We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Atlantico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Atlantico
Ranked #20 of 443 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Just back from madrid after staying in the Atlantico hotel .. I love it . The hotel is location in a great place .. walking distance from everywhere in the city . The staff are very friendly and helpful ...the bar on the top floor was so relaxing and stress free
.Enjoy our weekend so much and diffenly will be back soon

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Hello Karen B.

Thanks a lot for your review. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your weekend in the Hotel Atlántico.

Thank you also for your mention about the hotel staff. I have shard your comments with them. I am also delight to read that you also enjoyed our location, walking distance from everywhere.

Thank you again and hopefully we shall be able to welcome your return.

Yours sincerely,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,031 - 1,037 of 3,507 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

This is an early 20th century neo-traditional building right on Gran Via between the Calleo and Gran Via metro stations. It is near shops, large department stores and movie theatres, restaurants and bars, and is a short walk to the Plaza de la Puerta del Sol. We had booked a large Superior Room online which turned out to be a large, comfortable corner room with very high ceilings and tall windows on two sides that opened onto small balconies. Though priced higher than we prefer to pay, we felt we chose well. The hotel is right on Gran Via but the room was very quiet when roll-down shutters and windows were closed. The room had both adjustable heat and air conditioning. Though my husband found the bed a bit too firm, it was comfortable enough for me. The room also had a desk, two chairs and a small round table. The here was good storage, a safe large enough for laptops, free wifi that worked very well, and good lighting. The bathroom was comprised of 2 rooms. The first had 2 sinks in a long counter and a large tub with 2 types of showers (stationary and handheld). You get to the separate W.C. through this room; the W.C. has it's own door. An ample breakfast is served until 11 a.m. in a spacious though not large room with a very attentive and industrious sala de desayuno staff. A nice feature was the provision of two café machines and two toasters which helped during busier times. There is also an espresso bar, and the staff provided teapots of hot water. Eggs are prepared several ways, and there are the usual meats, rolls, cereals, juices, etc. We found all the staff but one to be very helpful and amiable. The day we checked out, however, a young woman we had not seen before was at the front desk. We stopped to ask about a taxi to the train station and she advised us to go across Gran Via and hail one ourselves. We were not happy about the prospect of crossing busy Gran Via with luggage, especially since the streets were a mess when we were there due to a city-wide garbage strike. But when we got back to the front desk with our luggage one of the older male employees had returned and he immediately went out front and hailed a cab for us. Needless to say, we tipped him as this is the service we expected from a hotel of this class and cost. Some guide books caution people to be careful of areas near here. I found the area generally safe because there were always lots of people on the streets. But be advised that the neighborhood can change quickly and take the usual big city precautions.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are probably larger. Noise was not a problem in ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capellirossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 February 2014

Dear capellirossi.

Thank you for your in-depth review of The Hotel Atlantico. We are very pleased to read that your room was comfortable and that you have enjoyed the hotel included the breakfast and the central location which we know how important is to make easier visiting the city. I am also happy to hear that the problem with the taxi was solved by the porter.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Hotel Atlantico.

Kind regards,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Recently stayed at Atlantico again and I am pleased that this hotel retains its high standards. Hotel is in a very good location, very central with metro stops nearby. All staff were very helpful and pleasant and the rooms well equipped and very clean. Any problems were quickly sorted ( travel companions had two issues with bathroom ) . I prefer the rooms on the front for views of Gran Via but they are probably noisier than those on the back of the hotel. The lounge on the 9th floor is a perfect oasis of calm after sightseeing or shopping and the complimentary coffee is a nice touch. Will definitely use this hotel again when in Madrid.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vintagelincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 February 2014

Dear vintagelincs,

we'd like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and for spending some of your time in writing your nice comment. We are glad your stay with us was comfortable and that you have been satisfied about our location and lounge area.

We hope there'll be another chance to host you and we hope we can satisfy yout with a room facing the Gran Via.

Warmest regards.
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

While this is owned by an international chain hotel corp., you would not know it by the appearance or quality of the hotel. (I mean that in a good way.) The building is a classic brought up to modern standards. It is an older building so the room sizes and configurations will vary quite a bit. We looked at a couple of rooms before settling on one. The first would have been quite, but it essentially looked into an air shaft. The second room offered was in front on Grand Via but we were high up and the insulation is good so there was not too much noise, despite the fact that there was a lot going on that weekend. The fellow at the front door (I cannot remember his name, but he is from the Philipines, I believe) was extraordinarily nice and helpful. One he front desk staff was less so on both accounts (he acted "French," if you know what I mean; professional enough but aloof and not friendly or willing to smile, which is really not the experience I have had in France!). Everyone else on the staff was great. I will definitely go back.

Room Tip: I recommend something on an upper floor in the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aquila13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 February 2014

Dear Aquila 13.

First of all the Hotel Atlantico is an independent hotel and does not belongs to any international hotel chain nor national. We are glad to read your nice comments and also the comments not so good but that help us to improve our service for other guests in the future. It is glad to know you liked our location, rates and cleaning.

Thank you again and we do look forward to having you stay once again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The hotel was in a very good location. the staff attentive and always had a smile. The room was kept exceptionally clean and this was very noticeable throughout our stay. I would definitely stay there again if I returned to Madrid. Pity BA left our bags in London and we weren't re-united until a day after we arrived.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 February 2014

Dear Gary T.

Thank you for your nice review. I am happy to hear you were impressed by the hotel. I have shared your kind words with our staff. I am so happy you enjoyed your time with us. We hope you get to make it back to see us sometime soon.

Warmest regards,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Good hotel with rooms of a good size. Top floor bar is a great meeting point. Very helpful staff. Location is central and we walked everywhere, and with the underground a hundred metres or so away even going further afield is easy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NightOwl1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear NightOwli1968.

Thank you for posting your review here and for your business.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the location to be easy access to all areas of Madrid. Thank you also for your mention about the hotel staff, room size and top floor bar.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey and hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This was our third time staying at the hotel with my family. Since the moment you step into the lobby you are greeted by very helpful and lovely people at the reception desk. The hotel is clean, classy and the rooms are spacious with wonderful bathroom, tv wi fi. Breakfast buffet is delicious and at the 9th. Floor there is a lovely bar and terrace, a great addition to the hotel.
Its located in the center of Madrid with walking distance to puerta del sol, plaza mayor, el corte inglés and next to the hotel beautiful shops and also walking distance to fuencarral a trendy street.
I really recommend the hotel and we feel so lucky to have found this hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious but higher floors have a nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Andrea D.

Thank you so much for your kind review and for chosing the Hotel Atlantico everytime staying in Madrid. We are very glad that you and your family have had a pleasant stay at Hotel Atlantico and that you were especially pleased with the friendliness of our staff and our the central location which we know how important is to make easier visiting the city. It is always gratifying to receive a positive feedback.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Hotel Atlantico for your fourth stay .

Kind regards,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#26 of 443 in Madrid
4,037 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#9 of 443 in Madrid
1,662 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#52 of 443 in Madrid
3,230 reviews
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantico

Address: Gran Via 38, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Madrid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#16 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#46 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £113 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Atlantico offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. The hotel has 2 terraces with panoramic views of the city. Rooms are soundproofed and feature a classic decor. Each one has flat-screen satellite TV, a safe, minibar, ironing facilities and a private bathroom. Atlantico Hotel has an elegant cafe-bar and a daily buffet breakfast. In the area you will find a wide range of shops and dining options. Chueca District is 500 metres away and has a lively nightlife. Staff at the 24-hour reception can offer tourist information, and luggage storage is available. A free transfer to the hotel from Madrid’s Barajas Airport is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlantico Gran Via Madrid
Atlantico Hotel
Hotel Atlantico Madrid Centro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing