We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in heart of Madrid”
Review of Catalonia Atocha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Atocha
Ranked #75 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here two nights in Madrid, and we really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Catalonia Atocha. First, I'll start by agreeing with most of the other reviewers that it really is in a fantastic location. Walking distance the Golden Triangle of museums, downtown shopping in Puerta Del Sol, and other sights in Madrid (although we did take a couple taxis at night, which are another cheap/great option).

The rooms were cozy, and the bed was VERY comfortable, but I believe our room was in the corner of the building so we only had one window and did not get a lot of natural light. But I will say this, the shower is fantastic! The water pressure was very powerful, and adjustable.

There may be more luxurious hotels in the area with more high-end features, but we scored a great deal at Hotel Catalonia Atocha. Location was great, bed was comfortable, and shower was amazing. There's also a bar attached to the hotel, and they serve breakfast, which was pretty tasty for 12 Euro a person. Staff was friendly and helpful as well. I would definitely stay again and recommend to friends, I would just try to request a room w/ more windows/light, otherwise a great choice for staying in Madrid!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danbeatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear guest,

We really appreciate the time you used to share your impressions of the hotel with other users of the web site. Regarding the breakfast, we encourage you to try our buffet breakfast (in our breakfast restaurant downstairs) in your next trip to Madrid. For the same price you paid in the bar next to the hotel you will enjoy a huge variety of food, including fresh squeezed oranges, three kinds of fresh fruits, home made pastries, a wide cold meats assortment, different kinds of cakes...We wish you will visit us again soon. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 352 of 1,402 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel believing it would be good for at least the location and that certainly is the case as it was within walking distance of most iconic places such as the Palacio Real and the Prado. The rooms were very spacious and luxurious with very comfortable beds and the towels changed every day. The slight downside was the air con was very noisy- but this is the case in the majority of hotels. The view was lacking in the hotel but we were advised that the inner rooms were better because the noise from the street may have been too loud. Also, there was a roof terrace in this place with a jacuzzi. This was the perfect place to spend a couple of hours as it wasn't too busy and the jacuzzi was refreshing after a day walking all over Madrid. Furthermore, the service was very polite, efficient and friendly- they were always happy to help! Overall, this hotel was excellent and I'd recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: If you are not a fan of noise, ask for a room towards the back of the hotel as if you're on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear guest,

It is always great news to receive a review like yours. We do not find the appropriate words to express our gratitude, especially for those words referring our service. We try to do our best every day, and it is nice when we see that our guests appreciate that. Once again, thank you. Best regards from Madrid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel was very centrally located. We arrived early for check in however our room was made available in the short time it took for us to check in and ask for some local tourist information. The staff were keen to help which was refreshing. Our room was very clean and although overlooking a busy main road it was quiet enough for a good nights sleep. Large windows/doors opened which was lovely. The beds were large and comfortable. The bathroom was very clean and we both loved the shower. It was a short walk to many sites, we walked everywhere possible on the first day taking in Retiro park and it was great. Walking back late at night we felt very safe. The second day we used the metro to go to the Bernabeu, the nearest stop was a few minutes walk away and was very simple to use when equipped with the metro map. The outdoor seating area was small but absolutely lovely to sit down for a while at the end of a busy site seeing day, very peaceful. The restaurant/bar was very reasonably priced and the portions nice (the fruit salad was large and cheap) and the staff very attentive. I would return!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citygirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear guest,

"I would return". This is the kind of thing we would like to read at the end of every single review. Thank you very much indeed. Do not hesitate to contact us in case you have a new opportunity to come back to Madrid. It would be a great pleasure to have you again in the hotel. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Great service, decent room size and good value for money. Added bonus was the welcome drink included as we had booked through their website. Good location, but a decent walking distance to the main sights as the Madrid metro is virtually useless - but this is not their fault. Overall an enjoyable stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear guest,

We are very glad you enjoyed the hotel that much. By the way, we are a bit surprised you weren't satisfied by the subway service in Madrid. The Madrid subway is considered to be one of the 10 best subway networks in the world. And it is the fastest way to move around the city, specially if you go to any of the neighborhoods far from the city center (Chamartín, Salamanca, Chambery...). We guess you might have found restrictions due to the construction works they do in July and August, when people is on holidays. It may cause some inconvenience to the tourists visiting the city in the summer. We wish you will visit us again in the near future. Best regards from Madrid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is a bright and comfortable hotel that is well positioned. We came by bus from the airport and the end of the line is Atocha station - the hotel is a 10 minute walk from here - although beware that it is up hill! After booking I received a welcome email from the hotel with detailed instructions on how to get to the hotel - these were accurate and helpful. There is a jacuzzi on the roof which has lovely views across the city and to the plains beyond. The Plaza Mayor is 10 minutes walk and the Prado is a little more - but through interesting little streets.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room at the back and were given this - and it was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review. Regarding the e mail with the instructions to get the hotel from the airport / train station, we began to send it a year and a half ago approximately. The idea was making the trip easier, and it has been very appreciated by our guests. We usually send it in the moment we receive the reservation, but only in the case we have the e mail address. Once again, thank you very much indeed for your time and your kindness. Best regards from Madrid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Place is very impersonal and you notice it right when you walk in. Asking for an iron literally took 3 calls/1 hour and the end result was no iron. My wife and I traveled to different regions in Spain during this vacation and we have stayed in many hotels, with this being the absolute worst. If your looking for poor service with decent looking rooms then this place is for you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
2  Thank Francisco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear guest,

We are very sorry the hotel did not fulfilled your expectations. It is quite obvious you were expecting something absolutely different. No complaints, unfortunately, we cannot satisfy the tastes of everyone. Regarding the iron, and even if we have a laundry service (it is an exterior service) we bought five of them, just in the case someone wanted to have their clothes ironed without using the laundry service. What it happened when you asked for the iron is rather strange: the five of them were in use. Please accept our apologies for it, as it was something we couldn't expect. After reading your review, we decided to buy some extra irons, to make sure that this is not going to happen again in the near future. Best regards from Madrid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a 1 week, the breakfast was the same day in and day out. Service at the dining hall was a bit slow, if you come late you'll have to wait for a clean table. The hotel is fresh though in the sense that the design is contemporary unlike it's classical counterparts. Security may be an issue as when I came back one day the balcony door/window was open, it does not help either that this happened on the same day that i lost my personal belongings at Ikea Alcorcon (the security of this Ikea needs improvement, it's sad that even though it sells a lot of furniture and decors, it does not even have a CCTV inside the store). To think that I called the hotel's front desk to secure my room as I had just lost my things. I'm not sure about the vicinity either, though it's near most tourist destinations there seems to be vandals roaming as the spa across the hotel had it's main door deliberately broken by vandals using a big chunk of stone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank atrielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#37 of 437 in Madrid
725 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#10 of 437 in Madrid
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#77 of 437 in Madrid
557 reviews
Huertas
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
#180 of 437 in Madrid
1,311 reviews
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#73 of 437 in Madrid
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Atocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Atocha

Address: Calle Atocha 81, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#37 Family Hotel in Madrid
#40 Business Hotel in Madrid
#58 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £96 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Atocha 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Madrid, a few meters from Paseo del Prado and Atocha Station, the gateway to Madrid of high speed trains (AVE), Hotel Catalonia Atocha benefits from a strategic location; one step away from the main museums and tourist attractions of the capital and in an area of ​​great commercial and leisure activity. The hotel is complemented by a café-snack bar, a restaurant for conventions and events, free Wi-Fi and a beautiful terrace with heated seasonal jacuzzi with spectacular views over the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Catalonia Atocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Atocha Calle Atocha 81 Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing