We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money. Great service. Central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Ranked #37 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This an excellente hotel.
Very comfortable rooms. Wireless available everywhere. Excellente service.
Very good breakfast with many options.
Central and very close to Anton Martin metro station and close to Puerta del Sol..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JPontares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manel R, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2015

Thank you for your thoughtful comments.
Glad to know that you enjoy your stay in our facilities.
We hope this is the first of future experiences.
Thanks again and see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,054)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

The hotel is in a great location and is walking distance to all major sights in Madrid. The room was quite comfortable, including the bed. We had several great nights sleep. The bathroom had all of the modern conveniences and was rather large. The shower was wonderful with a heated towel bar.
The only draw back was that there was no restaurant. There was a bar for an evening drink but no food available other than breakfast, which we did not partake in since it was quite expensive. There are many coffee shops in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneandJoetrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manel R, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear customer,

Thank you colaborating with your time in writing this lines,
My team and I are very satisfied because of we have met your expectations.

If you like the standard room, you have to try our superiors, biggers, and with more benefits for a little price difference, you will be even happier!.


Once again, thank you and we hope to see you soon,

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in march and found the hotel to be very modern very comfortable
And very close to plaza mayor. I would definitely stay here again. We had a room that faced a small courtyard. This was very quiet and if I return I will request that room again. Overall very enjoyable stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank animal98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manel R, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments,

We are glad to know that the hotel and the service has covered your needs.

In spite of being located almost in the main center, our rooms can boast of being very quiet. They have double glass in all the rooms in order to avoid the noisy outside.

Thank you again for participate and for dedicating your time

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Jumping into the good stuff:
1. The rooms are a reasonable size (for Europe), clean and new - fine for a few days
2. The staff are very helpful and friendly, e.g. my wife hurt her knee and the bar manager immediately got her a bag of ice and enquire after her the next day (this is Europe, he wasn't after a tip)
3. The location is good, next to lots of small local bars, cafes and restaurants
4. The rooms are quiet and the bathroom had a great shower

Onto the less good stuff:
1. The bed was dreadful, I thought there was an earthquake during the night - the bed was so unstable and every morning I felt fatigued after a shaky sleep
2. The bathroom floor tiles were all loose and ground when walked on

I would probably try another hotel if I stayed in Madrid just for a change but the Plaza Mayor is a safe choice for a few days. Do try the local family cafes and restaurants in the area, they are great!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BertBantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manel R, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for using your time to give us your impressions about hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor. We first want to apologize for the inconvenience during your stay with us, since we strive to provide the best service to all of our clients.

Quality of service including firstly all related to the room is a must in the hotel´s goals so we always try to do our best.

In relation to your comments of bed and bathroom floors, we have not detected any effect on bedroom. We would appreciate you via mail, you indicate to us the number of your room to verify grades and prevent another client may suffer some discomfort. (Plazamayor.direccion @ hoteles-catalonia.es)

Once again, we want to thank you for taking the time to write your review and we hope that for your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Warm regards from Madrid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

A few days ago I stayed for the first time in the Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor in Madrid. I have a lot of experience privately and professionally with the Hoteles Catalonia chain and never ever did they disappoint me. The hotel is perfectly located, room, bed and bathroom are huge and provided with everything you would need.
The staff is very correct and kind and they were very helpful with planning my stay in Madrid.
Highly recomendable...!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manel R, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our aim is our guests to feel as much comfortable as possible with all that it entails.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Best regards from Madrid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel is great, walking distance to all major sites and to Atocha train station.
The room is new and very clean and has a big bathroom.
The Wifi signal was strong.
The Breakfast was too expensive, but there are many places to eat near by.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chen_yac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manel R, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014
Google Translation

Caro convidado,
Obrigado por tomar o tempo para compartilhar sua experiência conosco. Eu gostaria de estender nossos mais sinceras desculpas pelo inconveniente que você encontrou aqui no nosso hotel.
Temos certeza de que foi um evento isolado, por isso, não hesite em convidá-lo para visitar o hotel novamente para oferecer nosso melhor serviço
Gostaríamos de agradecer mais uma vez e espero que em sua próxima visita Que podemos superar todas as suas expectativas.
Atenciosamente.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We visited Madrid on business recently and I discovered this hotel through TripAdvisor, and I was not disappointed. While the exterior and lobby are nothing special, the rooms we had were very good.

The bed was comfortable, and the room size was plenty big and clean. The bathroom was the best part, though, especially the shower. The walk-in shower provided both a rainfall shower head and hand-held with an abundance of water pressure. Maybe the best hotel shower I've had.

The hotel is centrally located and near the Plaza Santa Ana with several nice restaurants, and close to public transportation as well.

My only issue with this hotel is that we requested a non-smoking room, and were told at the front desk that we had a non-smoking room, but it was not. Nonetheless, I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: If you ask for a non-smoking room, double-check!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IMightBeWrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PZAMAYOR, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

First of all, we want to thank your kindness for sharing your opinion with all the Trip Advisor community,


We are very happy because you enjoyed our modern shower, and next time you visit the city, we invite you to use our jacuzzi or fitness center, free of charge for the hotel customers.

We are glad to check that the hotel was pleasant and we hope that we will be your hotel reference in Madrid
Thank you again from the whole hotel,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#39 of 438 in Madrid
714 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#7 of 438 in Madrid
1,520 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Atocha
Catalonia Atocha
#75 of 438 in Madrid
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
Huertas
NH Collection Paseo del Prado
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Lealtad Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor

Address: Calle Atocha 36, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: £103 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Madrid and inaugurated in February 2011, very close to the Plaza Mayor and the emblematic Puerta de Sol, Catalonia Plaza Mayor is located in the best cultural and commercial area of ​​the city. You can walk to the main museums (El Prado, Reina Sofia, Thyssen Bornemisza), theaters, bars and the main shopping area of ​​the capital. It also offers free Wi-Fi, a gym, jacuzzi, free tea time service, snack bar cafe and restaurant for conventions and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing