We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”
Review of Hotel Atlantico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Atlantico
Ranked #22 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2012 via mobile

I stayed in the Hotel Atlantico for two nights prior to a trip to northern Spain. As this was a budget trip the Atlantico was at the top of my small budget but I'm glad I decided against the more basic hotels/hostals. The location is perfect. Just outside Callao. It's all marble cool as you enter the lobby with a modern feel to a beautiful building.
I was in a room on the fourth floor which faced the back. The room decoration is pretty and stylish. White with pale blue designs like Wedgwood. Air conditioning worked perfectly. Robe and slippers were a nice touch as was the pottery bull gift.

As I was at the back of the hotel my room was very quiet. And dark. Perfect for a lie in after a tiring journey. Bathroom was clean and seemed almost new. Strong shower and good range of complimentary toilettries.

On the downside there was only a tiny side window in the room so if you like a view you may want to ask for one. It didn't bother me as I don't spend much time there. The bed was also a little small but I had booked a single room so the doubles are probably bigger. The receptionist was also a little frosty - not very welcoming but efficient. There is a bar on the top floor with views but I didn't get chance to use it.

If you are on a budget I would try and find the extra for the luxury you get here for a reasonable price. If you aren't on a budget then don't bother looking at pricier hotels! Wished I was staying back here on returning to Madrid.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shoelover009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Dear Guest from Leeds in UK.

Thank you very much for your great feedback and for the two nights spent at Hotel Atlantico, it really means a lot for me and is much appreciated.

Thank you also for your comments about the receptionis. It is very important for us that all our guest are welcoming. Please note I am checking this problem with my staff in order to solve this matter.

We are more than pleased to hear that you enjoyed stay and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Atlántico.

Warmest regards,
Eva Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,480 - 1,486 of 3,447 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

For 4 star hotel in a European capital, Hotel Atlantico offers great value with good quality accommodation. I was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel. Our room was quite big compared with other similarly priced hotels I have stayed in other cities, with a large, clean bathroom, plenty of towels and bathrobes. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is well located and it is easy to walk to all major sites. Gran Via is a large lively main road with lots of shops. The rooftop terrace is a nice place to spend some time - although the opening hours of the bar are rather limited - so take your own drinks up there if the bar is closed!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wellwhynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Hello Guest from London.

Your compliments of the Hotel Atlántico are greatly appreciated. We work diligently to offer the best service and a great stay for each guest. It is nice to know when this succeeded. We are very glad to read your comments about the hotel quality. My staff also appreciate your kind words.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to write a wonderful review. We look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Eva García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed in Hotel Atlántico in August 2012 and stayed there for three nights. The rooms were clean and comfortable. They were a bit small compared to Australian hotel standards. The rooms have been recently renovated and looking fresh. The room was offered as a room with a ‘view’, which actually was a room with small window overlooking Gran Via. The hotel is conveniently located in Gran Via, which is one of the main thoroughfares. The hotel is close to a Metro (50 meters) and Bus Stop (20 Meters). There is a ‘hop on / off’ bus stop right in front. We used this service to go around Madrid. There were many small to medium restaurants within walking distance, which was very convenient. Internet via Wi-Fi was “free” and bandwidth was good. The intercity train terminus is a 10 Euro taxi ride away. We found taxi service reliable and honest. Breakfast was offered for 9 Euro; good value for money. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JPMENON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Dear Reviewer from Melbourne.

Thank you for your in-depth review of The Hotel Atlantico.

Reading such a wonderful report of our comfortm location and cleaning is a real pleasure. I am happy that you made use of the free Wi-Fi this is a great benefit and appreciated by many of our guests. Our team strive to deliver the highest levels of personal service and everyone in the team, including the management, like to engage with our guests at every opportunity.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming your return.

Yours sincerely,
Eva Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location, on Grand Via and very close to Callao metro station. We stayed for four nights. Its a very impressive building and our room was very nice as one would expect from a four star hotel. Very comfortable bed, very clean room and the bathroom was huge! The breakfast was very good with a wide range of options, reasonably priced and the service was efficient. They also have a bus service from the hotel to the airport at a reasonable price. My only reservation is that although we had asked for a quiet room away from street noise, which we got, we were awakened early by creaking doors from another room, possibly staff coming in for work in the morning. it is still a great hotel though.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eoinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear eoinh.
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback following your recent stay with us. Whilst I'm pleased to note that we fully met your expectations in terms of service and product consistency I am very sorry to read of the difficulties you experienced with the noise of the door for another rooms. Although I have already reported the matter to the housekeeper and cosciente of the importance of rest of the customer, be aware that other customers may also be the opening and closing of the doors, so that this problem does not happen again.
We would like to thank you again for bringing this matter to our attention and we do hope you will allow us the opportunity to be of service to you again on some future occasion.

Faithfully yours,
Eva Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This hotel offers an ideal location for any visit to Madrid with prices that are hard to beat. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the hotel itself is beautiful. The rooms are a very good size by European standards, and the breakfast buffet had many options to chose from. The only word of advice would be to request a room away from Gran Via if bothered by street noise. I would absolutely stay here again and recommend it to all of my friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Dear Jen K from Washington.
Thank you very much for your lovely comment. We are very pleased to read that your stay was comfortable and that you have enjoyed everything about our hotel included the central location which we know how important is to make easier visiting the city.I have shared your comments to the entire staff. It means so much to our team to hear a review like yours.
We really hope there'll be another chance to have you all here soon.
Warmest regards,
Eva Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This hotel is located in a very central place in Madrid. You can walk most of the important attractions from the hotel. It is also in the shopping district so you can find all the major brands in the area if that interests you. You can also take the Madrid tour bus that stops on the street where the hotel is located. Most taxi drivers know the hotel so describing its location will not be necessary if you happen to take a cab. The rooms are small but very well maintained. The furniture look new and clean. This hotel also has a lounge area on the roof, which is good for taking some photos since it has a nice view of the city. The reception staff were very professional and checking in and out was smooth. They speak good English and they are good at providing help with the daily excursions.

Room Tip: Our room didn't have any windows looking outside so we didn't have any sunlight. If you plan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcoPapaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Hello MarcoPapaya!
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. I am delighted to note that you enjoyed the hotel location and the room, very important for us.
Most of all though I am especially pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff I always feel is the most important and lasting memory of a hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards, Eva García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We add to the sentiment of a recent reviewer - this was by far the best accommodation we stayed in during a five-cities-two-week Mediterranean trip, and at a more than reasonable price. The room left nothing to be desired - even the mini bar prices were modest - and my wife's request for an iron and ironing board was very speedily addressed. Breakfast (extra) offerred a wide choice in a lovely venue, and for the time between check out and our departure, we felt very comfortable using the facilities on the ninth floor, which were offerred to us.
The location of the hotel is great, in a lively part of the city, with Metro stations very close, and the hop-on-hop-off bus stop even closer. A number of lovely Spanish restaurants are within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woodside8437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Hello Ciudad del Cabo!
Thank You for choosing Hotel Atlántico and for sharing with other travellers your kind opinion about our hotel.
It is very rewarding for us to know that we are the best accomodation you stayed during your trip.
It will be a pleasure to host you again in future.
With best regards
Eva García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#21 of 437 in Madrid
3,930 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#9 of 437 in Madrid
1,559 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 437 in Madrid
1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#18 of 437 in Madrid
625 reviews
Centro
IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantico

Address: Gran Via 38, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#7 Family Hotel in Madrid
#17 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#46 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £105 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Atlantico offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. The hotel has 2 terraces with panoramic views of the city. Rooms are soundproofed and feature a classic decor. Each one has flat-screen satellite TV, a safe, minibar, ironing facilities and a private bathroom. Atlantico Hotel has an elegant cafe-bar and a daily buffet breakfast. In the area you will find a wide range of shops and dining options. Chueca District is 500 metres away and has a lively nightlife. Staff at the 24-hour reception can offer tourist information, and luggage storage is available. A free transfer to the hotel from Madrid’s Barajas Airport is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantico Hotel
Hotel Atlantico Madrid Centro
Hotel Atlantico Gran Via Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing