We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic rooms, great service & location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Ranked #41 of 442 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I stayed here with a friend for 3 nights in late September and we were both pleasantly surprised and pleased with it. First of all it's in the best location - near Plaza Mayor, Santa Ana, Puerta del Sol, so everything was within less than 10 minutes walking distance and no time or money was wasted. Museums, restaurants, bars, shopping are all easily accessible from the hotel as is the metro which was about a block or two away. Great cafes nearby including a fantastic pastry shop directly across from the hotel. Rooms were spotless, spacious, bright and clean with nice modern touch as were the bathrooms. We were given a smokers room as there were no nonsmoking rooms available but you wouldn't have known it walking in to our room as the hotel is fairly new. Staff was super nice, accommodating and helpful as we regularly inquired about directions, restaurants, sites, etc. Rooms had wifi but no business center or computer access at the hotel but they did direct me to a great internet cafe 2 blocks away. Highly recommend and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytraveler919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed and to see your positive review, that probes our hard work, for getting our goals, and our main is making the stay as a happy as possible.
.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best regards from Madrid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

461 - 467 of 1,144 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2011

Pros:

Fantastic rooms, almost 5 star - spacious and furnished and designed in a modern and tasteful way. Comfortable beds and big flatscreen TV. Good quality of towels. Great location - 7-8 min walk to Puerta del Sol/Plaza Mayor/Plaza Santa Ana and 10 min to Atocha railway station. The metro is just one minutes walk away. Free Wifi.


Cons:

Service is slow and inexperienced. Reception is constantly understaffed. It took 15-20 minutes to check-in. Don´t except much help either if you ask anything else that super simple questions. Breakfast is expensive. Try the café in front of the hotel for a much better deal. Water from the shower in the room was either too hot or too cold. Hardly any facilities - basically, in this hotel you sleep and nothing else.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biff-Maja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you encountered here at our hotel.

We trully regret the check in time, maybe there was too many people in the front desk, but we are sure that the front desk staff tried to help you as soon as they could

We would like to thank you once again and hope that in your next visit we can exceed all your expectations.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My boyfriend and myself stayed in this hotel for three nights in early September. It is a great hotel in a great location. Staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel is modern and clean and the location could not be better, it is not far from the metro and from Plaza Mayor and Plaza St.Ana. Would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiriGalway_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed and to see your positive review, that probes our hard work, for getting our goals, and our main is making the stay as a happy as possible.


We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best regards from Madrid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Very clean and modern hotel in the heart of Madrid. Staff pleasant and multilingual. Less than a kilometer away from the Atocha Renfe station on one end and Plaza Mayor on the other (10 min walk), 10th mins also from Puerta del Sol, where you can catch city tour buses. Right across the hotel is a cheap and good bakery "Peter Pan", where breakfast is much cheaper than in the hotel. Rooms are air-conditioned (only down point is the ac blows directly on the bed so eyes get dry fast when watching tv).
Highly recommended, will post pictures later.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ibabovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed and to see your positive review, that probes our hard work, for getting our goals, and our main is making the stay as a happy as possible.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best regards from Madrid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

This was my second visit to this hotel.

It's located in the heart of Madrid, basically a 10 minute stroll from the Plaza Mayor and the Puerta del Sol. Metro is about 100m from the door, to the right. The Atocha train station is, I believe, only a couple of metro stops further along or about .5 kms walking. This is perfect if you are coming into Madrid on the high speed AVE train or are coming in from Barajas on the yellow bus (2€ ). Both will leave you right there at Atocha.

The hotel itself seems to be new. Modern, minimalist. I read one comment of someone having problem with cleanliness. I had no such problem but I am sure staff can miss something on occasion. Some guests can be pigs. Service was very correct, staff friendly.

As I like news, I appreciated the news/business channels. There were various channels in a number of languages. In English, they had CNBC, Bloomberg, CNN, and BBC World. FREE internet in the rooms, too!! They give you the pw at check-in.

That's about all I know. Good restaurants and bars to be had either down on Lope de Vega street or up in La Latina neighborhood, just off the Plaza Mayor.

Enjoy your visit! Madrid is a great city.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpencerTracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear customer,

Thank you colaborating with your time in writing this lines,
My team and I are very satisfied because of we have met your expectations.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay here with us and we are more than glad to know that this was your second visit to our hotel and our beautiful city, making the hotel as your hotel reference in Madrid

We hope your third visit to be even better that the second one!

Once again, thank you and we hope to see you soon,

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Great location, friendly staff and new modern rooms with excellent bathrooms. Great towels and pillows. So comfy...
We did not take breakfast at the hotel, but there are so many options outside. Loved how the hotel preserved the stairs and the little courtyards in the original style.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZhannaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed and to see your positive review, that probes our hard work, for getting our goals, and our main is making the stay as a happy as possible.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best regards from Madrid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed here for a weekend in August. The hotel is in a fantastic central location, a couple of minutes walk from Anton Martin metro station. Catching the metro from the airport to the hotel was easy, but took about an hour due to 2 line changes and a bit of a walk getting from terminal 1 to the airport metro.
The hotel appears to be brand new. Our room had all the amenities you need - hairdryer, toiletries, large TV and a comfrotable bed. The star of the room however was the amazing shower with one large down showerhead and one handheld shower head which could be used simultaneously.
The only downside of the room, which unfortunately we did not notice until we were going to bed that night, was the 2 large skylights right above the bed! These skylights had no blinds or curtains which meant that at 6am in the morning we had the bright Spanish sun blinding us in the eyes. It was really quite brutal. I ended up having to put a pillow over my head to keep sleeping which was not ideal. I have no idea why they would put such large skylights above the bed without any blinds! My advice is make sure you avoid level 6 of the hotel – it’s the top floor!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lotsoftravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments,
We are glad to know that the hotel and the service has covered your needs,

About your request, you can control by yourself the windows located on the top, closing of opening if you want, you have the remote control in the room

Thank you again for participate and for dedicating your time

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#42 of 442 in Madrid
800 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 442 in Madrid
1,666 reviews
Huertas
NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#46 of 442 in Madrid
1,336 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Atocha
Catalonia Atocha
#76 of 442 in Madrid
1,484 reviews
Huertas
ME BY MELIA MADRID Reina Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor

Address: Calle Atocha 36, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 442 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: £87 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Madrid and inaugurated in February 2011, very close to the Plaza Mayor and the emblematic Puerta de Sol, Catalonia Plaza Mayor is located in the best cultural and commercial area of ​​the city. You can walk to the main museums (El Prado, Reina Sofia, Thyssen Bornemisza), theaters, bars and the main shopping area of ​​the capital. It also offers free Wi-Fi, a gym, jacuzzi, free tea time service, snack bar cafe and restaurant for conventions and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing