We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Ranked #40 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights at beginning of January with friends on a City Break to Madrid. It's firstly an excellent location, just round the corner from Plaza Santa Anna which is a great place for tapas bars and restaraunts! Mercado de San Miguel is also just 5 mins walk away, with other places like Prado and Royal Palace just 10 mins walk away. All round a super location. The staff were all very pleasant and courteous too. Rooms were all very clean and tidy and recently renovated. Beds very comfy too. The bar wasn't too inviting but then again there are plenty on your doorstep. I would definitely recommend and would definitely stay here again! Thank you!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ADouglasBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thank you for your positive review, we feel happy when we get our goals,
We think that we will see you again, and you have to go to our snack bar, where we have dinner service also, also you can watch on the TV one of the current sports events, and you will enjoy even more your stay,

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    364
    56
    19
    8
See reviews for
147
447
55
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tongeren, Belgium
Level Contributor
191 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Good hotel very close to Party Place Santa Ana. Also very close to Atocha train station. Walking distance to Korean, Chinese, Japanese and Thai restaurants.

The bar is not so nice, very standard, not coisy.

The reception is good and fast.

The gym is very good too, they have a threadmill of LifeFitness, good quality. The TV in the gym had some problem...

Room Tip: I had room on first floor that overlooked the Patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristof_Be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
We are glad when we see your impression in Trip Advisor, if you enjoyed in our standard rooms, we invite you to our superior room, bigger than the standard rooms, facing Atocha Street, and you will see the Madrid sunshine and then walking around the city center


Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Had a last minute business trip to Madrid and found this hotel based on other reviewers.
Ground-floor room when I checked in, so thought it may be very loud especially since you pass through the "bar" area on the way to the room. Happily surprised that it was absolutely quiet.

The room itself is very modern, very nice with a great big shower and lots of space to really spread out in. For the price, you really can't do much better. It's really close to a lot of the main tourist sites in Madrid.

Front desk is super helpful, speaks great English if you need it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hi!
We feel very happy when we see a positive review in TripAdvisor, looks like we are getting our goals,
As you can checked, our rooms located on the ground floor are very quiet, where you can rest very well,

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of November. Very well located close to Plaza Santa Ana and within walking distance of the Prado and Retiro park which was a highlight. Better to be here, in our view, than in the Gran Via. We had a superior room overlooking the street which was spacious and well appointed and the double glazing kept all the noise out. Took breakfast in the hotel which offers a discount if you are staying three days or more. Service good; and excellent hotel. Don't miss the Sorolla museum!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay here,
You tried one of the best things of the hotel, the luxury breakfast, where we have everything,
Next time you come to Madrid, you can't miss the chance of trying our jacuzzi, free of charge for the guests

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during November 2013. The location is good, walking distance to La Latina and other attractions but in a less trendy location then other hotels. Stuff and service were great. Booking online got us a early check-in and a very very late check out (other hotels wanted 50euro for late check out).

You can skip breakfast and get something to eat in one of the near bakeries (9 euro for 2 people max)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsafShalom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
First of all, thank you for coming here,
You get a few benefits of booking through our website, like the free late check out, this is a very good benefit,
And next time, try our breakfast,obviously is not the same price, but is not the same products.
You will not regret the choice,

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

I booked a room at this hotel via Booking.com for a customer from October 15-17th, 2013 and prepaid the room with my credit card. Afterwards, I discovered the hotel overcharged versus the price confirmed with Booking.com. They billed 2 breakfasts for one person on my credit card, and when I questioned them about it, they blamed it on Booking.com, saying that they had reserved for 2 people. They now refuse to issue a credit. And when I contacted Booking.com, they have reacted quickly, but with plenty of questions and paperwork. I finally gave up!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank molly62France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director de Recepción at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
The hotel just charged what you booked in booking.com, and the hotel charge what you authorized sending us an email, so we did not do anything wrong,
We just follow your orders and the terms and conditions that you booked.
Sorry for the inconveniences.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

This well-located hotel is clean, practical, has excellent internet access, good breakfasts and extremely helpful staff.
Upon arrival we were given a free upgrade into a suite. The staff also helped us orient ourselves in Madrid and with our Spanish. They were always friendly, polite and professional.
The gym does not have any weights and there is tacky music (saxophone versions of movie soundtracks) playing at breakfast; but overall a very nice place to stay. (And the cookies from the bakery across the street are delicious!)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
We feel very happy when we saw your review, you enjoyed one of the most beautiful rooms in the hotel, the suite room,
Next time, you have to take the Imperial Suite, which has 50 meters with two separates compartments, as well we have in the room one static bicycle, so you can practise spinning in the room!
See you next time in the Imperial Suite
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#43 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Atocha
Catalonia Atocha
#64 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#9 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#37 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,317 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor

Property: Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Address: Calle Atocha 36, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing