We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine place to stay but not the only.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Ranked #41 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Clean and tidy in a newly renovated building, this modern hotel has the basic amenities of a 4-star hotel. The location is ideal: perfectly situated between Plaza de Santa Ana, La Latina, Sol, museums, Plaza Mayor. Our budget limit was 200 euros / night; we wanted the Santa Ana area. We stayed 7 nights.

We arrived at 8am craving sleep, and were given the option of a room immediately available but an upgrade: Superior for another 40/night... total of 240 euros / night. We took it.
It was comfortable, modern, had a nice bathroom and a step-out balcony. The Superior came w/ an electric kettle w/ tea and instant coffee. Don't know how the Standard or Premium rooms were but the Superior had 'adequate' space. I think the Premium was the same size, minus the balcony. Anything smaller, as I believe the Standard room is, would have been a bummer. The beds were comfortable.

We did not have the buffet breakfast, preferring to explore the area, but it looked good and was reasonably priced. There was also a comfortable looking bar and courtyard downstairs but I never saw people there so it didn't compel us.

The lobby was not a place to sit awhile, if you like to do that sort of thing. I would have preferred a hotel that had a lobby to a hang out, with a comfortable meeting spot (I was in the City w/ friends and family). I noticed other hotels we had passed up at the 200+ euro price range had nicer lobbies. For 240 euros / night, I wondered about next time seeking a more substantial-looking hotel w/ the trade-off of a less nice room.

Overall, I liked: the clean, new rooms and the location. I missed: having a comfortable lobby or bar to hang out in.

Room Tip: I imagine street-side can be noisy in some hotels, but don't be afraid of the street-side rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jskantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments, we really appreciate them and are happy you enjoyed your stay in one of our best rooms, the SUPERIOR.

We understand your comments about our areas, but unfortunately in the center of Madrid, the buildings are historic, small, and this fact is not allowed down walls to create more space. The Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor is built in a residential building constructed at the end of the XIX century.

We hope seeing you again very soon in Hoteles Catalonia.

Best regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

399 - 405 of 1,125 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

you ca benefit for a reasonable price for the best located hotel i have ever stayed in madrid, new rooms, very clean (important). dont know about breakfast as didnt book it with it. Good job. Missing just a partnership card (kind of miles and more)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UserFTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Dear guest,

Above all, we thank you for having chosen Hoteles Catalonia, and hope you had a wonderful time here in Madrid.
We also really appreciate your kind comments and are happy to have satisfied you. Our main objective has been fulfilled.

We recommend you on your next visit to try our buffet breakfast. We assure you, you will be pleasantly surprised.

Thank you very much and we hope seeing again very soon in our hoteles.

Best regards,

The Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

The hotel has an excellent location. It is very easy to reach the places in Madrid. The staff was really well trained and very helpful. In fact, we had a reservation at Hotel Catalonia Las Cortes. I called some days before traveling from Chile to advice that we were arriving early in the morning. As they cannot guarantee a room so early, the same lady offered to change from the Catalonia Las Cortes to Catalonia Plaza Mayor, without any problem, with the same price and to an excellent room, that was available at 8:00AM, just when we arrived. Booth rooms were very comfortable. They manage 3 or more hotels. We visited the other one and it also was excellent. Everything in the room worked fine, they have a frigo bar, nice bathroom, plenty of light, and the beds were very comfortable.

Room Tip: Make sure that both the room and the bathroom has a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EdoSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Dear Customer,

We highly appreciate your kind words and are happy to have made your stay here in Hotel Catalonia a confortable and pleasant stay. We hope to see you very soon in our establishments.

Warmest regards,
The Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Nothing fancy in a contemporary room which was not large but not cramped either. Everything worked and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a courtyard facing room which we preferred because it was very quiet. It is on a busy street so the street view rooms might be noisy, but that is only a guess. The location is excellent...walking distance to everything important that you would want to see.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardLBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Dear client,

We really appreciate your kind comments, and are very happy our hotel satified you. As you said the rooms that have a courtside view are very quiet. However I must specify that the rooms with view on the Atocha street can be qualified as quiet as the others thanks to there double glazing. These rooms also have other avantages, for exemple, they have nice balconies and more natural light.

Hoping to see you soon here in establishments.

Best regards,
The hotel manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Centrally located within walking distance to the shops, bountiful restaurants including tapas bars, Plaza del Sol, Plaza Mayor, Almudena Cathedral, museums both Prado and Thyssen. Also close to the Palace and the Hop on Hop off bus depot.
Excellent breakfast but with extra cost €12, however, there is a Panaderia across the street that serves breakfast for less but if you want to splurge take the breakfast at the hotel and you will no regret it.
Friendly staff, the hotel is very modern and beautifully decorated.

Room Tip: Stayed in a room overlooking the courtyard, do not stay in the rooms by the street for it can be lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yamate-cho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Dear client,

We really appreciate your kind comments and are happy you enjoyed your stay here in Madrid. Indeed, I agree with you , there is facing the hotel a place that offers a breakfast but not comparable. In fact, the customers how have already eaten here in the hotel do not have the same opinion.

We wish you the best and hope seeing you soon in our facilities.

Best regards,

The hotel manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Excellent central location . Stayed here on a business trip and was able to walk to and from my meetings with ease . Hotel is modern and clean and comfortable and the service offered was very good .. The beds were very comfortable , bathrooms were excellently fitted out and also Free Wi-Fi . Highly Recommended .

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

We really appreciate your kind comments about our hotel. We are really proud about our staff because is always friendly and attentive to the needs of our guests,
We wish you the best and are waiting your return to Madrid
Thank you and best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I stayed in the Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor with two friends in August 2012 and we really enjoyed our stay. We had come to Madrid to see the art galleries and all the numerous sights of The city so needed a hotel which was comfortable, quiet and within walking distance of all the galleries etc. The Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor filled all our needs to perfection. The bedrooms are newly renovated, with very comfortable double beds, a Satellite TV, free WiFi, and Power showers in the bathrooms to die for especially after a day walking around Madrid's Prado and other galleries. The staff are charming and helpful. The only criticism that we had was the breakfast, which cost €20 a head, we thought that that was to expensive. Luckily there is a good cafe opposite the hotel. Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Dear Customer,

We really appreciate your kind comments and are happy our hotel satisfied you. We wish you the best and hope seeing you soon in Hoteles Catalonia.

Kind Regards,
The Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#40 of 441 in Madrid
780 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#9 of 441 in Madrid
1,636 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Atocha
Catalonia Atocha
#80 of 441 in Madrid
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#45 of 441 in Madrid
1,321 reviews
Huertas
NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
Huertas
ME BY MELIA MADRID Reina Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor

Address: Calle Atocha 36, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: £90 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Madrid and inaugurated in February 2011, very close to the Plaza Mayor and the emblematic Puerta de Sol, Catalonia Plaza Mayor is located in the best cultural and commercial area of ​​the city. You can walk to the main museums (El Prado, Reina Sofia, Thyssen Bornemisza), theaters, bars and the main shopping area of ​​the capital. It also offers free Wi-Fi, a gym, jacuzzi, free tea time service, snack bar cafe and restaurant for conventions and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing