We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Atlantico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Atlantico
Ranked #19 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Everything about this place was great, from the free shuttle service from the airport (there is a small fee to go to the airport but relative to the cost for a taxi, it's a steal), to the staff to the location - especially if you like shopping.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drchocol8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Dirrector at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for your kind words that are really the best compliments that a Hotel General Manager can ever receive.

We are all very happy that you liked our hotel but particularly that you enjoyed the service our staff have provided.

We hope to see you again in a near future.

Warmest regards,
Eva García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,147
    892
    170
    40
    26
See reviews for
465
1,831
246
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Great location, clean and nice room !! Food, shops, metro are all nearby !!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackSkellingtonG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Dear client.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for choosing our hotel and we are glad you had a positive experience.I hope we get to see you again in the near future. Thank you again.

At your service.
Eva García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Hotel Atlantico's location is central and very convenient for visiting Madrid. I had two different rooms (at the beginning and ending of a trip) over the course of four nights and both were nicely decorated and comfortable, particularly after I discovered normal pillows in the armoire and could ditch the uncomfortable long, round pillow that looks lovely on the bed but is guaranteed to put your neck out for a week.

Lack of attention to detail prevents this hotel from reaching its full potential. The showers were good, but shower curtains don't belong in a four star hotel. The drain in the bathroom sink could not be completely closed, so efforts to wash out underwear, a skirt and a blouse were a pain in the neck. On the last leg of trip, the drain worked, but the television did not. And no, I did not jiggle cables to see if anything was loose because I was tired and there were way too many cables.

When I tried to reserve my room for the second part of my trip, I contacted the hotel only to have the staff person tell me they were booked. Then I checked on the web and found numerous rooms available. Now why couldn't the staff have told me that the hotel room allotment was booked, but check on the web? The morning staff wasn't the most helpful--I asked for suggestions of things to do on a rainy Monday, and the only thing the young woman could suggest was one of the modern art museums and shopping. Actually, the palace and cathedral are fine Monday activities, and she should have been able to include those in her suggestions.

The most aggravating part of my stay was their shuttle service. I booked at Atlantico because I thought transportation to and from the airport would be easy. Well, it was useless. The service runs only several times daily and the one time I could have conveniently used it, the hotel gave me such vague directions that I couldn't find the shuttle at the airport. Then it turns out it was running 25 minutes late. So, all in all, I spent about 60 Euros on transportation to and from the airport. If the shuttle service had been what I was led to expect, I should have only spent about 24 Euros.

Overall, I am a bit surprised that the hotel rates as the #2 hotel in Madrid. I think that rating is a bit overblown.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 891236503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Dear Guest.
First of all thank you very much for staying with us.
We are sorry to hear about the different troubles you had to go through during your stay.
Please accept our sincere apologies for any discomfort this may have caused and please make sure that your comments have been passed onto the appropriate department for corrective action. Your feedback is a vital part of our business and it is through your constructive comments that we are able to improve the service we offer guests in our hotel.

We would like to thank you again for bringing this matter to our attention and we do hope you will allow us the opportunity to be of service to you again on some future occasion.

Faithfully yours,
Eva García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Not much else to say really - stayed for 3 very relaxing nights.
Would highly recommend this hotel.
The hotel is on one of the main streets in Madrid - so with the window open it is noisy, close the window and it is perfectly quiet. (we stayed on the 2nd floor overlooking the main street)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 205 and it was great, double bed with balcony overlooking Gran Via.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Compo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments regarding the services and staff during your visit.

Your feedback is a vital part of our business and it is through your constructive comments that we are able to improve the service we offer guests in our hotel.

We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hotel Atlántico.

Faithfully yours,
Eva García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Booked on an offer, Euro115 per night B&B.
An absolute bargain, location could not be better, plenty to see and good restaurants within easy walking distance, the Madrid Tourist bus stops virtually outside the door and the Metro is only a short walk (Lees than a 100mtrs).
Room was excellent, large and airy, yes there is some traffic noise but windows closed removes nearly all of it.
Air con was 1st rate, not the usual noisy box screwed onto the wall in the room. Plus it actually worked.
Bathroom was spotless clean and airy, towels were changed every day, regardless.
Mini Bar was very reasonably priced, not the usual pricey selection.
Drinks in the 9th floor lounge were also very reasonable, lovely comfortable surroundings, with very friendly smiling service.
All staff were very helpful and cheerful.
Have had better breakfasts, nothing really wrong just didn't hit the quality mark, but for the price and location, not really a problem.
Reception more than happy to look after our cases for a couple of hours before we caught out taxi to the airport, always a plus allowing that last wander and a cup coffee.
Taxi was 35 Euros from airport to Hotel @ 23.00 hrs, 25 Euros back to the airport at lunchtime, (4 People + 4 small cases)
Airport shuttle bus is 8 Euros per person each way.
For the normal city break hard to beat.

Room Tip: 210 was good for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeeNorthumberlandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Your compliments of the Hotel Atlántico are greatly appreciated.

We work diligently to offer the best service and a great stay for each guest. It is nice to know when this succeeded.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to write a wonderful review. We look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Eva García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We recently stayed at the Atlantico in Madrid and i have to say everything about it was excellent,from the staff through to Hotel facilities and location,right in the centre of Madrid
no need for Taxi's etc walking distance to almost everything.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: choose floor eight if possible easy access to the roof terrace & bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chigg63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Dear Sir, Madame.
Thank you for your nice review and your stay with us. We appreciate your patronage. We are glad that we were able to make your visit convenient for our location and facilities.

We hope to see you again soon!!!

Warmest Regards,
Eva García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wizard of essex
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

We enjoyed a four night stay here in the middle of summer. We failed to find the hotel shuttle bus at the arport and so took a taxi which cost about E30. Our superior room was a good size, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The bathroom was elegant and luxurious, with a seperate washroom which contained two basins, two mirrors and two sets of toiletries. Excellent for the sort perople who enjoy communal ablutions. Other amenities included occassional table and chairs. desk, safe and the usual overpriced mini-bar.
The cafe-bar on the top floor was friendly and reasonably priced. The breakfast room was spacious with an excellent and varied buffet. While on the subject of food, it seems to me, that all this hotel needs in order to make it truly top-class is a quality restaurant.
The location in Gran Via is perfect for most of the tourist sites, many of which are within walking distance. For those further afield, the metro is close-by and user-friendly. The centre of Madrid is Puerta del Sol which is a pleasant 10 minute walk from the hotel. The small streets in this area are home to many restaurants offering varied fare which is generally good value if somewhat touristy. The most poular time to eat seems to be about 10pm. and the area around Sol is busy until the early hours. The 2 routes operated by sight-seeing buses are useful for getting your bearings.
We took a train from Atocha Station to Toledo which was interesting and easy to arrange. The high speed trains take about 30 minutes and run frequently.Toledo is a medieval walled town which gives an ideal break from the hustle-bustle of the Capitol.
If we return to Madrid, we will undoubtably stay at the Hotel Atlantico.

Room Tip: The standard rooms and the superior rooms are both furnished in similar high quality. The superior o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gandalfwizardofessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Dear Sirs,
Thank You for choosing Hotel Atlántico and for sharing with other travellers your kind opinion about our facilities and services.
It is very rewarding for us to know that you have good memories from your holiday.
It will be a pleasure to host you again in future.
With best regards
Eva García
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#18 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,543 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#48 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantico

Property: Hotel Atlantico
Address: Gran Via 38, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#7 Family Hotel in Madrid
#15 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#46 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Atlantico offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. The hotel has 2 terraces with panoramic views of the city. Rooms are soundproofed and feature a classic decor. Each one has flat-screen satellite TV, a safe, minibar, ironing facilities and a private bathroom. Atlantico Hotel has an elegant cafe-bar and a daily buffet breakfast. In the area you will find a wide range of shops and dining options. Chueca District is 500 metres away and has a lively nightlife. Staff at the 24-hour reception can offer tourist information, and luggage storage is available. A free transfer to the hotel from Madrid’s Barajas Airport is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlantico Madrid Centro
Atlantico Hotel
Hotel Atlantico Gran Via Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing