We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms - weak service and facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Ranked #40 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great rooms - weak service and facilities”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Pros:

Fantastic rooms, almost 5 star - spacious and furnished and designed in a modern and tasteful way. Comfortable beds and big flatscreen TV. Good quality of towels. Great location - 7-8 min walk to Puerta del Sol/Plaza Mayor/Plaza Santa Ana and 10 min to Atocha railway station. The metro is just one minutes walk away. Free Wifi.


Cons:

Service is slow and inexperienced. Reception is constantly understaffed. It took 15-20 minutes to check-in. Don´t except much help either if you ask anything else that super simple questions. Breakfast is expensive. Try the café in front of the hotel for a much better deal. Water from the shower in the room was either too hot or too cold. Hardly any facilities - basically, in this hotel you sleep and nothing else.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biff-Maja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you encountered here at our hotel.

We trully regret the check in time, maybe there was too many people in the front desk, but we are sure that the front desk staff tried to help you as soon as they could

We would like to thank you once again and hope that in your next visit we can exceed all your expectations.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    379
    59
    19
    9
See reviews for
161
465
57
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My boyfriend and myself stayed in this hotel for three nights in early September. It is a great hotel in a great location. Staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel is modern and clean and the location could not be better, it is not far from the metro and from Plaza Mayor and Plaza St.Ana. Would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiriGalway_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed and to see your positive review, that probes our hard work, for getting our goals, and our main is making the stay as a happy as possible.


We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best regards from Madrid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Very clean and modern hotel in the heart of Madrid. Staff pleasant and multilingual. Less than a kilometer away from the Atocha Renfe station on one end and Plaza Mayor on the other (10 min walk), 10th mins also from Puerta del Sol, where you can catch city tour buses. Right across the hotel is a cheap and good bakery "Peter Pan", where breakfast is much cheaper than in the hotel. Rooms are air-conditioned (only down point is the ac blows directly on the bed so eyes get dry fast when watching tv).
Highly recommended, will post pictures later.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ibabovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed and to see your positive review, that probes our hard work, for getting our goals, and our main is making the stay as a happy as possible.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best regards from Madrid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

This was my second visit to this hotel.

It's located in the heart of Madrid, basically a 10 minute stroll from the Plaza Mayor and the Puerta del Sol. Metro is about 100m from the door, to the right. The Atocha train station is, I believe, only a couple of metro stops further along or about .5 kms walking. This is perfect if you are coming into Madrid on the high speed AVE train or are coming in from Barajas on the yellow bus (2€ ). Both will leave you right there at Atocha.

The hotel itself seems to be new. Modern, minimalist. I read one comment of someone having problem with cleanliness. I had no such problem but I am sure staff can miss something on occasion. Some guests can be pigs. Service was very correct, staff friendly.

As I like news, I appreciated the news/business channels. There were various channels in a number of languages. In English, they had CNBC, Bloomberg, CNN, and BBC World. FREE internet in the rooms, too!! They give you the pw at check-in.

That's about all I know. Good restaurants and bars to be had either down on Lope de Vega street or up in La Latina neighborhood, just off the Plaza Mayor.

Enjoy your visit! Madrid is a great city.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpencerTracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you colaborating with your time in writing this lines,
My team and I are very satisfied because of we have met your expectations.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay here with us and we are more than glad to know that this was your second visit to our hotel and our beautiful city, making the hotel as your hotel reference in Madrid

We hope your third visit to be even better that the second one!

Once again, thank you and we hope to see you soon,

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Great location, friendly staff and new modern rooms with excellent bathrooms. Great towels and pillows. So comfy...
We did not take breakfast at the hotel, but there are so many options outside. Loved how the hotel preserved the stairs and the little courtyards in the original style.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZhannaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed and to see your positive review, that probes our hard work, for getting our goals, and our main is making the stay as a happy as possible.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best regards from Madrid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed here for a weekend in August. The hotel is in a fantastic central location, a couple of minutes walk from Anton Martin metro station. Catching the metro from the airport to the hotel was easy, but took about an hour due to 2 line changes and a bit of a walk getting from terminal 1 to the airport metro.
The hotel appears to be brand new. Our room had all the amenities you need - hairdryer, toiletries, large TV and a comfrotable bed. The star of the room however was the amazing shower with one large down showerhead and one handheld shower head which could be used simultaneously.
The only downside of the room, which unfortunately we did not notice until we were going to bed that night, was the 2 large skylights right above the bed! These skylights had no blinds or curtains which meant that at 6am in the morning we had the bright Spanish sun blinding us in the eyes. It was really quite brutal. I ended up having to put a pillow over my head to keep sleeping which was not ideal. I have no idea why they would put such large skylights above the bed without any blinds! My advice is make sure you avoid level 6 of the hotel – it’s the top floor!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lotsoftravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments,
We are glad to know that the hotel and the service has covered your needs,

About your request, you can control by yourself the windows located on the top, closing of opening if you want, you have the remote control in the room

Thank you again for participate and for dedicating your time

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Rooms of excelent quality. Magnificent shower (baño español), plasma TV wooden floors. Totally renovated. Poor restaurant facilities but just in front of the hotel, across the street you will find a nice cafeteria for breakfast. Does not have a parking lot, so you will have to walk five blocks to park a rent a car, at the nearest parking lot. There is no SPA, it is just people comming to your room to offer a massage.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyCepeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our rooms equiment.

We have improved in those years and now we have our own parking lot to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible.

In your next visit we recommend you to try our breakfast buffet, we asure you you won't regret it

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Best regards from Madrid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#41 of 435 in Madrid
683 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#6 of 435 in Madrid
1,478 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Atocha
Catalonia Atocha
#72 of 435 in Madrid
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#43 of 435 in Madrid
1,246 reviews
Huertas
ME Madrid Reina Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor

Property: Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Address: Calle Atocha 36, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing