We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great late night snack (with great price)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Pizzateca

La Pizzateca
Ranked #46 of 10,438 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Huertas
Description: Tradicional Pizzeria in downtown Madrid. Open everyday from 1pm to 4:30pm and from 7pm to 12.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
127 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great late night snack (with great price)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Since I lived nearby, this is a great spot for grabbing some late night snacks. All the pizzas are listed in a neat way and there is some set that 2 pizzas+1 drink, around 6euro. The staff are very welcomed and even it's more like a small pizza stand, it is well decorated with some funny books on the wall. The mushroom pizza tastes great and I would also like to recomment the one with balsamic vinegar and goat cheese.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wonderfay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    141
    42
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Pizza, Great Owner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This place has actually produced one of our favorite pizzas of all time! We figured it may be touristy as it was located near some of the hotels and museums, but there were a handful of locals in there.

We stopped in for dinner on a whim. The pizza was amazing...and we only had the vegetarian fare. If you are specifically expecting New York or Chicago style pizza, you are not going to find that. What you will find, though, are unique flavor combinations and very fresh pizzas. I believe we tried four slices: cheese, margherita, mushrooms/truffle oil, and potatoes (I've never had anything like the potato pizza). The crust, cheese, and sauces all tasted very fresh.

What puts this place over the top is the owner. A very nice guy, if not a little quirky, and you can tell he is passionate about his craft. It shines through in his pizza.

Be forewarned that the dining space is pretty cramped...but don't let that keep you from stopping by.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank prizzle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“best pizza ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Delicious pizza. Great service! We absolutely love this charming little place. The friendly high quality service is an extra point! Strongly recommended,, specially if you are tired and hungry

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EVA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The pizza is quite good, no doubt about that, fresh ingredients and many possibilities to create a flavourful meal. But that was all...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not bad, not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed a couple of blocks away from here and had the opportunity to eat at several local venues. Since we are Americans, we needed our pizza a few times. What we got here were 3 relatively thin pizzas with decent enough sauce and tasty cheese. They were okay, but if you are used to NY pizza or more intense flavor, you won't be that happy. The price for what we got was a bit high as well. We had pizza at 2 other places within 3 blocks of here, and both were better. However, this place had decent pizza.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank floridatraveldad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Pizzateca also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to La Pizzateca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing