We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Arrived late at night and was a bit disappointed but in morning light everything is always much better!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Catalonia Atocha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Catalonia Atocha
Ranked #64 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
138 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Arrived late at night and was a bit disappointed but in morning light everything is always much better!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We booked this hotel per reviews on Trip Advisor. As we arrived late at night we were not that excited. The old doorway to the hotel is chained off and there is a modern swing door that seemed to give off one of those dreadful hotel scents. Which funnily wsa not present in the morning. The room was a different layout to what we thought we were getting. I also thought that the rooms had a coffee machine - maybe it was a figment of my imagination. However, by morning we saw that the patio area was lovely and had it been summer would have been great to nip from there to the shower whilst sunbathing since all the windows opened out from the room to the terrace. We were on the 6th floor in 614. Btw great huge rainforest shower! Bath products were OK nothing amazing but there were slippers and a bathrobe which was nice. Pillows on the bed were not good - more like bolsters, they need to address these. There was a welcome bottle of water and some chocolate covered peanuts nicely packaged. It is a nice hotel and very clean. Very good location as it is 2 mins walk from Anton Martin metro and not far to Atocha station but I wouldn't do that walk with suitcases. We took a taxi from the airport to the hotel when we arrived in Madrid but the metro from Atocha station to the airport on the way out, simply, as we had arrived in from Valencia. It is a bit of a trek on a few lines and we should have taken the overground or a taxi as once you get to the airport there is a mega amount of hiking to the check in desks. If you want to save money then the metro is fine but tricky to negotiate. We were offered a deal of 12 euro for breakfast each instead of 16 euro that was quoted when we booked the hotel. 16 euro is ridiculous for breakfast as you can get a whole meal at lunch for way less. 12 euro also a bit over the top but since we were in Madrid for such little time we skipped the hotel and had coffee and croissants out. Wifi was great in the room.

Room Tip: well the bigger rooms on the 6th floor are more expensive and they have a small sofa area and exit o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janieg22609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear guest,

Yours was one of the longest and detailed reviews we ever read. We are sure it will help a lot to our potential guests to make a decision. Thank you very much indeed for your time and your kindness. Regarding the tea / coffee facility is available only in our Superior / Superior Terrace and Junior Suite rooms. Regarding the pillows it is very difficult for us to please all our guests, as everyone has a different perception. What we are doing now is offering two different pillows per bed: a soft one and a hard one. But we have changed our pillow's supplier and the new soft pillow won't be so thin and the hard pillow one won't be so high. The time will tell us if we made a good decision. Once again, thank you very much for your nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    498
    104
    23
    9
See reviews for
189
553
85
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Catalonia Atocha. We were able to walk to many of the attractions. We did travel with my grandparents who took short cab rides. The staff was able to make great recommendations for places to eat and was overall very friendly. The room we had was snug but very comfortable beds and clean. My other family members had larger rooms that were not in the corner.

Room Tip: Ask not to be in a corner room at the end of the hall as it is smaller than other rooms at the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jleyva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear guest,

We are glad to know that your trip to Madrid was a great success. A little tip for your next trip: do not hesitate to book one of our superior rooms with terrace. They are slightly bigger and they have a wonderful terrace with views over the southern side of the city. Thank you very much for your nice review. Best regards from Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avarua, Cook Islands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Great location, not far from the old market place. Rooms are very nice. Stayed in a std room. Shower was amazing. Breakfast was really nice for just 12€. Can have tapas in the restaurant on ground floor. Great location!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank CCMani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very kind review. When you mention the old market, we guess you mean Anton Martin Market (right in front of the hotel). This is a good tip for curious travelers. Of course, it is not the kind of market organized for tourists. It is a real food market where the locals do the shopping. So it is an interesting place for buying the famous and wonderful Spanish food products like olive oil or Iberian ham (with good prices and quality)...But it is also a place where you can taste different foods from all over the world: the most traditional Spanish recipes but also the best sushi in the Sushi Bar. Next time, we would recommend you to visit another market: Mercado de San Miguel. Thank you again for your kind words. Best regards from Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed in november last week for 3 days.All the happening places,restaurants and pubs are very near to the hotel with walkable distance. Prado museum, puerta del sol , plaza mayor etc all are very near to the hotel. Rooms are very neat and clean. good english speaking staff who are very co-operative. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel so much. Indeed, location was the main reason why our Company decided to buy this wonderful and historical building: next to the main Museums, half way from the old city (Plaza Mayor, Palacio Real...), some minutes walking from Atocha Train Station and next to one of the most interesting and lively areas in Madrid: Barrio de Las Letras. Thank you again for your nice words. Best regards from Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

This a nice hotel, with good location in terms of attractions, public transport, eateries. Everything is at a walkable distance. The staff is helpful and always available. Rooms are small but nicely decorated, stylish and absolutely adequate. We had a very good experience. Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roaash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your kind review. We are very glad to know that you would recommend us to your friends and relatives. This is our main goal with all our guests: to make sure that they would choose us again in their future trips to Madrid. So we look forward to seeing you again soon. Once more, thank you very much for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is a good modern hotel ideally situated for the railway station and the art galleries. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The rooms are comfortable and very quite. They are stylish and look on to a courtyard. I would stay her agian

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janesheld0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for nice review. We are very glad to know that you would stay again in our beautiful hotel in your next trip to Madrid. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and am glad I did as it was better than expected. I initially got a small'ish room since I had requested for a double bed but with a quick call to the reception, I was given the option to change to a bigger room facing the street with double beds. The room was spacious, clean, well lit and the rain-shower was fantastic.
The best thing about the hotel is not it's great location within a lively district, close to public transport & walking distance to most major sights, but the super helpful and extremely friendly staff.
One tip, if you're coming from Atocha Station with your luggage, I suggest you take a cab or the Metro to Anton Martin, as it's an uphill and can be tiring.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noafie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Guest,

According to your kind review, the hotel and the service provided by our Staff was beyond your expectations. This is one of the best compliments we could have ever received. Thank you very much indeed for your amazing review. Regarding your advice, we also recommend our guests to take a taxi or the Subway to get the hotel in the arrival day. As you say, and even if the distance from Atocha Station is rather short, the street is very steep. There is no problem to walk to Atocha Station in the departure date, as you walk down the hill. Once again, thank you very much for your kindness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#9 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#46 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#76 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Huertas
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
#190 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#35 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Atocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Atocha

Property: Catalonia Atocha
Address: Calle Atocha 81, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#37 Family Hotel in Madrid
#40 Business Hotel in Madrid
#49 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Atocha 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Atocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Atocha Calle Atocha 81 Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing