

I am especially happy about your extremely kind review, as the Junior Suite was a big challenge for us during the transformation of the building into a hotel. The painting on the ceiling and the wooden floor were original and we were forced to find a balance between antique and modern styles. Reading your review I feel more comfortable that we found it! I am sending your comments to the Interior Design Department of Hoteles Catalonia, and I am sure the team will be very proud of their work.
Thank you again for your nice compliments.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    529
    107
    25
    11
See reviews for
202
575
87
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My friend and I booked to stay here for a 3 night city break after the owner of our previous accomodation cancelled our booking a week before our trip. We were surprised to find a central hotel for such an affordable price and I was slightly concerned things were too good to be true. But I can honestly say that we were far from disappointed and would, without hesitation, recommend this hotel and intend to return there on my next visit.

The location is excellent-Anton Martin is the nearest Metro station and is really easy to use. You can get an unlimited 3 day travel pass for 13€ which I would recommend as its the best way to explore the city. However, the hotel is walking distance to the key tourist attractions of which Plaza Mayor and Retiro Park are absolutley worth a visit. Whilst the road isnt the nicest/quietest, our room was on the 1st floor but we didnt hear any noise during our stay.

The facilities and standards at the hotel are exceptional. The rooms are cleaned daily to a very high standard and the showers are amazing! The hotel is contemporary and comfortable with excellent wifi. There are small fridges in the room,ideal for storing pate, meats and cheese which, accompanied by freshly baked bread from the bakery next door, makes for a delightful 'al fresco' lunch on the roof terrace. There are lovely views from the 7th floor terrace which is equipped wiv sunbeds, tables and chairs and a jacuzzi and it is perfect in the sun!

The staff were really helpful and pleasant throughout our stay, particularly Noemi who was very accomodating. When I return to Madrid, Catalonia Atocha will be my first port of call!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grinchey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you very much on behalf of the entire hotel staff (especially Noemí, she felt very proud when she read your kind review). In some sense we believe you were very lucky when the first hotel cancelled your previous reservation, as it gave us the opportunity to show you our beautiful hotel. We hope we will see you soon in Madrid. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2012 via mobile

Perfectly located by a train stop and two minute from Sol. Friendly hotel staff, clean rooms, awesome shower,newly renovated and great bang fort the buck. Never write these reviews and was compelled to. Would recommend again.

(I'm from the states, am in my late thirties,traveled with my brother)

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
We are really very happy to be the subject of your first hotel review!!!! Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with other travelers. Do not hesitate this is going to help us a lot (considering the hotel opened just one year ago, this is really a good promotion for us!!!). Thank you very much again for your compliments. We hope we will see you soon again in the near future. Best regards from Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Etremely well placed. Average 5 minutes walking from Museums and main monuments. Metro station very well connected.
The hotel is fine but staff does not care too much about details: some negative marks for the strange smoke smell (like someone was smoking cigar next door); toilet clean but dusty. Modern premises without charm.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side. Otherwise you will sleep with the noise of one of the main "ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giuseppe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
We really thank you very much for writing your comments about your stay in hotel Catalonia Atocha ****. Even if we understand you had a nice stay, we also understand it would has been better without the cigarette smell in your room, but as you will perfectly understand unluckily not everyone has full respect for non smoking people / rooms. Sometimes people smoke even if the room is a non smoking room. We are trying to improve our procedures to avoid this kind of situation and the consequences. First, asking our guests in the check in time if they smoke or not (two of the seven floors are smoking rooms). But if we find a non smoking room smelling smoke , we try to send curtains and all other tissues to dry cleaning , but this is only possible if we have available rooms, as it takes more than 24 hours. I ask four your kind comprehension and I hope this won't be a big inconvenience to visit us again in the near future. Best regards from Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marin County
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The Catalonia Atocha represents a great value in a GREAT location. It's walking distance to the Atocha Station, The Prado, and the fantastic spots on Huertas. I only gave the location 4 out of 5 because the street the hotel is on, Atocha, is very busy, chaotic and not super clean. But, because of that, the rates of this hotel are much lower (e.g. They were half of the perfectly located Me Hotel) than similar hotels a couple blocks away, closer to Huertas. The staff is friendly and attentive, the rooms are modern and nicely decorated, and the breakfast buffet was good: great variety and open til 11, which suited my teenagers very well.

My only issue was that the beds are on wheels and tended to move around, especially when leaning against the headboard. I actually tried to lock the wheels to no avail.

Anyway, I would certainly recommend this hotel and may stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarinTravelDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind (and useful) review. Regarding the problem with the bed, the truth is that it is the first time a customer tells us something like this. We have been checking some of the beds and we have seen that this occurs when the legs of the bed are badly screwed, so we will proceed to check them all. We really appreciate you warned us about this problem. We hope this was not a big inconvenience and we look forward to see you soon in our hotel. Best regards from Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Hi all,

I had an outstanding experience on my christmas leave in Madrid from the very fisrst time I reached an agent. My girlfriend and I were very lucky being attended by Mrs. Noemi Martinez. We were always treated on a professional manner and folliwing her advice about sightseeing and classical tapas she made our Madrid experience even better. We found the meeting with her as a very valuabe lucky strike. I cant wait to visit the town again! AAA+++ Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask to be attended by Mrs. N. Martinez as after chatting to her she found us an upper level with a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
We were really very happy when we read your review, specially our Receptionist Noemí. They do their best every day, but unluckily they don’t have always a feedback. And it is really very satisfying when they realize that people appreciate their good job and their very professional way of working.
I hope we will see you soon and we thank you again for your very nice and kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We were travelling in Europe and with a similar price tag, this hotel presented more value for money. It was well designed, clean, and close to attractions and metro. There is also a nice bakery just next to the hotel. Room size was not bad, the bathroom was big though. Overall it was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niki n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you very much indeed for giving us your impressions about your stay in hotel Catalonia Atocha ****. As you had a nice stay we hope we will see you again in your next visit to Madrid. It will be really a big pleasure for us to welcome you again. Let me thank you one more time for your very kind words. Best regards from Madrid. The General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 436 in Madrid
1,495 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#42 of 436 in Madrid
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#82 of 436 in Madrid
505 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#21 of 436 in Madrid
1,939 reviews
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#68 of 436 in Madrid
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Atocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Atocha

Property: Catalonia Atocha
Address: Calle Atocha 81, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#37 Family Hotel in Madrid
#40 Business Hotel in Madrid
#57 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Atocha 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Atocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Atocha Calle Atocha 81 Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing