We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Madrid Plaza de Espana
Ranked #163 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    763
    259
    48
    24
See reviews for
264
697
130
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
705 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Tomorrow night will be my third trip to the hotel, so that tells a lot.

During my most recent stay, I was upgraded for free to a balcony room. Take the balcony rooms if you can! The rooms are large, clean, and quiet. The bed is great as are the pillows! There is an additional door between the bedroom and the door to the hall. This makes sleeping even more quiet not that the hotel is noisy. The late nighters outside can be noisy, but the doors and windows to outside are soundproofed.

The location is an easy walking distance to all of the major historical sites. There are a lot of tapas bars in the area with good food and great wine. The Internet in rooms and throughout the hotel should be the standard anywhere - FAST!

The only negative is breakfast. High priced. There are restaurants within a block starting including Starbucks. I didn't like the coffee maker at breakfast. There is a snack and water/juice machine in the lobby.

The staff is great. Professional, discreet, personable, and helpful. Obviously, a well run hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandyKasal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

We booked our hotel through European Destinations, site unseen. However, when we arrived we loved it. The hotel is located only 5 minutes from Puerta de Sol (tons of shopping and great Tapas bars). One block away was the main street with just about everything and just two blocks away was Plaza de Espana with the famous statue of the Man of La Mancha. The hotel staff was very accommodating and knowledgeable; the hotel was spacious and very clean; the concierges was exceptional and the balconies romantic. If you want a treat at a great rate, try this hotel out.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Devon
Level Contributor
606 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

This must be my sixth or seventh Mercure since March last year and, by and large, you can rely on the quality. I stayed three nights with a work colleague and we liked the location, near to Pl de Espana Metro. The bedrooms we had were large with quite a corridor to the en-suite bathroom. We also had balconies. Bed very comfortable but you do notice how thick the duvet is because the air-conditioning will not go all that low. I would have left the balcony door open but there was just enough external noise to be intrusive.

No bar facilities when we arrived at 9.30p.m. However, there is plenty of choice nearby.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Been here a couple of times now when travelling for business and was never dissappointed about the room or location. Rooms are spacious and well equiped. Always have been helped very well at the reception desk. If one remark, it would be the breakfast which is good but could be better.

Room Tip: For business trips, this hotel is fine. If going on holiday though I would prefer a more 'authen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goevdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Mercure Madrid Centro
Mercure Madrid Centro
#171 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Arguelles
Suites Viena
Suites Viena
#22 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Novotel Madrid Center
Novotel Madrid Center
#106 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arguelles
Hotel T3 Tirol
Hotel T3 Tirol
#155 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Arguelles
Aparto Suites Muralto
Aparto Suites Muralto
#105 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Chueca
Lusso Infantas
Lusso Infantas
#81 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Madrid Plaza de Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Madrid Plaza de Espana

Property: Mercure Madrid Plaza de Espana
Address: Calle Tutor 1 | Esquina Ventura Rodriguez, 28008 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Arguelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#115 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#126 Business Hotel in Madrid
#128 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Madrid Plaza de Espana 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Madrid Plaza de España is a cosy hotel in the heart of Madrid with an elegant and refined atmosphere unique in the city. The hotel combines the French art de vivre and Spanish food and entertainment with its modern design. Our rooms are comfortable and luxurious, our cuisine is delectable and the technology we provide is cutting-edge. Need anything more? Just ask our excellent staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Lastminute, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Madrid Plaza de Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Madrid Plaza De Espana Hotel Madrid
Sofitel Madrid
Accor Madrid Plaza De Espana
Madrid Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing