We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor quality hotel for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Madrid Barajas Airport
Ranked #197 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Overall very unhappy with this hotel.
Stayed here on a business trip.
The room was clean on the surface but underneath was grubby, with stains on the bedcovers, and a mouldy bathroom.
The breakfast buffet was not kept stocked, so that in my visit there was no milk, and limited breads and pastries, as there were not enough staff to keep the buffet replenished.
I asked the hotel to book me a taxi for the following morning and asked their advice on how long ot would take. The taxi did not arrive at the time I had requested and I had to ask twice for them to call for a taxi. For the journey time I was told one hour... in fact the journey took 10 minutes even in rush hour traffic so I was ridiculously early for my business meeting.
Overall really could not reconmend this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwissEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 912 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2012

the rooms are modern but small and basic. I had a good sleep and pleasantly surprised the breakfast was better than average. However for twenty of so extra euros the Hilton is normally better value option for sure. For people on a strict budget I would recommend this hotel but remember to pre-book the shuttle the night before. The shuttle will not run if it isn't pre-booked in advance.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hero360travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights and found the hotel a little skimpy on the finer details.
The rooms were priced similar in range to locations in Madrid with more facilities and better bars and restaurants.
It was difficult to get an iron and to one they gave me kept tripping the electricity. Not an exciting event when one is in the shower and the place becomes completely dark!
The room was decorated with minimal expense, the bathroom floor was green laminated timber and one almost had to climb over the bidet to enter the shower.
The staff were very pleasant and spoke good English.
Although hotel bar was quite limited, the location is well positioned to a couple of lively spots offering traditional Spanish food and drink.
One word of advice when getting to the hotel – beware the taxi drivers!! Myself and some of my companions were over charged by drivers who were keen to make more than a few euro’s extra from our party.
Overall the room was comfortable and quiet and it was easy to access the centre of Madrid for Business. It would make a good base for city visitors.
I would recommend a stay here for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Request a larger room at the rear ground floor of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Good budget hotel near Barajas airport, Madrid.
Reasonably priced rooms are clean and comfortable. Free shuttle bus to airport is very useful.
Hotel is near a Metro station that takes you direct to Puerta del Sol.
WiFi in lobby is free . Faster WiFi you pay for.
I have stayed here most weeks since January and always got a reservation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Perfectly fine hotel if you need to do an overnight stay for Madrid airport.

My flight was delayed and so I'd missed the free shuttle to the hotel- a taxi from T4 cost about €30

The breakfast selection is good and tasty

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank EAWhitley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Not really much to say - room was clean and modern but lacked certain amenities - razor plug, bathtub, minibar, coffee/tea apparatus and I still find having to pay EUR 10 for 24 hours of Internet appalling - especially one that targets travellers looking for convenience! Bed was comfy though and not too much noise in the surrounding neighbourhood. A range of neighbourhood dining options around the hotel. The hotel shuttle is useful, especially from hotel to airport but more complicated vice versa as requires pre-booking, would be better to have an appointed time at the hotel every 30 minutes.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACF2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Nice and clean hotel. Very close to the airport and they provide a free airport shuttle. The train station was very close by. It is about a 20 min ride into the center of the city. Great for budget travel!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nirvana_NY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Maydrit Hotel
#106 of 441 in Madrid
1,535 reviews
Airport / Barajas
Tryp Madrid Alameda Aeropuerto Hotel
Airport / Barajas
Senator Barajas Hotel
Senator Barajas Hotel
#397 of 441 in Madrid
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Blas
Sercotel Alcala 611
Sercotel Alcala 611
#254 of 441 in Madrid
44 reviews
Airport / Barajas
Clement Barajas Hotel
Clement Barajas Hotel
#132 of 441 in Madrid
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Madrid Barajas Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Madrid Barajas Airport

Address: Calle Catamaran 1 | Alameda de Osuna, 28042 Madrid, Spain (Formerly NH Barajas)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Airport / Barajas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £47 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — NH Madrid Barajas Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nh Barajas is situated in a privileged location within the triangle formed by the A-2 motorway (Barcelona), the Juan Carlos I Trade Fair Centre (Ifema). The most important Trade Fair in the city (IFEMA) is 6 Km far away. Just 3 KM away you have for your travels Madrid-Barajas International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, NHHotels, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your NH Madrid Barajas Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Express Barajas Hotel Madrid
Nh Hotels Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing