We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and conveniently situated hotel”
Review of Catalonia Atocha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Atocha
Ranked #77 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This hotel is fairly centrally placed in Madrid and particularly well placed for the major art galleries. It's on a busy street and in an older building , but has been well and recently updated and upgraded inside. Rooms and bathrooms are rather small, but well organised and the whole place is very well kept and immaculately clean. The bedrooms are also notably quiet for such a busy city centre street. There is no restaurant, but a good buffet breakfast is served in the basement and the bar also doubles as a snack/tapas place. Service is good from the reception and breakfast room staff, but the bar staff at times can be rather hassled. On the roof, there's a small sun terrace and splash pool.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jasperco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your time and your kind review. As you mention, location is basically the reason why the hotel has been a big success since it was opened in 2011. But we feel especially proud of your remark about cleaning. We have been working really hard to get a very high standard regarding cleanliness. We will copy your review to our Housekeeping staff. We are sure they will feel very proud of their job. Once again, thank you very much for your kind and useful review. Best regards from Madrid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

387 - 393 of 1,442 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed at Catalonia Atocha hotel 5 nights. The hotel has everything you need for exploring Madrid. It has a good location in the center of the city (about 10-15 minutes walking to any important attraction in Madrid). The hotel is modern, very clean; they replace sheets every day, excellent hot shower, comfortable bed, flat 32 TV with several stations in English, free WiFi, good breakfast, helpful staff and many shops around. Our room was in the back side, quiet and with a good size. In my opinion this hotel is excellent choice and highly recommended. Now some information that you must know:
1) The hotel is in the center of Madrid but not in the heart of the city. You must walk 5-10 minutes to anywhere.
2) The Atocha railway station is 10 minutes walking. It is not recommended to walk this distance with heavy luggage (both sides). A taxi from Atocha railway station to the hotel is 10 EURO.
3) We paid for a room in the back of the hotel (less expensive and quieter). It means that the only view from the windows is the windows of others rooms. You can add 15 EURO for night for better view.
4) They propose us in the hotel a special price for the breakfasts (12 Euro instead 16 Euro). My advice is not to pay for the breakfasts in advance. You can buy a breakfast in the first morning and then decide yourself if it worth to you.
5) Our room not included devices to prepare coffee.
The bottom line: Thank you Catalonia Atocha hotel and the people of Madrid for the wonderful vacation in your beautiful and interesting city.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abke550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your long and extremely detailed review. We are sure it will help our potential guests to make a final decision. Regarding the tea / coffee facilities, we offer it in our Superior Rooms (Superior and Junior Suite rooms) but we are considering to have some extra units in case any of our guests was interested. Once again, thank you very much for your compliments. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Seems like an absolutely lovely hotel, but this review is purely based on our afternoon tea. We waited nearly an hour and then some of the desserts were missing because they weren't ready, so there were just little spaces and they came later on only after we enquired about them. I heard a few people complaining about the lack of fillings etc. I think they were just having a really busy day, but it was such a shame. It just didn't have the same feel as The Sanderson tea for example. Staff were lovely and very attentive with a guest who had a nut allergy. The setting is great, but didn't feel very special.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurent U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your nice review about our Cafeteria. As far as I understand, you didn't stay in the hotel. If this was the case, I hope you will give us a chance in your next trip to Madrid. Once again, thank you for your kindness. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

After two nights spent in this hotel I'm pleased with my choice:
- good location close to plaza mayor but no noise (we could sleep with our window open)
- excellent shower
- adequate sized room
- service was quick and professional
- excellent wifi

Only downside: for the price of the room they could have included the use of a bathrobe and slippers (this is now reserved for the superior rooms)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Alanake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed there for three nights last week. The hotel is modern and conveniently located by the Prado and Thyssen-Bornemisza museum. The Anton Martin subway station is just yards away. There are several eating and drinking options at Plaza Santa Ana which is just a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Plaza Mayor and Puerta del Sol are both within walking distance (my opinion). The rooms were clean, but on the small size. We found the beds to be comfortable. The staff was professional and offer eating recommendations when asked. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TX1930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear guest,

We are glad you had a good stay in our hotel. Do not miss the opportunity to visit us again in your next trip to Madrid. If you do it in summer time, you will have the opportunity of enjoying the wonderful experience of having a cup of wine in our Jacuzzi-Terrace on the seventh floor while you see a beautiful sunset. Thank you very much for your kind and wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Clean, friendly place with some nice sized rooms.
The hotel has a standard rate and from that you can add extra features, like a terrasse, breakfast etc.
We can recommend the terrasse, in springtime, where you can soak in the sun in shelter from the wind. Room 615 is great.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. Your suggestions will help future clients in the moment of making a decision. And we absolutely agree with your advice: 615 and the other three rooms with a terrace are the best way of enjoying the wonderful spring weather and clear sky of this time of the year. A little tip for your next trip to Madrid: next time do not hesitate to book our superb Junior Suite. Be sure you won't be disappointed. Thank you again for your kindness. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The hotel is well located, near (walk distance) from Sol Metro Station, Atocha Station and Paseo del Prado. Also, all the staff team is very useful. It's not a cheap one, but the good location, staff and confort compensate.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernando B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review, especially for those words regarding our Staff. We also believe they are definitively a great team! We will do our best to keep providing the same good service in the future (and of course we hope you will appreciate this in your next trip to Madrid). Thank you again for your kindness. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Huertas
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
#197 of 440 in Madrid
1,338 reviews
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#82 of 440 in Madrid
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#38 of 440 in Madrid
763 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#23 of 440 in Madrid
2,050 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 440 in Madrid
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Atocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Atocha

Address: Calle Atocha 81, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#37 Family Hotel in Madrid
#40 Business Hotel in Madrid
#59 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £86 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Atocha 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Madrid, a few meters from Paseo del Prado and Atocha Station, the gateway to Madrid of high speed trains (AVE), Hotel Catalonia Atocha benefits from a strategic location; one step away from the main museums and tourist attractions of the capital and in an area of ​​great commercial and leisure activity. The hotel is complemented by a café-snack bar, a restaurant for conventions and events, free Wi-Fi and a beautiful terrace with heated seasonal jacuzzi with spectacular views over the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Catalonia Atocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Atocha Calle Atocha 81 Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing