We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Novotel Madrid Puente de la Paz
Ranked #201 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mixed experience”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed in the hotel for three nights at the end of September as part of a large group on tour and found the experience good and bad. First the bad. One of the reasons the hotel was chosen was that it had a swimming pool which made up for the fact the hotel is some distance from the centre of Madrid. The pool was shut throughout our stay despite the fact that it was supposed to be open in September much to the disgust of many in our party as it was between 30 and 35 degrees hot and many could have done with a swim after tramping round Madrid during our stay.

The second bad thing was the buffet style food which was indifferent at best and not even hot much of the time. Don't book this place full board there are some good tapas bars nearby.

The good. The room was well decorated with everything working, a good shower and comfortable bed. Contrary to some previous reviews my wi if connection worked the whole time. The service was pretty good too other than the fact that they couldn't be bothered to keep their pool open. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel which take you into the centre of Madrid in about 20 minutes,longer in rush hour, for 1.5 euros. The is also a tube station about 10 to 15 minutes walk away.

Room Tip: All the rooms were quiet according to our party
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aidan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELVIRA F, Front Office Manager at Novotel Madrid Puente de la Paz, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to write this comment,

You can be sure we will take note about your comments about restaurant and swimming pool schedule and they will help us to improve our standards.

We are pleased to see that you highlight some of our strenghts.

Best Regards,

Elvira FERNANDEZ
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    929
    319
    77
    32
See reviews for
973
290
82
218
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I took a tour that started in Madrid, and this was my first hotel assigned. The hotel gave me a single room, but they adviced me that the room was conditioned for handicapped people. I said ok, it' s not a problem for me, but when I saw the bathroom I have to say that even the shower was not suitable for handicapped people. The reason? The shower had no curtains, nothing at all, it was a huge bathroom with a hole in the middle ( yes in the middle very close to the WC ) and it was supposed to be for draining the showers' water. False! The bathroom was full of water everywhere, including the WC, after taking a shower. The Internet connection ( it was free of charge ) did not work properly, too slow.
The breakfast was ok, it was on time and the overall service it was ok too. If you have assigned hotels during a tour, there is nothing to do, but if you want to book a hotel by yourself, I don't recommend this.
The hotel is far from the center, but you have public transport to the center in just a few minutes of walking. Important note: to enter the hotel you have to walk up or some stairs, and this is not convenient when you are carrying heavy luggage!.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELVIRA F, Front Office Manager at Novotel Madrid Puente de la Paz, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to write this comment,

Firs,t i would like to apologize about the room type you got, you should not get a handicaped room if you do not need it . If reception had knew about it, we could have moved you to another room inmediately.
You can be sure that this rooms are specially designed for handicaped people but of course they might be not confortable for people that does not have special needs.

Regarding the location of the hotel i should remark that this hotel is not far from the city center; it is actually inside of what is considered Madrid city center but it is a residential area and it takes 20 min by bus (next to the main entrance) or underground to arrive to the historical area.

I am surprised about your comment about the entrance of the hotel, I am sorry but we do not have any stairs to enter in the hotel, i think this must be a confusion with another hotel you have been in.

Anyway, we would like to have the oportunity to welcome you back in Novotel Madrid Puente de la Paz and be able to change your opinion.

Best Regards,

Elvira FERNANDEZ
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This hotel was quite lovely and the ammentities were wonderful. The restaurant and pool area were fantastic. There was a bus stop right outside the hotel, but the hotel is in a bit of a residential area so you are taking the bus pretty much anytime you want to go somewhere. There isn't alot within walking distance. It is about 6km to walk to the main part of the city, so if you are good to walk, or take the bus in than it is fine. We made out fine, it just would have been nicer to be a little closer to Puerta de Sol and everything else in the old part of the city where most of the tourist attractions are.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieKat27365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELVIRA F, Front Office Manager at Novotel Madrid Puente de la Paz, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment, It is very usefull for us to improve our standards,

We would like to thank you for highlinghting some of our main strenghts and you can be sure we take not also about the weaknesses that you have found, you can be sure that we will consider them and do our best to improve them.

We would love to have the oportunity to welcome you back In Novotel.

Best Regards,

Elvira Fernández
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

First let me start by saying, this Hotel was part of a 10 day tour of Spain through Trafalgar. The hotel is very nice, it has a retro feel to it. The rooms (for Europe) was a decent size and very clean. The lobby was large and welcoming with two computers for the guest use. The staff was pleasant, especially since my flight was delayed and I arrived late in the night. There is a really nice bar area with television on one end and a view of the pool on the other. There is also outdoor seating. As I mentioned this was a tour package so breakfast was included :( is all I can say. However I did on the second night dine in the restaurant with two fellow travelers and the meal was outstanding. I enjoyed the succulent lamb chops (cooked to perfection). I can't comment on the location as much because we were on the go so I didn't get to explore the area. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELVIRA F, Front Office Manager at Novotel Madrid Puente de la Paz, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment, It is very usefull for usto have the impression of our guests in order to improve our standards,

We would like to thank you for highlinghting some of our main strenghts We would love to have the oportunity to welcome you back In Novotel.

Best Regards,

Elvira Fernández
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here jan 12 for my birthday weekend. Used public transport to get there from airport was okay only had hand luggage so was fine. It's near to a metro station and then catch a bus takes couple mins to the hotel or 5-7 min walk from station. There is a bus stop opposite the hotel that takes you metro but also takes you towards the city if you take the opposite direction this also takes you to the the old bullfighting arena (forgot te name) but worth seeing. Anyway hotel breakfast was plentiful and you can find something to eat in the evenings that you can order and price is okay. Hotel itself is nice and quite large rooms good and not that far out of city centre. The metro takes about 20 minutes. Nearby is the mosque and Islamic centre for those who wish to visit, as Muslims we visited this on our last morning. Madrid itself is very nice and plenty to see on a short city break, wouldn't go more than 3/4 days. Weather was sunny but cold although it was jan and despite it being winter. Think it was 18-19 which is quite warm for winter.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELVIRA F, Front Office Manager at Novotel Madrid Puente de la Paz, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment, It is very usefull to get the impression of our guestesin order to improve our standards,

We would like to thank you for highlinghting some of our main strenghts We are happy that you enjoy them.

We would love to have the oportunity to welcome you back In Novotel.

Best Regards,

Elvira Fernández
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier, California, USA
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Poor Customer Service A female at the Reception was alone at night and she came up to our room and said they couldn't change our room and asked us to sleep with the windows open! We did and finally after begging them, they finally changed our room! Horrible evening receptionist.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ysrosas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELVIRA F, Front Office Manager at Novotel Madrid Puente de la Paz, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment, It is very usefull for us to improve our standards,

We are very sorry about your impression of the recepcion department, I think there must have been some kind of misunderstanding because normally the reception staff are extremely friendly and profesional.

I really appologize about it, you can be sure that we will make that this situation will not happen again.

We would love to have the oportunity to welcome you back in Novotel.

Best Regards,

Elvira Fernández
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This hotel is what you would expect from a Novotel, the rooms are spacious with a proper desk to work on, its clean but not new. Two things - its a shame you cant open the windows, so once the cleaning person sprayed the room with artificial fragrance you had to wait a long time for it to go away. Also, I would not recommend the restaurant, very ordinary food, although the service is excellent and very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaP13100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELVIRA F, Front Office Manager at Novotel Madrid Puente de la Paz, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment, It is very usefull for us to improve our standards,

We would like to thank you for highlinghting some of our main strenghts and you can be sure we take not also about the weaknesses that you have found, you can be sure that we will consider them and do our best to improve them.

We would love to have the oportunity to welcome you back In Novotel.

Best Regards,

Elvira Fernández
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Airport / Barajas
Novotel Madrid Campo de las Naciones
Barrio de Salamanca
Novotel Madrid Center
Novotel Madrid Center
#115 of 436 in Madrid
1,054 reviews
Exe Madrid Norte
#260 of 436 in Madrid
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Madrid Ventas
#56 of 436 in Madrid
701 reviews
Maydrit Hotel
#92 of 436 in Madrid
1,417 reviews
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#102 of 436 in Madrid
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Madrid Puente de la Paz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Madrid Puente de la Paz

Property: Novotel Madrid Puente de la Paz
Address: Calle Albacete 1 | Esquina avenida de badajoz, 28027 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in Madrid
#102 Business Hotel in Madrid
#108 Family Hotel in Madrid
#139 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Madrid Puente de la Paz 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Madrid Puente de la Paz is located in the heart of one of the major residential and business areas of the vibrant city of Madrid. 10 minutes from the airport and the Juan Carlos I exhibition grounds, this 4 star hotel is ideal for weekend escapes or holidays in Madrid. The hotel features 240 rooms, an outdoor swimming pool, a restaurant, a bar, six meeting rooms and parking. Ideal for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Madrid Puente de la Paz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Madrid Puente De La Paz Hotel Madrid
Madrid Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing