We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Catalonia Atocha
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor(Madrid)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Regina(Madrid)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Maydrit Hotel(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Only YOU Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$385
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$348
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,546)
Filter reviews
1,546 results
Traveller rating
780
597
124
31
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
780
597
124
31
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubplaza mayorterrace roomanton martintrain stationsun loungerswithin walking distancehotel is modernstreet viewrain showerbuffet breakfastreina sofiacomfortable bedsbusy streetprado museumshort walkmajor museums
Filter
Updating list...
611 - 616 of 1,546 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Fabulous hotel. Very clean and welcoming, The rooftop jaccuzi and sunbeds were lovely to strat the day with, although the water was cold (not heated jaccuzi), however, the hotel staff said the water would be a better temperature in the hotter months. We visited in August last year had an amazing time. weather was just right, could walk for miles without feeling lathargic and didn't really need a cardigan, even in the evening.

The hotel was close to a metro station and was also close to a few popular tourist attractions. and lovely restaurants and clubs and bars too. It was very close to the centre of madrid and was easy to walk to all the close attractions.

The room was lovely big, with a comfortable bed and enough room to snuggle and have your own space too!. there was a TV, more than enough cupboard space and a safe. The bathroom was luxurious and the shower could fit a whole group into it, it was also powerful and great to have a wash in. The hotel provided a comb, little soaps and a sewing kit too.

There was a little fruit shop close by so I could get my daily dose of fruit and also plenty of cafe's and restaurants close by for breakfast lunch and dinner!

Madrid is a lovely city and would love to go again. However we went to visit a friend and she found parking difficult round the hotel....but I don't think this took anything away from our fab stay at Catalonia Atocha. Was a little on the expensive side but worth it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ANB456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

We are happy to know that the only inconvenience during your stay was related with the weather. Unluckily, this is something very difficult to predict, as springtime in Madrid is especially variable. Regarding the temperature of the Jacuzzi, it is difficult to keep it warm with this weather conditions. But following the request of several guests we have changed the water heater for a more powerful one and now, even if the temperature outside is around 15oC, people can use it. The problem comes in the moment of coming out, but this is not a problem for some of our courageous guests.
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel again. We hope it will be a third stay in the Catalonia Atocha hotel very soon. Best regards from Madrid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

What an amazing hotel. This trip to Madrid was a surprise for my husband. He's quite fussy about hotels, and thought I would never find anything nice within my budget in expensive Madrid. I can across this hotel through venere, and loved the rooftop terrace, so went ahead with the booking. On arrival, I couldn't get over how lovely the hotel is. The staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. When we had problems getting football ticket, an employee came out of the hotel to the bank with to help resolve the problem - thank you. Location wise, Plaza Santa Ana was 10 mins walk away and become one of your favourite stops. The metro station was less than a minutes walk from the hotel, with only 2/3 stops from Gran Via and 1 stop from La Latina. Would happily stay here again :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vaishyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Dear Madam,
We read your review this morning. What a nice way to begin our day!!! Thank you very much indeed for your very nice compliments. We made several copies of the review and we gave them to our Department Managers. I am sure they will feel very proud of their staff after reading your comments. I hope you will choose hotel Catalonia Atocha **** in the next trip to Madrid. Of course, will be a pleasure for us to see you again. Best regards from Madrid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We happened upon this place by accident, but it gets perfect marks for location, price, cleanliness, service and design. We opted for a room with a huge balcony and a small separate living room (which I highly recommend) and had an incredibly restful long weekend sunning on the balcony and strolling the great nearby neighborhoods. The bathroom has very generous and a hairs stylist had no problem setting up shop and working on my wife's hair. Small Chinese-run odds-and-ends stores about 50m up the road has anything you might need, like power adapters, at reasonable prices. This is our new go-to hotel in Madrid!

Room Tip: Splurge for a balcony!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DajomoNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thank you very much for your nice compliments. As you had a wonderful weekend in one of our Superior Rooms let us make you a suggestion for the next trip to Madrid: don't miss the opportunity to make a reservation of our spectacular Junior Suite. For only 60€ supplement you will have the opportunity to enjoy a huge room with a king size bed, original wooden floor, spectacular frescos on the ceiling, a 50 inches flat TV and a full equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, separate shower...A real dream. Thank you again for your kind review. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Great location with a metro station 2 minutes walk away. Perfect to get to central or even walk 10-15 minutes.

Superb rooms which are spacious with also a huge shower.

Staff were very friendly and willing to help.

free wifi.

Dominos and kebab food places 2 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellyjcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

We feel very happy the hotel met all your expectations. Of course, it will be a big pleasure for us to meet you again in our hotel. Thank you very much for your kind review. Best regards from Madrid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights over the Easter long weekend and was really happy with the hotel. The room was modern, clean and comfortable. The staff were all friendly and spoke English, which is always a relief when you only speak a little of the local language! The reception/front desk is open 24 hours which is also great. For short trips I like to fly in late at night so I can make the most of the weekend and so it was great to be able to check in at 1am.

Location is fantastic, fairly central, with just a short walk to many popular areas in Madrid. There's also a subway station right outside for those who don't want to walk.

The bathroom was very nice and the shower fantastic. As well as the lovely rain shower there's also a more standard removable shower head so you have two showers in one (that can be operated independently). I made use of both.

The room itself was nice and quiet, although I had requested a room in a quiet location when I made the booking. I was unlucky enough to get sick after eating something bad (not from the hotel) and had to spend a bit more time in the room than I had planned so I was very glad that the room was comfortable. The free WiFi was also a great thing to have.

Overall I'd recommend this hotel to anyone and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WraithQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel!!! We are really happy you had such a nice stay, so we hope we will see you soon in Madrid. Best regards from Madrid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews