We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well situated in old town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Ranked #41 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Scarborough, Australia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Well situated in old town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel is in a quiet side street backing on to the Plaza Mayor and right at the start of the old town. The room was clean and I had a double room with single occupancy. It was good for one but would have been a squash with two adults and two suitcases. I was cold the first night as the reverse cycle air-conditioning/heating was broken. I asked for another blanket the following day and this was provided quickly. There is no tea making facility in the room but coffee is available in the bar downstairs. The reception staff were very friendly. There's a good cafe at the end of the street called La Tahona de mi Abuela that has good coffee and triple chocolate croissants to die for. There's also a supermarket in the next street parallel to the hotel. Ask for room 501 as it has a private terrace.

Room Tip: Ask for room 501 as it has its own private terrace on the roof complete with table and sun loungers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntieFloTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manel R, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 23 October 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you colaborating with your time in writing this lines,
My team and I are very satisfied because of we have met your expectations.

In fact, we do have room service until midnight for anything you may need, but we also have special rooms that offers extra services in the room like coffe and tea , besides free water, chocolate and more. next visit we sugest you to ask for a premium room , or a superior room that besides all this facilities, all this rooms has a kingside bed.

Once again, thank you and we hope to see you soon,

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    360
    56
    18
    8
See reviews for
146
437
54
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
greece
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

The location of the hotel is a very good.I have a room over a busy road but the noise proofing was excellent.I stayed in a room with three beds (two adults,one child) so the space was limited.The breakfast was very good (included in price).
The negative is that the hotel is very expensive for what is offer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christosgrGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manel R, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 23 October 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I would like to extend our sincerest apologies if you truely feel that you did not exceed all your expectations. We really have very competitives prices according to our category, and also, we do have 6 differents types of rooms with different prices for all budgeting

We would like to thank you once again and hope that in your next visit we can exceed all your expectations.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I didn't know where I wanted to be since I was traveling through Madrid to Morroco. I wanted a decent price, decent hotel and decent location. All were great. Location was best, walking to a lot of options and short taxi to others.

Really great option!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffany I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manel R, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed, and that you recommend Catalonia PLaza Mayor.

Of course we are always open to sugestions , even if they are not that good. Excellent service is our commandment, but it is not always easy. That`s why it is very important for us is you share your coments. Finally, i am personally very glad that our staff resolved all your inconveniences.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Best regards from Madrid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
163 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Been here for 5 days, location is perfect, very close to some major attractions and great restaurants. Check-in was ok. During the stay I was very sick, the lady at the reception was so rude, she did not want to help us find a hospital where they speak english, she was busy with her other things I suppose. Gaston and Omar were extremely helpful tho and walked me to the pharmacy personally to assist. The rooms were very quiet, but we had some cleaning issues throughout our stay, No sorry was said from the management after reporting several problems. Osmani from the bar makes fantastic drinks and he is very delightful as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TerraExplorator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manel R, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
First of all, we want to thank your kindness for sharing your opinion with all the Trip Advisor community,


We are very sorry that you did not feel well during your stay in Madrid, on the other hand, we really apreciate that you shared your experience with us, even if it was not that good. Our personal is always helpful even in those moments when we are all busy, as you said.

We are glad to check that the hotel was pleasant and we hope that we will be your hotel reference in Madrid
Thank you again from the whole hotel,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very helpful staff who recommended amazing restaurants and precise directions, very clean and comfortable rooms, amazing location with walking distance from major historical sites, perfect jacuzzi and fitness room

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benliang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manel R, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you colaborating with your time in writing this lines,
My team and I are very satisfied because of we have met your expectations.

It is always nice to hear positive words for all our staff, of course we always work with the only purpose of an excelent service.

Once again, thank you and we hope to see you soon,

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed four nights at this hotel. We could not fault the running (or operations) of the hotel in any way. The only thing I did not like about the hotel - this being purely a matter of personal preference - was its location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manel R, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you very much for your comments,
We are glad to know that the hotel and the service has covered your needs,

Even though the location of the hotel was not as good for you as the rest of the hotel, as you mentioned, there are many good areas in Madrid that can offer you a pleasant stay, but Catalonia Plaza Mayor, located in Atocha street, is in the middle of this popular and busy road, right between the train station and the Plaza Mayor, walking distance everywhere.

Thank you again for participate and for dedicating your time

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
293 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 6 nights staying in a suite. It was on the top floor (floor 6) with windows that open but are up high so there are no views. Upon entry of the room, you have about 6 shelves for clothes etc, a lounge area with a 2 seater couch, ottoman, coffee table, lamps, rug and an area to put your suitcase. You also have a folding case stand for another suitcase. Bedroom consists of a king bed, writing desk, lounge chair and wardrobe with shelves. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was floor to ceiling tiles, single vanity and a very large shower with rain head and separate hand held shower spray. Each night there is turn down service where you receive a chocolate and a bottle of water. The hotel staff are very friendly and always ready to give advice on where to eat, shop and sightsee. The hotel is in a great location with shops, subway, restaurants, tapas bars, supermarket and the main train station within walking distance. Some bad points, not necessary negative, of this hotel: 1/ the bar fridge is not very cold, 2/ the shower lacks detail cleaning. Breakfast - food is vast consisting all the standards you get in every hotel these days, BUT, the hot food was not hot, it was luke warm and not plentiful, to get a pot of tea you need to get hot water from the coffee machine which takes ages. Asking the breakfast staff to get hot water from the kitchen was a bit of a chore. We mentioned this at reception and the following morning at breakfast was totally different. Food was hot and plentiful, we were asked if we would like a pot of tea and it was not just us with this service it was all guests - a nice change and the way it should be. Apart from these minor issues, I would recommend this hotel if you are wishing to travel to Madrid.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny0401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manel R, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor, responded to this review, 23 October 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit and every single detail.
That´s our goal, to improve every day with an exelent service and sharing your experience with us , believe us , is very helpful.


We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Best regards from Madrid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#39 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Atocha
Catalonia Atocha
#60 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#37 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,257 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#18 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor

Property: Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Address: Calle Atocha 36, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing