We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Viena.

Cafe Viena.
Ranked #1,418 of 10,540 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: US$9 - US$27
Cuisines: European, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Arguelles
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Tasted my first young crianza here. Pretty good. Ordered coffee for partner and did not know that it had alcohol. Good, strong relaxing coffee. Very historic building restaurant has been around for a century plus.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JayCombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio L, Director General at Cafe Viena., responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Google Translation
Gracias por su opinión, Jay.
Nos alegra mucho que haya resultado satisfecho con nuestros servicios.
Un saludo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    94
    30
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
S.D.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Convenient to Suites viena”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We enjoyed our meal here, very close to the hotel.
The meal was a typical Madrid meal, which is very good, the desserts were real nice.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank flynsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VienaCapellanes, Gerente at Cafe Viena., responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Google Translation
Estimado cliente:

Muchas gracias por su opinión, nos alegra que nuestros servicios hayan resultado de su agrado, y esperamos tener la ocasión de volver a atenderle en nuestro establecimiento.

Un saludo. CAFÉ VIENA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan PR
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice for lunch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

While waiting for a room upon our arrival, the receptionist recommended this cafe for lunch. They have a buffet and it has quite a variety of different spanish dishes and salads. We liked it, but I think 18 euros per person is too much for lunch. They also have a small pastry shop near the hotel and the Cafe Viena, where they sell delicious pastries and sandwiches and salads for lunch as a cheaper and lighter alternative.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jalenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VienaCapellanes, Gerente at Cafe Viena., responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Google Translation
Estimado cliente:

Agradecemos que se haya tomado su tiempo para escribir su opinión, simplemente indicarle que, además de nuestros menús para el almuerzo (a partir de 11 euros entre semana y de 18 los fines de semana), tenemos una amplia carta de cafetería y tapas donde poder elegir platos ligeros y muy asequibles. Muchas gracias por su visita.

Saludos cordiales

Café Viena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

The food is horrible. Breakfast consist of a cold white bread sandwich cut in half. The waiters need to be more friendly. Cheap prices but the ambieance is bad.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank hiramclt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VienaCapellanes, Director General at Cafe Viena., responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Google Translation
Estimado cliente:

Agradecemos que se haya tomado su tiempo para escribir una reclamación, y lamentamos que su experiencia con nosotros no haya sido buena. Tenemos en consideración todas las opiniones de nuestros clientes, y tratamos constantemente de mejorar todos los aspectos de nuestro servicio.

Tenemos mas de 20 tipos de desayunos, y lamentamos que su elección no fuera adecuada. Trasladaremos su queja a nuestros empleados con el fin de mejorar el servicio.

Saludos cordiales

Café Viena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ne england
Level Contributor
177 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

we had some tapas [salmon/smoked cod particularly good, wild boar lovely, asparagus good too, chicken very tasty] a glass of wine each and then shared a steak which we enjoyed but was not for the fainthearted as it was very rare[we could have asked for itto be cooked more, but we liked it that way]. All dishes appeared with a garnish of tiny chips which were a bit samey in the end. I would have enjoyed perhaps a lettuce garnish with some of the dishes, just for a change. It was all delicious though, and much the cheapest meal we have had, 27 euros for 2. The ambiance is a bit cafe-ish but then it is a cafe. The waiter was absolutely sweet and made us feel very cared for. It's the 1st of the eating places that we've been to that we will definitely go back to because of the waiter/food/price

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank roeyNeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VienaCapellanes, Director General at Cafe Viena., responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Google Translation
¡¡¡MUCHAS GRACIAS!!! Entantados de atenderle.
Saludos.
CAFÉ VIENA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Viena. also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Cafe Viena.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing