We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”
Review of Hotel Atlantico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Atlantico
Ranked #21 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The rooms were quite surprise, large and clean. The bathroom was also large with all the amenities that you expect.
The hotel in on Grand Via, an easy walk to whenever we wanted to go and see the city and all the attractions.
The front desk staff patiently answered all questions.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank UVA1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear UVA1988.
Thank you for your patronage and recognition of our value. I and my staff appreciate your kind words and recommendation. We endeavour to offer a positive experience for all of our guests.

I hope we get to see you again in the near future. Thank you again.

At your service,
Eva Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,208
    914
    172
    44
    26
See reviews for
477
1,878
259
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston,Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed here for two nights on the last leg of our trip through Spain. When we checked in, we were given a choice of a larger room with a balcony on Gran Via on a low floor which might be noisy or a smaller quieter room on a higher floor. Of course we chose the the Gran Via room and loved it! And yes we did hear traffic, but it did not bother us. The room and bathroom were huge, and the room had all of the amenities that you expect in a 4 star hotel. Loved the terrace on the top floor with a very friendly bartender. Great place for drinks and relaxation after a long day sightseeing. The front desk staff were friendly and welcoming. They ordered a car for us to take us to the airport which was reasonably priced. We did not eat any meals at the hotel. I have no negative complaints. Other reviewers commented that their rooms were very small. They probably did not pay the same amount that I did. I highly recommend this property IF you book a deluxe/superior room for over 225 euros a night.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lonestartravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Hello lonestartravel from Houston!
Congratulations for all these beautiful pictures and thank you for putting on line on TripAdvisor.
We are very pleased to read you enjoyed your room, terrace, include the bartender, and the front desk staff. I have shared your kind words with them. We thank you also for having shared your satisfaction with us and other travelers.
We are looking forward to another chance to host you.
Kind regards from Madrid.
Eva Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Location is unbeatable. Right on gran via, 5 minute walk from Puerta del Sol, across the street from the country's main dept store, El Corte Ingles. Hotel has two elevators, both small, rooms are very clean and no noise at all towards the interior. my friends room was toward the street. Noise is not a factor for us so she wasn't bothered. Madrid is a great city and this hotel is perfect. Rooms were a bit small but I understand that's normal for europe. Staff was very nice and helpful about everything. Very hospitable country in general. BTW no ac until May I think.

Room Tip: I like people watching and big busy cities so I would ask for a Gran via view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emelyn1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Hello Miami, Florida.
Thank you for telling us about your recent stay at the Hotel Atlantico. I'm delighted that you enjoyed our location directly in Gran Via street, only to a few minutes from the main sights of the city. I am most pleased of all though that you enjoyed the service that our staff provide which is what we work hardest at. Thank you also for your comment about the isolation of the rooms. .

We very much look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Atlántico.

Warmest Regards,
Eva García
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest Ranches, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This hotel is not your typical european hotel the rooms are very spacious, and most have balconies with great city view .room 818 was really nice .large bed although a little hard,big bathroom with large soaking tub. The staff was very courteous and breakfast was very good .Its location is as centralized as you can get walking distance to all major attractions.the rates are very fair for this kind of service and location .definetly will recommend.

Room Tip: rooms facing Gran Via are all good and high floor is reccomended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ape22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Good morning ape22 from Florida.
Thanks for taking time to post your review of our hotel.We do appreciate all the great comment about our service and comfort. I am happy that you enjoyed our central location with all its wonderful attractions. Thank you also for your comments about the staff, room and breakfast. I appreciate the time you have taken to write your review and I do hope you had a great stay with us.

Thank you again and hopefully we shall be able to welcome your return.

Yours sincerely
Eva Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My friend and I stayed just a night at Hotel Atlantico. It is conveniently located and classic. The hotel is small and quaint, but you could feel the history of it.
We took a bus to the city center from Madrid airport. The driver directed us where we should get off. We walked 10 minutes to the hotel from the bus stop and it was easy. The staff upgraded us to the room on the top floor. The room is roomy and the bathroom has a marble floor. Bathrobes were also provided. I enjoyed their shower from two different directions. The breakfast was not included so we went to the coffee shop, just a minute down the road. But if you eat breakfast at the hotel, it is 9 Euro.
Prado Museum is a must visit and it is 20 minutes away on foot from the hotel. Consider the free admission to the museum starting from 6 PM.
Right outside of the hotel, you find shops like Mango, H&M, Zara, and etc. Several blocks down, along the streets of Fuencarral and Monteral at the opposites side there are many shops and restaurants.
We didn’t have an opportunity to take the Metro, but the nearest station is Branco the Espana, which is 10 minutes away on foot. The station is on Gran Via Street.
The Hotel Atlantico gives you a good feeling of Madrid and is an excellent starting point to explore the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keiko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear kkosig.

Thank you for your review it is appreciated.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the location to be easy access to explore the city. We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hotel Atlántico.

Faithfully yours,

Eva García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY/London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my mother for a long weekend a few weeks back. We had a lovely room on the 8th floor, it was large and very spacious with everything we needed. We enjoyed a partial view of the city which was enough for us as we didn’t spend lots of time in the room.
The room included everything we required, for example an iron, 2 hairdryers, toiletries, bathrobes, slippers, safe and mini bar. The bathroom was large, double basins, the shower was great with 2 heads and everything was very clean. You can hear noises from the plumbing in the morning but it is not so loud that you wake up.. I guess this is because the hotel is old. Having said this, it doesn’t feel terribly dated and unless you go for a totally modern hotel, this is inline with other good hotels in European cities.

The location is a huge plus as you are situtated in the center of things and can walk to the historical sites as well as the museums – we did both. There are lots of buses along the Grand Via and also a metro station very close by however we walked everywhere so I cannot comment on either.

There are lots of shops and resturants close by and the staff were very helpful in recommending resturants for dinner. There is a supermakret within 5 mins which is very helpful. We had breakfast in the hotel and found it was good value for the price. There are lots of options and food was replinished.

The 9th floor is a nice common area with a business center. Lots of space indoors and a lovely terrance where you can sit and relax and take in the view.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear nha1.
Thank You for taking the time to write this detailed review about your stay at Hotel Atlántico and for your recommendation.
We are very glad to hear such a nice words about our location, spacious double room and bathroom and lounges in the 9th floor. We however regret that you were not entirely satisfied with the noise of the plumbing. We take this opportunity to inform you that the hotel is fully renovated even it was build at the begining of 1900. All the installations are updated.
It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our hotel again.
With kind regards
Eva García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
236 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed here because we had a hard time finding B&B's in Madrid for some reason. The Hotel is clean, quiet and very comfortable and in a very good location. The service was very good, each day our room was cleaned completely. We stayed on a high floor but on occasion could hear the occasional street demonstrations going on due to government cutbacks. It's a City, it's to be expected, they are windows not walls! The room was very big and all the comforts you could ask for. Breakfast was buffet style with eggs, meat , fruit, coffee, juice, etc. It is on Gran Via which is close to most museums and a short walk to the old city. The area of the City that is further North of the Hotel seemed residental and is not as nice a walk as the area South of the Hotel. Transportation via subway or taxi is right outside your door. Take the Hotel bus to or from the airport as it's inexpensive and direct. Very well worth it, we would stay here again, absolutely!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wocaplel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Guest from New York.
Thank you for the beautiful review and thank you for putting on line on TripAdvisor.
We are very pleased to read you enjoyed our breakfast, room (included the soundproof), the cleaning, services and location and we thank you also for having shared your satisfaction with us and other travelers.
We are looking forward to another chance to host you.
Warmest regards,
Eva Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 436 in Madrid
3,719 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 436 in Madrid
1,453 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 436 in Madrid
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantico

Property: Hotel Atlantico
Address: Gran Via 38, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#7 Family Hotel in Madrid
#17 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#46 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Atlantico offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. The hotel has 2 terraces with panoramic views of the city. Rooms are soundproofed and feature a classic decor. Each one has flat-screen satellite TV, a safe, minibar, ironing facilities and a private bathroom. Atlantico Hotel has an elegant cafe-bar and a daily buffet breakfast. In the area you will find a wide range of shops and dining options. Chueca District is 500 metres away and has a lively nightlife. Staff at the 24-hour reception can offer tourist information, and luggage storage is available. A free transfer to the hotel from Madrid’s Barajas Airport is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlantico Gran Via Madrid
Atlantico Hotel
Hotel Atlantico Madrid Centro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing