We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Courtyard Madrid Princesa
Ranked #312 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We arrived at 8:30am in the morning thinking we would store our cases but our room was ready - a corner room on the 6th floor so it was extra large with great views and waiting for us was a bottle of cava and chocolates. Hotel is well placed for Metro, taxis and main sights and breakfast was good with a wide choice of food buffet style and was frequently refreshed.
Staff were friendly and helpful and the only small minus point was only one tablet can be connected to wifi - otherwise excellent value for money

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMPRINCESA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Courtyard Madrid Princesa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your nice comments concerning your recent stay in our Hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We are working to improve our WiFi system in order to make it more efficient and friendly. We look forward to welcome you back in a very near future. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

518 - 524 of 1,674 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

I am just back from a trip with friends and we loved this hotel! The rooms were very spacious with a nice size bathroom. The buffet style breakfast was fantastic with lots of choice both hot and cold selection. They also had an impressive large Nespresso coffee machine! The location was very central within walking distance to Gran Via and city hot spots. Hotel has nice terrace at front and there is great shops nearby. Only small negative would be service at reception desk was slow but just seems to be the norm everywhere - the Spanish laid-back style. Would highly recommend and stay again! (Guest from Edinburgh -stayed 25/4 to 27/4)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsKDavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMPRINCESA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Courtyard Madrid Princesa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest, It's very nice of you to leave very kind comments about your recent stay here at the Husa Princesa and your constructive feedback concerning reception service. We will do our utmost to improve our service in order to make it more efficient specially at busy moments. Thank you and we look forward to have you here with us in a very near future. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We booked the Hotel and flight as an all in one deal. The Hotel is situated very close to the Madrid Metro, and easy to locate if travelling from the Airport. Be aware the "extra supplement" charged by the Metro is just a con to get more cash from Tourists and is indicative of taxes on non-residents of Madrid. It certainly does not endear me to return when this happens. The Metro is normally a good way to get about, but beware of weekend services which are cut to about half the normal service and caused us to miss a train by 5 minutes. Back to the Hotel. The location is not bad but a bit of a walk depending on one's personal fitness. There is a health club and indoor pool on the lower floors, and a very pleasant reception area on the ground floor. The reception staff were very pleasant and helpful when we asked for information on anything we were unsure of. Our room was at the rear of the building on the 7th floor and generally was quiet although the Spanish love of sirens and car horns will depend on your noise tolerance, but it did not bother us. The room was very clean, comfortable and well equipped. The decor was for us typical of many Hotels and for me pleasant. Breakfast was served on the first floor and was very busy. The staff at breakfast were kept very busy and the two ladies in charge were both very pleasant and efficient. The food was very good and I would compliment the ability to cater for those numbers and not run out of freshly cooked dishes. The coffee was served from a rather large and very modern Nespresso machine and was probably the best coffee I have been served from a machine. As in most hotels that use a conveyor belt toaster the toast required about four passes before it turned a shade of brown that could be considered toast. The efficiency of the breakfast staff and management was the opposite in the bar on the ground floor where one girl and a middle aged man were the total floor staff in a busy bar. We waited over 20 minutes before leaving. I had asked for a menu, got it and then nothing. I went to the bar and ordered two glasses of wine, and never received them. The waiter only responded to those who snapped their fingers or shouted loudest. I would add his preference for serving Spanish ladies was apparent. We walked out and I spoke to the girl behind the bar who seemed surprised by my comments. The waiter said he was busy, well get your manager to get help from somewhere or you have unhappy, thirsty and hungry customers. We never ventured into the bar/restaurant again. All in all I would recommend the Hotel Princesa with a couple of warnings as I have said. It has a lot going for it but needs some careful management to get it right.

Room Tip: Front rooms seem to be more noisy. Eat out as the bar restaurant is useless and badly run .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GerryUK1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMPRINCESA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Courtyard Madrid Princesa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest, , thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay and we are very disappointed about the incident you describe concerning our Bar service. We will follow up internally as the response which you received is certainly not indicative of our service standards. This is not the level of service neither you nor we expect, and I offer my sincere apologies to you.
We look forward to welcome you back in a very near future.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

When you ask any staff for helpful information, you get very basic answers. No extra information is offered. In the restaurant staff walked around us while we waited to see if we should seat ourselves. At least three waiters walked right past us! We asked a few times if we should wait to be seated or seat ourselves to no avail. The food is average. I had a club sandwich which was good. Someone else had an egg dish which they enjoyed. Once you got service it was good.
Location of hotel near subway is very good. There are waiting taxis when you want to go out.
All together I think I would try another hotel before returning here. Mostly due to poor assistance by staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 818lynnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMPRINCESA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Courtyard Madrid Princesa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments, First of all we kindly ask you to accept our sincere apologies for all inconvenience. Your comments will greatly help us to improve our Hotel standards and I can assure you that all measures will be taken in order to guarantee you the best service and attention. We look forward to welcome you back in near future. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My wife and I recently stayed here for 3 nights. Overall we had no complaints and would recommend this hotel. The location is near the centre and is served within yards by a Metro station and a taxi rank. The walk to Plaza Mayor takes 20 minutes. We found the reception staff very helpful and took time out to explain travel or sightseeing queries. We were given room 802. This is one of the rooms yet to be refurbished. It was spotless. It was enormous (compared to Ibis, Travelodge etc.)The bed was huge and comfortable. The bathroom was very big, with a shower/bath and loads of toiletries. Plenty of towels and a hairdryer. The noise from the street was minimal. The breakfast was good. There was plenty of choice and yes, the hot food could have been hotter but it was no worse than other 4 star hotels we have stayed in. Try keeping food hot on a buffet server.
One highlight of our trip was to visit the Mercado San Miguel which is alongside Plaza Mayor. You must go. Buy a drink at any stall and then walk around with it and buy tapas or a whole meal. Endless choices.
We found the Royal Palace a little underwhelming - but it is if you've been to Versailles for example.
All in all a great trip using a great hotel for value.

Room Tip: ask for High floor and on a corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgeC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMPRINCESA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Courtyard Madrid Princesa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear guest, Thank you for your kind review concerning your stay in our hotel. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in a very near future. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel is fine, but that is really as far as I will go. On our last night in the room, while my friend and I were out to dinner, water leaked from the room above in our bathroom, all over my toothbrush, toiletries and my toiletry bag. The manager came up and barely said he was sorry. I saw the same manager when checking out the next morning and told him how disappointed I was, still nothing. I would recommend staying elsewhere! Also, the wifi can only be used by one person at a time, very annoying. And just an FYI the gym, sauna and pool are all underneath the hotel and are part of a gym club and not maintained by the hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monti81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMPRINCESA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Courtyard Madrid Princesa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are naturally very disappointed about the incident you describe, and we will follow up internally as the response which you received is certainly not indicative of our service standards. This is not the level of service neither you nor we expect, and I offer my sincere apologies to you.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed here for a weekend. The hotel is well located next to the Metro station. The hotel is good however there are a few short comings. Firstly, 1 free wifi code per room which becomes very frustrating when you have more than 1 device! The gym/pool area is very small and not particular clean. We paid to go to a private gym elsewhere,.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank F1will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMPRINCESA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Courtyard Madrid Princesa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear your experience in our Gym did not meet your expectations. We will do our best to improve our services and installations. Fitness is managed by Holiday Gym, private Club for members only and free of charge for our hotel guests. Looking forward to welcome you back in a near future, best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid
Centro
Dear Hotel Madrid
Dear Hotel Madrid
#90 of 437 in Madrid
1,525 reviews
Centro
Emperador Hotel Madrid
Emperador Hotel Madrid
#143 of 437 in Madrid
2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Centro
Catalonia Gran Via
Catalonia Gran Via
#197 of 437 in Madrid
1,406 reviews
Huertas
Radisson Blu Hotel, Madrid Prado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Madrid Princesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Madrid Princesa

Address: Calle Princesa 40, 28015 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Hotel Husa Princesa)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#175 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £80 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Madrid Princesa 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Madrid Princesa is set in the heart of Madrid's political, commercial, historic and cultural centre. Walking distance from Plaza de Espana, Gran Via, Royal Palace. In Arguelles district next to El Corte Ingles, department store. It offers 423 rooms and suites which are all air conditioned and have an en-suite bathroom, personal desk, smoke detectors and a fire-sprinkler system. It also boasts conference rooms and banquet halls for between 10 and 600 people, as well as a Bistro bar,terrace . Private Fitness Center (indoor swimming pool) for members only, free of charge for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Madrid Princesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Princesa Hotel Madrid
Husa Princesa Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing