We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stays.”
Review of NH Madrid Balboa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Madrid Balboa
Ranked #202 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Burgess Hill
1 review
“My stays.”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I have now stayed at this hotel on two separate occasions. Both times I found the rooms to be very comfortable and pleasant. The staff are friendly and courteous and the breakfast carries a good selection of food and drink. This hotel represents good value for money and is well situated.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Daryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAQUEL S, Director de Recepción at NH Madrid Balboa, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you for your comments and your kind words.
It a pleaure to know that you stay was nice and we hope to see you again in you next trip

Thanks a lot and kind regards

Raquel Serradilla
Front desk manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    351
    170
    52
    17
See reviews for
119
183
53
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

As I said in the title. this hotel is a good option, but only if you don't plan too sleep. You can hear everything in the rooms, from someone walking in the hallway to to others moving a chair or speaking in the room above you... so basically you can expect zero rest, and even with the "don't disturb sign", the cleaning lady is still going to vacuum in front of your room... Also be prepared to ask for 100 internet coupons if you want to finish any kind of work here. Each internet coupon has a maximum transfer data of 100 megabytes, which means 3 minutes of watching news, and you need another one. On the other side, the rooms are relatively clean and the bed is very comfortable, plus the breakfast was really tasty, with fresh fruits and pastries. So all in all it's not so bad, but next time I would prefer to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirjana1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAQUEL S, Director de Recepción at NH Madrid Balboa, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear customer,

At first, I want to thank you your comments about your stay. They help us to improve and also to other customers.
I regret that your stay was not so good as you have expected because of the noise and wifi service.
I celebrate that you enjoyed with breakfast service and I hope you give us the opportunity to show you that we can be better and we can solve the inconveniences you have mentioned.
Please if you decide to reserve with again, contact with me an I will be sure that the room we could assigned you be in a high floor withoult noises.

I hope to see you again at our hotelç
Thanks for trusting in us !!!

Raquel Serradilla
Front desk manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

NH Balboa is right in one of the most expensive and posh quarters in Madrid, close to Goya, Velazquez and the main shopping streets, but it's a comfy hotel, with no pretensions, easy to locate, with many services in and out and a practical room

As usual in NH, the breakfast options are fantastic for all tastes, healthy and greasy ones.

It´s a pretty quiet hotel and rooms are mostly facing inwards, so no noise from outside coming in. The attention from the staff is great!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agarratequevoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

The title says it all! From the hotel it's about 20min to the city center by bus. In the subway it's longer. For those using a GPS, select Calle General Oráa because the hotel it's on the corner with that street.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Great breakfast, service very friendly. The hotel is located on the east side of Madrid, commute to city center is good by bus/metro, and a good stroll of 40 minutes and you will be at the center. Retiro park is just at 15 / 20 min walking.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Javier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madrid
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

From the sour face of the receptionist, to the dark and dour room that hasn't been refurbished for 20 years, to asking for room service and they tell you to call Pizza Hut and having a room mini bar without wine, this is really scraping the barrel and is a disgrace to the NH group. Madrid is wonderful but avoid staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faktoader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I chose this hotel due to its location near the coach station. The area is quiet and very safe, and full of bars, cafes, shops and restaurants.
The building is getting old and that shows. However, the overall quality of the room was good and I had a great sleep. The breakfast was fantastic and the staff is really nice - they let me had breakfast 30mins early, no problems. All in all very good value too, probably because it's not near the classic tourist attractions.
I should note that even though the NH chain of hotels claim they have free WiFi, this is only in lobby and you have to pay for it in the rooms. I still find very dissapointing that the big hotel chains never give you such a basic and relatively cheap service for free, while you do find it in budget and family run B&Bs.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leop79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Madrid Principe de Vergara
Barrio de Salamanca
Suites Barrio de Salamanca Hotel
NH Madrid Chamberi
#166 of 435 in Madrid
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Madrid Lagasca
NH Madrid Lagasca
#179 of 435 in Madrid
502 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Melia Madrid Serrano Galgos
Barrio de Salamanca
El Madrono
El Madrono
#37 of 435 in Madrid
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Madrid Balboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Madrid Balboa

Property: NH Madrid Balboa
Address: Calle Nunez de Balboa 112, 28006 Madrid, Spain (Formerly NH Balboa)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#145 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — NH Madrid Balboa 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a highly esteemed location downtown, the 122-room NH Madrid Balboa hotel in Madrid combines quiet charm with a warm, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your NH Madrid Balboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Balboa Hotel Madrid
Nh Balboa Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing