We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern room, goo location”
Review of Hostal Foster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Foster
Ranked #51 of 277 Madrid B&B and Inns
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Modern room, goo location”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Located just off gran via. This is a very modern hostal. Super clean , friendly staff. I had the single room which was small , room located just inside the main door and could be noisy with guests and staff chatting but not too bad, the room was quite hot , it was May and the airon doesnt get switched on in May which was a bot odd. There is a chinese restaurant downstairs that makes your room smelly if you leave the window open. I would stay again but opt for a room on the front facing the street.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornish-scrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    83
    41
    11
    6
See reviews for
12
124
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

my 2nd city break alone .
strangely situated in back street - not pleasant walking back alone .

very basic reception which wsnt manned very much .
difficult to get into the hotel with one of the 3 keys given to access the building , the floor and the room.
advertised as breakfast - not sure where and like i said no receptionistt to ask .
i was laye for pre booked trip due to phone on london time - i asked the one and only receptionist i called to help me not interested .
booked it through groupon - very disappointed

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fawkey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I spent three days here and my stay was pleasant.. just beware of the "view" from your window..mine faced another building - an internal space- and few bits didnt work..the shower wasnt great..but overall very clean and pastel coloured.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sigmund84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

This was such a great find. My boyfriend and I stayed in one of the apartments off site, which had a kitchenette and bathroom (basically almost a studio apartment). It was in a nice building on a quiet street near Plaza de Espana. The room was immaculate with nice views of the city, and even a TV over the bed. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The price couldn't be beat for what we got. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank joseph10451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We found the hostel in the back streets behind Gran Via, only to be told our studio apartment with its own bathroom was not at this location. We checked in and followed the staff about 10 minutes to the apartment - near Plaza de Espana Metro station - again in a quiet back street, in a secure building. On level 5, the apartment was clean and renovated and looked a lot like the hostel rooms.

It had everything you needed, clean towels, soap, shutters on windows, kitchenette, separate bathroom, really good wifi, TV, a double and a single bed (could sleep up to 3).

The only drawback was the location was not where it was advertised to be, and cleaners only came upon request.

One other thing, we would return after a day out to found a strange smell in the apartment, which we thought might have been attributed by the pipes in the bathroom - we noted the drainage in the shower wasn't very efficient.

Otherwise it was a reasonably good stay.

One other thing, I left my wallet and house keys in the studio after we had checked out and left the country. Hostal Foster staff was very helpful by posting them home to me, despite it being a slow process.

Room Tip: Whilst the studio was renovated, clean and offered privacy in a quiet location, it was not in the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torino
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

last week I went to Madrid for work. I was alone and I arrived at 8 p.m at hostal foster. The building is near the Gran Via but the street is little and not so beautiful for a girl during night time. The hotel is in an apartment at the second floor. I did not like the situation and, to be polite, I ask the recepionist to make a call for deciding to remain or not. I tried to call a friend for asking him about another hotel, but cannot listen to my mobile because of the groans coming from the room near the door. I went out of the door for trying to listening to the call and suddenly the receptionist closed me out of the hotel. I tried to call her and ring the bell, but nothing to do. SHE LEFT ME OUT! Therefore, I had been forced to find another hotel! I was in an unknown town, all alone, without hotel. Finally, the receptionist has taken the money from my credit card (IT IS REGISTERED AT 8.16 P.M.)

Room Tip: Try another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nanne_da
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Hostal Abel Victoriano
Hostal Abel Victoriano
#17 of 277 in Madrid
436 reviews
Centro
Hostal Madrid Inn
Hostal Madrid Inn
#13 of 277 in Madrid
387 reviews
Centro
Hostal Santa Cruz
Hostal Santa Cruz
#37 of 277 in Madrid
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Pension Meyra
Pension Meyra
#59 of 277 in Madrid
50 reviews
Huertas
Artistic B&B
Artistic B&B
#1 of 277 in Madrid
505 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Besaya
Hostal Besaya
#36 of 277 in Madrid
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Foster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Foster

Property: Hostal Foster
Address: C/ Estrella 5, 20 Izquierda | (posterior a Gran Vía 52), 28004 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 277 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Foster 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Foster is situated in the centre of Madrid, just 100 metres from Santo Domingo Metro Station. It offers free Wi-Fi and brightly coloured rooms with fun wall designs. Air-conditioned rooms at Foster include a plasma TV and DVD player. Some rooms have a balcony. The reception at Hostal Foster is conveniently open 24 hours a day and a luggage storage service is available. Madrid's Gran Via is 200 metres away with many bars and restaurants. The lively Puerta del Sol is a 10-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Foster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing