We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, beautiful hotel”
Review of Hotel Atlantico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Atlantico
Ranked #21 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Atlantico during the first leg of our honeymoon trip. We booked the hotel based on reviews from Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed at all, the only reason I didn't give them a full 5 stars is due to the noise that we experienced from the hotel staff cleaning each morning in the room next to us. We wanted to sleep in past 8 on our stay and the moving of the beds and furniture next door made it hard to do. Also, on one occasion we were relaxing in our room in the afternoon and a maid just opened the door and walked into our room, with the do not disturb sign on the door. Interesting, and reassured our decision to use the safe. Other than that we have no complaints. The room was very clean and gorgeous, the service at the front desk was very helpful, as well as the gentlemen in the bar on the 9th floor. Breakfast is available for around 10 euro a person and is average, but offers anything you could want for a quick breakfast, eggs, bacon, toast, fruit, juice, yoghurt, etc. We were very happy with the location of the hotel, just a few blocks walk to anything you need. If we ever travel to Madrid again, we will definitely stay at Hotel Atlantico.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foodieil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear foodieil.

First of all thank you to choose the Hotel Atlantico for your honeymoon, is really an honour for us.
Congratulations for the beautiful pictures and thank you for putting on line on TripAdvisor.
We are very pleased to read you enjoyed your room, cleaning, services, bar, breakfast and location and we thank you also for having shared your satisfaction with us and other travelers.
On the other hand I am really very sorry for the incidents occurred during your stay. I have already informed to the Housekeeper about your complaint in order to solve this matter and that such incidents do not occur anymore in the future.

I hope you can give us another chance and we can accommodate you again on your next visit to Madrid. Thanks again for your patience.

Best regards,
Eva Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,515 - 1,521 of 3,475 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

My husband and I spent eight days in this well run hotel along the Grand Via in the heart of Madrid in July, 2012. We enjoyed the comforts of the room 801 which was very quiet, with a separate entrance, all expected comforts like bathrobes, slippers, safe, minibar, iron and board, Internet is available on 9th floor, 24 hours a day. Room had a super clean, new feeling with a sparkling bathroom and facilities. Hotel is very well located. Directly outside is a metro connection, and ten bus stops run by the entrance. Staff helped book a day tour to Segovia and in general were courteous and helpful. No breakfast. Major supermarket is about 100 meters in lower level of Cortes Ingelies department store. Would definitely return and highly recommend.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TelAvivAdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear Guest from Tel Aviv.
Thank You for choosing Hotel Atlántico and for sharing with other travellers your kind opinion about our facilities, services and location. To convey a genuine feeling of being in a home from home is exactly what we strive for so I'm delighted that you felt we delivered on this for you. Thank you also for your high score included in the survey.
It is very rewarding for us to know that you and your wife have good memories of the eight days you spent in Madrid.
It will be a pleasure to host you again in future.
With best regards
Eva García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This hotel was in a beautiful building, right on the Gran Via. Our room had a balcony with a great view, and even though we were only on the third floor above a busy street, the sound insulation was excellent and the room was very quiet. One complaint I have is that they didn't ask us if we wanted a smoking or non-smoking room, and we had to deal with the smell of cigarette. We didn't ask for a room change because we didn't want to move all our stuff, but they should have asked first, and if there was none available, at least informed us of that fact. Also, I didn't like the decor inside the room.

Room Tip: Explicitly ask for non-smoking at check in if that's what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ivan06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear Guest from Los Angeles.

Thank you for your nice words with reference your stay at our hotel Hotel Atlántico and thank you for your useful remarks.

Your referrals are very important to us to encourage our staff and ourselves. We deeply apologize because the smoke odors in your room. I´m checking this problem with my staff in order to solve this matter.

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.


Best regards.
Eva Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My partner and I stayed at The Atlantico to celebrate her 50th Birthday and would like to say what a memorable experience it was.
The first thing you notice is the stunning building itself, we walked miles around the city and never found another hotel that came close.
The interior does not disappoint either, the rooms are of a good size with lovely bathrooms with his and hers basins, slippers and bathrobes.
Would recommend the breakfast too, as much as you can eat for 9 euros including ice cold cava and a great view of Gran Via.
We will definitely be going back to Madrid as it is such a beautiful city with an unlimited number of quality restaurants and bars and when we do there is only one place we will stay and that is the hotel Atlantico.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a high floor with a balcony that overlooks Gran Via.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Dear Paul.

First of all Congratulations on the 50th birthday of your partner and thank you to choose the Hotel Atlántico to celebrate this special day. We are very happy that your stay was a positive experience and that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are very glad to hear such a nice words about the hotel, including the breakfast. It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our hotel again.

With kind regards
Eva García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We had room 808 right up in the corner with views along grand via. The staff were very pleasant and friendly the breakfast room was lovely with everything you could want. Such a great position for taxis, metro, hop on hop off bus and great shopping right outside the door. Our room was big,clean,spacious and well equipped. We would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room if poss
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeanieBunbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Hello Bunbury!

We are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with Hotel Atlántico. It is very glad to hear that your stay has been Excellent. Your compliments of our location, staff and room are very much appreciated as well our breakfast buffet and service is greatly pleasant.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Eva García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

My wife and I traveled to Madrid in mid May for three days prior to meeting some friends in Paris. My sister-in-law recommended Atlantico and we are so glad that she did! The location is excellent, right on the Gran Via and close to the Callao Metro station. That was a benefit as their shuttle van broke down the morning of our arrival and after waiting for an hour, we decided to take the Metro. The van would have been more convenient, but the Metro was much more fun!
The hotel staff was apologetic about the van so they upgraded our room! The room was fantastic! Nice size, fine furnishings and a great view of the Gran Via! The bathroom had green marble floors and walls and the shower was awesome with two shower heads! They even gave us a white ceramic bull as a souvenir.
The rooftop bar was also a nice amenity. We enoyed a cocktail or two each night before hitting the town. The next time I am in Madrid, I will be staying here! You can't go wrong!

Room Tip: The higher up the better as the Gran Via is a busy and noisy street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cappysbeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Hello Guest from Dallas, Texas.

I am glad that we meet the expectations of the recommendations of his sister-in-law. Give her the thanks for recommending us. Thank you for taking the time to write this nice revies and for sharing with other travellers your kind opinion about our facilities and services.
It will be a pleasure to host you again in future.
Again, thank you to you and your wife for choosing Hotel Atlántico
With best regards
Eva García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This hotel was clean, staff was attentive, and the location was excellent...close to shops, midway between Royal Palace and the Prado, walking distance to most sights. Room was large enough for one, although surely not luxe. Individual AC units in the rooms was a big plus in July. Breakfast buffet was tasty and diverse. Overall, I would surely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank femaletraveler230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Dear Madame from New York!

Let me start by thanking you for completing our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at Hotel Atlantico. Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again.

If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us.

Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!

Sincerely,
Eva Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#22 of 440 in Madrid
3,985 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 440 in Madrid
1,609 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#51 of 440 in Madrid
3,141 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 440 in Madrid
1,731 reviews
Paseo del Prado
NH Collection Madrid Suecia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantico

Address: Gran Via 38, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#7 Family Hotel in Madrid
#16 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#46 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £109 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Atlantico offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. The hotel has 2 terraces with panoramic views of the city. Rooms are soundproofed and feature a classic decor. Each one has flat-screen satellite TV, a safe, minibar, ironing facilities and a private bathroom. Atlantico Hotel has an elegant cafe-bar and a daily buffet breakfast. In the area you will find a wide range of shops and dining options. Chueca District is 500 metres away and has a lively nightlife. Staff at the 24-hour reception can offer tourist information, and luggage storage is available. A free transfer to the hotel from Madrid’s Barajas Airport is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantico Hotel
Hotel Atlantico Madrid Centro
Hotel Atlantico Gran Via Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing