We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“mulitple Hotel Catalonia” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Ranked #40 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“mulitple Hotel Catalonia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Hotel Catalonia is a chain of Spanish hotels (probably Catalonian owned right?), which seems to be buying up older hotels and refurbishing them, like others in the US and Europe. The Plaza Mayor was the first HC hotel I stayed at, but if this is what they are all like I'll stay at more of them. There are 6 in Madrid, the Plaza Mayor opened in 2011.

Located right on Calle Atocha, its easy to get confused with another Hotel Catalonia, the Catalonia Atocha Hotel, which is right next to the Anton Martin metro stop (40m). The HC Plaza Mayor is a few blocks walk west of the Anton Martin metro stop, and right near the San Sebastian church. It was a 15 minute walk east and down hill to the Sophia art museum, and the Atocha main train station (or take the metro from Anton Martin). The Del Prado is another 10 minutes further to the north.

Since its a refurbishment, the rooms and furnishing are all new (as of 2011), and its light brown wood paneling everywhere, with modern furnishings in the bathroom. I had a room with a good queen bed, a small desk/side table on one side of the bed and a small table on the other. The desk was small if you planned to work from your room. The closets (2) and mini bar are built-in of the same light brown wood. A good sized room, with hardwood floor, there was plenty of floor space, and the bathroom was big also. Big shower (former bathtub) with a heated towel dryer that was actually working.

There is one building with rooms around a small courtyard (outdoor dining area on the ground floor), and each of those rooms has a window that opens to the courtyard if you want some air. I didn't see the rooms in the other section so i don't know if they had windows or what those opened to.

The small simple bar and dinning area was not staffed when I was there, and I did not have breakfast in the hotel. It didn't seem that many people were using the restaurant/bar. They did offer breakfast at a reduced rate if you paid upfront for more than one day. I had breakfast right across the street at a small cafe/coffee shop.

I ordered a veggie pizza from room service and got a pizza with vegetables and ham on it, which was ok with me, but might have been bothersome for a vegetarian. I think the kitchen/bar staff doesn't have much experience and maybe confused the directions for ham pizza and veggie pizza and made the everything pizza, but that's my guess.

Esthetic note: The stairway was pretty interesting, instead of installing new stairs, or totally re-doing them, they just sanded them to bare wood and varnished them. All the patches, filler, nail holes, and other funky old bits are there, exposed for all to see. Its an interesting contrast to the new wood and very angular finish of the rooms and hallways.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MackStWgns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear guest,

Along with the entire Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor team I thank you for choosing us on your last stay and we are pleased that you had a positive experience in our establishment.

This is a good way to see our guest's opinions.

Room service is one of our offered services and our goal is try to do the best in order to meet the guest´s expectations and make your stay easier. Anyway, our staff try to keep improving day by day.

About our company, it is a company was born in Barcelona, and we have hotels all over Spain, Germany, Belgium and Caribbean sea and, being our hotel is located in the main city center, the historical area, we try to conserve this character in some features of the establishment.

Hope to see you next time.

Greetings from Madrid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    361
    56
    18
    8
See reviews for
146
439
54
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Stayed there for three nights. The location couldn't be better! The room is not very big, but decorated nicely.

The price for the breakfast is 19€ online, but when I checked in they offered it to me for 12. That's a good deal - it's a really nice breakfast.

Room Tip: Book breakfast when you check in - much cheaper than it is online
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive opinion, we celebrate every positive review, this is one our main goal,
This is a good motivation for us, then we keep on doing our best,


Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in mid-March. We were pleasantly surprised by how wonderful this hotel proved to be. We booked a premium room and it was worth the money. The room is nice, the bathroom and shower were great and the amenities were better than most other hotels. The buffet breakfast was extensive, very well staffed and even offered brownies. Our only complaint was that the beds are a little hard but that seems to be the case for Spain. It was convenient to walk to many of the sights of Madrid and the metro. There are numerous tappas bars in the neighborhood. It was very quiet for any light sleepers out there. When we return to Madrid, we will stay here!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaCurli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and of course for your very kind review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed.
We inform you that we have improved the quality and comfort of the beds complemented by a special topper.
All customers who have tried it are happy with the improvement.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Greetings from Madrid.
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naples florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Stayed 3 nights.Used as a base to do day trips to Toledo and Segovia.
Walking distance to the Prado ,Plaza Mayor,train station and airport bus.Metro very close.
Very friendly staff.Nice price.Upgraded room facing main street.Big bathroom with window.No tub but nice rain shower.
Would recommend and would stay again for sure.
Did not eat breakfast in hotel.Cafe across street is called Peter Pan,good for coffee and pastry

Room Tip: We enjoyed a front room with windows facing street.Heard street noise the first night but didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaplesFloridaJfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear customer,

We really appreciate your feedback.
We are pleased that the hotel met your expectations.

Location is one of ur strengths that make our hotel a strategic place to stay and see the main area for tourism so you can walk almost everywhere.

Thank you very much again for your time submiting your review.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

My wife and I arrived by Airport Bus to Puerta de Atocha train station (30 minute ride for 2 euros per person), which is three Metro stops away from this hotel (Anton Martin). We decided to walk with our luggage which is about a 10 minute walk. However, note that Calle de Atocha is slightly uphill.

The concierge staff is very helpful and multilingual. We were able to check in and enter our room earlier than the designated check-in times. We were given a 5th floor room towards the back of the hotel and it was one of the most spacious hotel rooms we've stayed in in London/Paris/Barcelona. Modern amenities, very clean, hardwood floors and free WiFi.

The location of the hotel is close to Retiro Park, Prado Museum, Plaza Mayor, Mercato de San Miguel, etc. All within a 15 minute walk. There are several banks within steps of the hotel for ATM transactions as well as very good places to get coffee, fresh orange juice, churros with chocolate in the morning. We opted not for the hotel buffet breakfast.

My wife inadvertently left her sunglasses when we checked out for a 3 day trip to Sevilla. We called them and the hotel staff was very helpful. We were able to retrieve them without any issues when we returned to Madrid.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirby003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you colaborating with your time in writing this lines.
My team and I are very satisfied because of we have met your expectations.

This is a good way for us to improve every day,
As you can checked, we are located in the main area for knowing Madrid; the most important sights take place near by hotel and this is one of our best attributes.
We are glad you got your things back. It´s our mission to keep all the stuff people forget in our hotel and we feel very happy to help you to find it.
Pity it did not taste our breakfast buffet. It is simply excellent. sure he would have enjoyed it.

Once again, thank you and we hope to see you soon,

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

This fairly new hotel is in an area which is perfect for walking to the Prado, the downtown area, and the Plaza Mayor. It's attractively furnished although a little more attention to detail would have been appreciated. We would have loved another chair to read in - and for that matter, a reading light on both sides of the bed. However, because we booked a room overlooking the courtyard, we heard no traffic noises and slept fairly well. Breakfasts were excellent - it's worth taking the buffet if you like variety and lots of nice, fresh fruit. Staff was helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms will eliminate traffic noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OttawaCatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We are glad to know that the hotel and the service has covered your needs,

It´s a pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay here.
Anyway we invite you to try our superiors rooms next time, facing Atocha street, with no noise, bigger, and with some benefits in the rooms and also adapted for readers, and our Gourmet corner as well. Make sure it won´t disappoint you.

Thank you again for participate and for dedicating your time.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed four nights and we could not fault the hotel or staff . Lovely modern hotel in easy walking distance of most of the sights you will want to see, great breakfast, free wifi and If you are really keen there is a small but well equiped gym downstairs The hotel is on a busy main road,don't really know if its a problem as we requested a quite room which is what we got. Loads of bars nearby just cross the road turn right and first left and left again (about 75m total) our fav's two great bars jazz and cocktails.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tech420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
First of all, thank you for your review, this is a positive way for us and keep on doing our best,
We are working very hard for being better every day,
Thank you again
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#39 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Atocha
Catalonia Atocha
#60 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#37 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#18 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor

Property: Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Address: Calle Atocha 36, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing