We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Optimum location, professional front desk, and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Atlantico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Atlantico
Ranked #21 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Optimum location, professional front desk, and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

This hotel is located in a very central place in Madrid. You can walk most of the important attractions from the hotel. It is also in the shopping district so you can find all the major brands in the area if that interests you. You can also take the Madrid tour bus that stops on the street where the hotel is located. Most taxi drivers know the hotel so describing its location will not be necessary if you happen to take a cab. The rooms are small but very well maintained. The furniture look new and clean. This hotel also has a lounge area on the roof, which is good for taking some photos since it has a nice view of the city. The reception staff were very professional and checking in and out was smooth. They speak good English and they are good at providing help with the daily excursions.

Room Tip: Our room didn't have any windows looking outside so we didn't have any sunlight. If you plan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoPapaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Hello MarcoPapaya!
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. I am delighted to note that you enjoyed the hotel location and the room, very important for us.
Most of all though I am especially pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff I always feel is the most important and lasting memory of a hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards, Eva García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,170
    899
    170
    41
    26
See reviews for
470
1,849
249
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
162 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We add to the sentiment of a recent reviewer - this was by far the best accommodation we stayed in during a five-cities-two-week Mediterranean trip, and at a more than reasonable price. The room left nothing to be desired - even the mini bar prices were modest - and my wife's request for an iron and ironing board was very speedily addressed. Breakfast (extra) offerred a wide choice in a lovely venue, and for the time between check out and our departure, we felt very comfortable using the facilities on the ninth floor, which were offerred to us.
The location of the hotel is great, in a lively part of the city, with Metro stations very close, and the hop-on-hop-off bus stop even closer. A number of lovely Spanish restaurants are within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodside8437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Hello Ciudad del Cabo!
Thank You for choosing Hotel Atlántico and for sharing with other travellers your kind opinion about our hotel.
It is very rewarding for us to know that we are the best accomodation you stayed during your trip.
It will be a pleasure to host you again in future.
With best regards
Eva García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa,Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

There is not enough words to describe our experience. Beautiful room, which some guests describe as out dated in some of their remarks, on the contrary, our room was big in comparison to other hotels we've had stay in Europe (Paris, Barcelona, Cadiz...etc). The hotel staff made you feel welcomed. Kudos go to Javier, Vernadette, Carmelo, Frutos (front desk). Daniel, roof top terrace was very attentive and cordial. Carmen was very charming, and even thou she got very sick one night, returned next morning for her breakfast shift with a smile on her face.

El Atlantico is close to Callao and Gran Via metro, which it was perfect for me, due to knee and back problems, other wise if you do not have health issues you can walk to all the main attractions. My regards to Eva Garcia for answering our questions promptly prior to our arrival.

Hasta Pronto;
Los Garcia

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryannTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear MaryannTampa.

Thank you for your review of The Hotel Atlantico. Is me who has no words to thank you for your comments.

I am delighted to read that he entire staff took such good care of you during her stay. They were delighted to read your comment as they do really go out of their way to make sure all our guests have a wonderful time. I am happy that you enjoyed our central location with all its wonderful attractions and Museums.

I sincerely hope we will be able to welcome you back to Hotel Atlantico again soon.

Kindest regards,
Eva Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoddesdon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

I stayed here in March for my anniversary and it was amazing. The rooms were quite surprise, large and very clean. The bathroom was also large with all the amenities that you expect. The hotel in on Grand Via central Madrid was an easy walk to whenever you wanted to go and see in the city and all the attractions. The front desk staff patiently answered all questions. I also emailed the hotel before I left and asked for champagne to be put in the room for when I arrived and this was done with ease. The roof bar is lovely albeit looking over a very busy Madrid the views are amazing.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarylNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear DarylNikki.
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback following your recent stay with us in March and congratulations for your anniversary.
I am always most reassured to read that it's our personal and friendly service that is most appreciated so thank you for mentioning this. I'm delighted that you enjoyed our location.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back again very soon we hope to the Hotel Atlantico.
Kind regards,
Eva Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

The rooms were quite surprise, large and clean. The bathroom was also large with all the amenities that you expect.
The hotel in on Grand Via, an easy walk to whenever we wanted to go and see the city and all the attractions.
The front desk staff patiently answered all questions.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank UVA1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear UVA1988.
Thank you for your patronage and recognition of our value. I and my staff appreciate your kind words and recommendation. We endeavour to offer a positive experience for all of our guests.

I hope we get to see you again in the near future. Thank you again.

At your service,
Eva Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston,Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed here for two nights on the last leg of our trip through Spain. When we checked in, we were given a choice of a larger room with a balcony on Gran Via on a low floor which might be noisy or a smaller quieter room on a higher floor. Of course we chose the the Gran Via room and loved it! And yes we did hear traffic, but it did not bother us. The room and bathroom were huge, and the room had all of the amenities that you expect in a 4 star hotel. Loved the terrace on the top floor with a very friendly bartender. Great place for drinks and relaxation after a long day sightseeing. The front desk staff were friendly and welcoming. They ordered a car for us to take us to the airport which was reasonably priced. We did not eat any meals at the hotel. I have no negative complaints. Other reviewers commented that their rooms were very small. They probably did not pay the same amount that I did. I highly recommend this property IF you book a deluxe/superior room for over 225 euros a night.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lonestartravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Hello lonestartravel from Houston!
Congratulations for all these beautiful pictures and thank you for putting on line on TripAdvisor.
We are very pleased to read you enjoyed your room, terrace, include the bartender, and the front desk staff. I have shared your kind words with them. We thank you also for having shared your satisfaction with us and other travelers.
We are looking forward to another chance to host you.
Kind regards from Madrid.
Eva Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Location is unbeatable. Right on gran via, 5 minute walk from Puerta del Sol, across the street from the country's main dept store, El Corte Ingles. Hotel has two elevators, both small, rooms are very clean and no noise at all towards the interior. my friends room was toward the street. Noise is not a factor for us so she wasn't bothered. Madrid is a great city and this hotel is perfect. Rooms were a bit small but I understand that's normal for europe. Staff was very nice and helpful about everything. Very hospitable country in general. BTW no ac until May I think.

Room Tip: I like people watching and big busy cities so I would ask for a Gran via view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emelyn1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Hello Miami, Florida.
Thank you for telling us about your recent stay at the Hotel Atlantico. I'm delighted that you enjoyed our location directly in Gran Via street, only to a few minutes from the main sights of the city. I am most pleased of all though that you enjoyed the service that our staff provide which is what we work hardest at. Thank you also for your comment about the isolation of the rooms. .

We very much look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Atlántico.

Warmest Regards,
Eva García
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,608 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 445 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 445 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#4 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantico

Property: Hotel Atlantico
Address: Gran Via 38, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#7 Family Hotel in Madrid
#17 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#46 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Atlantico offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. The hotel has 2 terraces with panoramic views of the city. Rooms are soundproofed and feature a classic decor. Each one has flat-screen satellite TV, a safe, minibar, ironing facilities and a private bathroom. Atlantico Hotel has an elegant cafe-bar and a daily buffet breakfast. In the area you will find a wide range of shops and dining options. Chueca District is 500 metres away and has a lively nightlife. Staff at the 24-hour reception can offer tourist information, and luggage storage is available. A free transfer to the hotel from Madrid’s Barajas Airport is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlantico Madrid Centro
Atlantico Hotel
Hotel Atlantico Gran Via Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing