We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Muy Bien”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Ranked #38 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Muy Bien”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I stayed for 8 nights. The rooms are spacious comparing to other European hotels, modern and clean. Very friendly staff. Breakfast and internet were good too. Why they didn’t have tissue in the room!? When you arrive from airport, be careful, there are two other Catalonia Hotels nearby that the taxi driver by mistake might take you there. The walls are thin, but luckily I didn’t have any noisy neighbors. The location is perfect. Forget about renting a car because gas is so expensive. Metro is a good choice, the ticket dispensers have English language choice and Anton Martin metro station is close. I suggest getting a hotel close to one of these locations: Puerta del Sol, Paseo del Prado, Gran Via, and to explore the city on foot.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamid878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Dear Mr. Hamid,
Thank you for your comments and we welcome the tastefully found while staying at our hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor.
Our staff will endeavor to make your stay more enjoyable.
We are happy to see that goal was achieved.
We hope to repeat again that experience so positive.
Thanks again and see you soon.
Manel Ruiz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    382
    60
    19
    9
See reviews for
172
468
57
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I spent two nights at this hotel. The room was very nice, and the bathroom was super modern. Everything was extremely clean. The staff was wonderful. They gave me directions and advice and supplied me with a plan of Madrid and a metro map so I could get around easily.
The location was excellent. I could walk to Sol, the Plaza Mayor, and the major museums or take the metro which was just a block from the hotel. There was a bakery across the street to buy breakfast, a fruit store around the corner, and a restaurant called TC Cañas y Tapas about a block away in the direction of the metro with a two course meal plus drink and dessert for 9 euros.. The hotel also had free use of the computer in the lobby which was a wonderful way to let friends and family know that I had arrived safely.

Room Tip: I had an inside room without a view, but it was very quiet, and that was fine with me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Dear Harriet,
We really appreciate your kind comments and are happy our hotel satisfied you. We wish you the best and hope seeing you soon in Hoteles Catalonia.
Kind Regards,
The Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We have just spent 3 night in this hotel and would recommend it to anyone. We had a suite on the top floor - the only downside was that it only had high attic style windows so next time I would book a room facing C/Atocha so we had windows we could look out of. This was the room we chose though and not the hotels fault. The whole place was spotlessly clean and furnished to a high standard. The best shower I have ever had anywhere in the world. Not sure if anyone ever uses the spinning bike in the bathroom but it's a good place to hang your robe while you shower :-) Every member of staff we spoke to was very helpful and polite and couldn't do more to help you even though we don't speak much Spanish - this wasn't a problem at all. Can't comment on the food as we never ate in the hotel but the breakfast area and snack bar looked very welcoming - particularly liked the inner courtyard seating area. The location was perfect for all the things we wanted to see - as we walk everywhere I am not sure about how convenient it would be for public transport but Madrid is a very easy city to get around on foot. It is one of the prettiest cities I have visited and so very clean everywhere. This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in and I thought it was extremely good value. We have had recent trips to both Rome and Barcelona and whilst the hotels there were also very good they can't compare to this one because of what you get for your money. If you are planning a trip to Madrid stay here - don't even bother looking at anything else :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Dear Mrs. Wood,

It has been a pleasure reading your opinion about our fantastic rooms and our excellent qualities in Catalonia Plaza Mayor.

We recommend you for your next visit in Madrid to book a Superior room, we are sure it will higher your satisfaction, in fact there are rooms with a better view on the animated Atocha street.
Without any further ado, we hope seeing you soon in our facilities.

Warmest regards,
Establishment management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

Great location. Super early flight arrived 5.30am. Emailed manager to enquire about early check in, and got quick response telling me that it was no problem for an extra €10. Room 312 at front of building with good view of street and small balcony, but best of all was very quiet and air con a blessed relief. Friendly helpful staff, clean and good value.

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Dear client,

Thank you very much for your kind comments, we really appreciate them. We hope you had a wonderful time here in Madrid and hope seeing you again very soon in our establishments.

Best regards,
The hotel manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I stayed here last weekend while in Madrid on a city break and the hotel was perfect in every way. The staff were friendly, polite and couldn't do enough to help, whether it was storing suitcases or directing us to places of interest, they were fantastic. The room was huge for a standard room and was perfectly clean and comfortable. Location right in the centre of the tourist area, however we had a room facing the inner courtyard so it was always very quiet. The nearest metro station is less than a 5 minute walk down the road meaning the entire city was easily accessible. Next time I come to Madrid I will certainly be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank MadridAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Dear customer,

We really appreciate your wonderful comments about our hotel. We wish you the best and are waiting impatiently your return in our facilities.

Warmest regards,
The hotel manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Plaza Mayor Hotel and had a very pleasant time.
Very modern room with all the amenities, newly redecorated and the wifi works very good.
The hotel is just a short walk to the Plaza Mayor and Puerta del Sol.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodo_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Dear customer,

We really appreciate your kind comments and hope you enjoyed your stay here in Madrid. We look forward to see you again in our facilities.

Best regards,
The hotel manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2012 via mobile

Just returned from Madrid. Stayed with my wife. Hotel is new, clean. We took the city view room. It was cozy, appropriately sized. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. From the reservation when I called to ask about room types through the end of our stay, they were helpful. Location was what we wanted. Walking distance from all major city sites(plaza mayor, sol, the museum area). Very close to metro anton Martin, with access to all the city. It is a great place to stay if you are looking for a boutique style hotel with comfort and good location. Worth the appropriate price. Would definitely stay there again if visiting Madrid.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
We really appreciate your wonderful comments about our hotel. We are really proud about our staff because is always friendly and attentive to the needs of our guests, it makes a big difference with other hotels.
We wish you the best and are waiting impatiently your return to our facilities.
Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#44 of 436 in Madrid
692 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#7 of 436 in Madrid
1,498 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Atocha
Catalonia Atocha
#74 of 436 in Madrid
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
Huertas
ME Madrid Reina Victoria
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#41 of 436 in Madrid
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor

Property: Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Address: Calle Atocha 36, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing