We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Catalonia Atocha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Atocha
Ranked #64 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

New hotel, upscale, elegant, clean, beautiful, prime location. In short - excellent choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shosh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    504
    105
    23
    9
See reviews for
194
555
85
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

This hotel is one of the nicest, modern, comfortable 4 star hotel I've ever stayed in.

Stayed in room 117 for 4 nights in July. Staff were very friendly and efficient on check in & check out. No problem with a late check out on our last day too.

Breakfast which was at a special rate of €10 was delicious.

The rooms are very modern. Bed is very comfortable. The shower though was the highlight. You could fit 3 in there!

The roof terrace is lovely with great views and jacuzzi was a welcome cooler for the heat.

Overall I would not think twice at recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maverick-ado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you very much for your extremely kind review. Will we see you next summer? We hope so. It would be a great pleasure! Thank you again for sharing your opinion about the hotel with the tripadvisor.com users. Best regards from Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed here because it was near the central train station and we needed to take a train in the morning. But when we got there we were blown away by how great the location was. 3 minute walk from plaza Santa ana with the best courtyard cafes and restaurants in the city, a strip of bars and clubs, some great rooftop bars and everything else you need for a Spanish fiesta. The area was safe at night, clean and relaed.

The hotel itself was gorgeously done, modern, chic, the rooms were new and clean, the artwork was great, the rain showers were exactly what you need when travelling and the beds were super comfortable. For its price it's clearly an amazing hotel. The staf were super friendly, they recommended restaurants close by that we're fantastic and at breakfast when we accidentally ordered something I was allergic to the waiter ran up to us before we started eating to warm us if the ingredients, and had the kictchen prepare something new for us at no cost.

I would definetely go back, and I would strongly recommend it for its price range. Just remember the rooms are a bit small, but that's a willing sacrifice for their price and star rating considering they more than make up for it with location, decor, comfort and service.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ABerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

The hotel is located near the Atocha station, usually we don’t stay near the hotel in Europe but this is far enough yet close to the station and other attractions. The room was decent sized, and clean. Two minor points: The sink, like others mentioned, doesn’t drain properly. There is no place to keep your toiletries in the shower stall. Staff were nice, and quite helpful. Directions: From the station, take the side exit as you walk past the trees (inside the station). You’ll see a ramp going up, take that to reach the main road. Cross. Then cross again. You are on the road that takes you to Prado. You’ll see a garden to the right, (to your rear as you wait for the traffic light). Cross again, you are now on Calle Atocha. Walk up for about 12 minutes, and you’ll find the hotel on your right. It’s safe area. We didn’t see any dodgy characters, and we used to come back by 9 or 10 in the summer.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guruprasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Nice and clean hotel, well located and just a step from Huertas and the main museums.
Terrace is superb and relaxed.
Rooms in the 7th floor are very espacious, with a very good connection for WIFI all accross the hotel (free).
Good bathroom, very good shower, ok minibar and TV with cable.
The bed was comfortable and the check in was smooth.
Only downsize could be the price of the laundry which seems to be very expensive for this type of hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gintonic76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
We are glad to know you enjoyed the hotel so much. Regarding the Laundry Service, we will transfer your comments to our Customer Service Department in Barcelona. Thank you again for taking your time to write such a kind review. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I stayed here to explore the city of Madrid. It was a very easy hotel to get to using the subway and a great location to visit all the main attractions in the city, particularly on foot. The reception team was very helpful. My room was on the seventh floor which gave easy access to the sun terrace which had a few sun loungers, chairs, tables and most importantly the hot tub. There were great views across the city to the hills outside from it and beach towels were provided. The room was a good size, very quiet, with good, comfortable beds. The view from the room wasn't anything to write home about but it didn't matter as I was out and about for most of the time. The bathroom was spacious but did have a smoky glass door which didn't give much privacy. Breakfast was buffet style with lots of options. A great, reasonably priced hotel which allows you to make the most of Madrid.

Room Tip: Ask for a seventh floor room to make the most of the sun terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonkatruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We have just returned from Madrids Catalonia Atocha hotel, This hotel cannot be recommended enough for me, Very clean, modern and stylish, with very helpful and pleasant staff. The hotels Jacuzzi on the roof terrace with sun deck make all the difference and is a nice place to relax after or before exploring the sights and restaurants of Madrid. We asked for a quiet room, and were given a room at the rear of the hotel on floor level 6 a nice room with good facilities, mini bar, safe and of course the en suit bathroom all stylish/ clean and looked very new. We were offered a special deal on the breakfast,at 10 euro's and well worth it, with a nice selection of fruit, pastries cold meats and cheeses all fresh and a hot food section for eggs, omelets etc cooked to order. Would we stay here again, a big yes, Easy access from the Airport via metro, only a few steps to negotiate and three changes all very easy, or train direct but more of a walk from station to hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy-Irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
We wouldn't need any Comercial Department with some more guests like you!!!! Thank you very much indeed for your very kind review. We hope you will visit us again in your next trip to Madrid. Best regards and thank you again for your compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 441 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#47 of 441 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#76 of 441 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Huertas
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
#194 of 441 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#33 of 441 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Atocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Atocha

Property: Catalonia Atocha
Address: Calle Atocha 81, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#37 Family Hotel in Madrid
#40 Business Hotel in Madrid
#49 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Atocha 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Atocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Atocha Calle Atocha 81 Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing