We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Catalonia Atocha, Madrid”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Catalonia Atocha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Catalonia Atocha
Ranked #63 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Olive, North Carolina
1 review
“Catalonia Atocha, Madrid”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had a great 6 night stay! Our rooms were large, comfortable, and quiet, and the shower was "fantastic" (to use another reviewer's word). The hotel staff were very professional, friendly, and helpful. They answered all of our questions, made dinner reservations, and drew routes for us on our maps so that we would not get lost. We also appreciated the housekeeping staff who cleaned our rooms every day and made them look nice to return to each afternoon. The breakfast was very good with lots of choices, and we greatly enjoyed the fresh fruit every morning - especially the strawberries. We also appreciated the free wi-fi in our rooms. The hotel is well located for walking to the museums, shops, and restaurants. We all agree that if we return to Madrid, we will stay at the Catalonia Atocha!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    497
    102
    23
    9
See reviews for
189
551
85
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Rather nice; nothing special, but you won't miss a thing. Modern, clean hotel, however, without particular Spanish spirit. Good example of a chain outlet you will find everywhere. I really miss bathroom being not a fan of shower. But cleaning is amazing! Staff at the reception is helpful and hospitable. Breakfast is nothing special, coffee is not something you would be abided by. I was disappointed of having such a small team to host a breakfast: if you are late you would be a lucky one to find a clear table. Recommend rooms with view not to the street, as it can be noisy. But overall, that is a good place to stay, in hand distance to everything you would like to see and adore.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Oksana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear guest,

We are especially happy of reading your nice review, as we are receiving more and more Russian guests day after day. And it is very interesting for us to know about their opinion. They will become one of the most important tourist group in the next years and we would like to become one of their favorite hotels in Madrid. We will print your review for our Cleaning Staff. We are sure they will feel very proud of their job after reading your nice words about the cleaning. Thank you very much indeed for your time. Best regards from Madrid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Very pleasant stay. Full of tour groups but since I was on a tour that was to be expected. It does make breakfasts a little rushed though with large groups all trying to get in and out quickly.
The hotel is within easy walking distance of the Prado, Plaza Mayor and other attractions.
The room was quite dark but I guess they are keeping costs down by saving on electricity. It was very clean and the bed was comfortable.
Tea and coffee and an electric jug in the room would have been nice. There was no clock in the room.
We had free wi-fi which was a bit tricky to use because it kept dropping out.
Overall, for the cost, I thought this hotel delivered what was necessary for a pleasant stay. I might not stay here if was travelling solo instead of in a tour group.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaffa92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear guest,

It is true that our perception of a hotel can be very different depending on the circumstances. The fact of having two or three tourist groups in the hotel within the same period is not usually a problem. But it turns out that sometimes they decide to have breakfast at the same time. And this is exactly what happened during your stay in the hotel. Since then, we made a decision: in case we have a situation like this in the future, we will try to organize the breakfast time with the different Tour Leaders. The idea is not to have more than one group in the breakfast restaurant. We hope this will help us to avoid the "chaos" in our Breakfast room. Thank you very much for your very useful review. We wish we will see you again soon in our beautiful hotel. Best regards from Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Check-in was friendly and efficient, and while not exactly in the middle of tourism sites, it was pretty close - a short walk or cab ride. The room was comfortable and quiet and the shower was fantastic. Because we booked online, we received a credit for a free drink in the nice bar. The only downsides were that the wifi in the room was not a great signal (and you had to log in to it each time), and as there didn't appear to be a concierge desk, we had to rely on the front desk for a shopping recommendation (which didn't turn out to be too good.) Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendelfarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear guest,

We are very happy to know that you had a nice stay overall. Regarding the Wi-Fi signal, we will contact the supplier of this service to check the strength of the signal, as we have been observing a lack of signal at the end of some corridors. By the way, It is true that the system disconnects you automatically in case you are not using the Internet. But this is not due to a system malfunction. In fact, it helps the people who are working with the computer to get a higher speed. We hope you won't have this inconvenience in your next stay in the hotel. Thank you very much for your comprehension. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

i booked at catalonia atocha in march depending on the good review of trip advisor and i didn't want the bigger rooms with the street view , but the standard room was very small compared to other hotels i booked in 4 starts , there was no bathroom slipper , water heater nor iron or complementary tea or water basically there was nothing extra and its a 4 star hotel and a bit pricy .
the location was good but the street wasn't that nice there is a strip club down the road , the food was great as well the staff they were good .
but i didn't like the room it was very noisy i could hear the ppl upstairs in there room walking and moving around till 2 am in the morning .
over all the hotel needs some improvements in providing all the rooms for whats necessary like a water heater !!

Room Tip: if you want to stay in this hotel choose the more expensive room to have all the facility or choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 187H_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabasas, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We (couple with 9-year-old boy) stayed here two nights at the end of a two week Spain trip. We wanted a base from which to explore the art museums, and this hotel served our purposes well.

The location on Atocha street is walking distance to most of the major sites, and the train station. The Sofia (location of Picasso's Guernica) is right down the street, and the Prado is an easy 10 minute walk. The street itself is a bit loud, and not very scenic, but you can easily walk into the narrow side streets and plazas where shops and good restaurants are abundant. The two major squares where (thousands of) people gather - Plaza Mayor, and Puerta Del Sol, are each a short, scenic walk away.

Getting to and from the airport can be done via the train station, or much more simply with a 30 euro, 15-20 minute cab ride.

The hotel itself is nicely put together. The public spaces are somewhat underwhelming, but the rooms are well designed, nicely appointed, and sparkling clean. It's not a grand property, but it is a good value and a very satisfactory home base for exploring the museums and tourist areas of Madrid.

If you're planning a big trip to Spain, with multiple cities, I personally would spend only enough time in Madrid for the museums, and then move on to places like Barcelona and Seville to really get immersed in Spanish culture. Madrid is such a big, bustling city that it feels more generically international than Spanish - kind of the New York of Spain.

Room Tip: A "double" room is still pretty small. The "view" rooms also come with traffic n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runningpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear guest,

We are glad you had a nice stay in our hotel. Regarding your advice about the trip in Spain, we understand your remarks, but we would like to give you our point of view. Spain is a very complex country (nothing to do with the easy cliché we have been selling abroad for a long time). The difficult geography is in the origin of a wonderful cultural variety. Let us say it in a different way: the real Spanish culture is the result of a mixture of different cultures. This fact was seen as a problem in other times but now we understand that this is a huge treasure for the new generations. It turns our country into a little continent in itself, with so many different landscapes to see and so many things to discover...Beyond the flamenco, the paella and the bull fights, beyond the stereotypes, there is a much more sophisticated (and complicated) country to discover. And Madrid is also a place a bit difficult to explain / understand. A relatively new old European capital, the meeting place of the different Spanish sensitivities. But above all, a place with a unique kind of energy and a "must see" if anyone wants to get an approximate idea about our wonderful country. Once again, thank you very much for your kind description about our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Best regards from Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#9 of 444 in Madrid
1,404 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#45 of 444 in Madrid
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#75 of 444 in Madrid
375 reviews
Huertas
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
#192 of 444 in Madrid
1,222 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#34 of 444 in Madrid
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Atocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Atocha

Property: Catalonia Atocha
Address: Calle Atocha 81, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#37 Family Hotel in Madrid
#40 Business Hotel in Madrid
#49 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Atocha 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Atocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Atocha Calle Atocha 81 Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing