We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Great Location”
Review of Hotel Atlantico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Atlantico
Ranked #21 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed here for w second time and were even happier than on our first visit.
The hotel is centrally located, has a friendly at tentative staff and is spotlessly clean. Our room was front facing ( they gave us the same room as our first visit) with a small balcony and is very large . The bathroom floor was even heated. We haven't found this amenity in 5 star hotels.

One thing that should be changed on the Trip Advisor site is that breakfast is no longer included and the shuttle to the airport is not free.

We would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Front facing with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnC436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 March 2014

Hello JohnC436.

Thank you for chosing the Hotel Atlantico again for your second visit to Madrid. I am delighted to note that you enjoyed the room, cleaning, very important for us, as well as the amenities and location.

Regarding the information about the shuttle included in TripAdvisor it is right: shuttle is free from the airport to the hotel and costs 8€ per person from the hotel to the airport. Breakfast is not included and costs 10€ per person.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Eva García
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,006 - 1,012 of 3,494 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

Our second stay at this hotel from the 4th to 8th of Feb. Rate this hotel very high in all aspects for our needs. Checkin and out smooth , rooms very good with a high standard of cleanliness. Central position excellent, for shopping and surrounding attractions.. The lounges and bar on the nineth floor very good for winding down after a day out and about. Will hopefully return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186336JohnM254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 March 2014

Dear 186336JohnM254

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback following your recent stay with us in February and for chosing our hotel for your second stay in Madrid.

According to his comments this time everything was excellent during your stay, but instead did not give us full marks. We expect a third visit to meet your expectations a hundred percent. until then,

Yours faithfully.
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Smooth check-in process, superb staff, room was clean (comfortable bed), nice large bathroom & ample storage space for your belongings.

The bar is a nice place to relax your weary legs after a day exploring this city. The tea & coffee is complimentary, which is a nice touch. The view form the terrace is lovely & makes for a good photo opportunity.

The free Wi-Fi was of a good speed. For those of you who don't own or travel with hand held devices, laptops etc. There is two PCs in the business suite which you can use, again free of charge, to catch up on e-mails, surf or check-in for your flight & print your boarding pass.

Make sure to make use of the shuttle bus to/from the airport - it's much cheaper than a taxi.

The nearest metro station (Callao) is only 50 metres away from the hotel entrance.

There are lots of good places to eat all around the hotel (just as there is all over Madrid), ranging from cafes, tabernas up to plush restaurants.

Most of the sites are within easy walking distance, but the metro is easy to navigate around as well as being clean & safe.

I will definitely stay at this hotel on my next visit to Madrid.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the main road if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madmart597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 February 2014

Dear madmart597.

Thank you for your in-depth review of The Hotel Atlantico.

Reading such a wonderful report of our service and facilities is a real pleasure. I am happy that you made use of the free Wi-Fi and the business center, this is a great benefit and appreciated by many of our guests. . I'm delighted that you enjoyed our location directly in Gran Via street, only to a few minutes from the main sights of the city.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Eva García
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights and would recommend, it's nice to occasionally stay in hotels that aren't branded where you know what you are getting whichever country you are in.
The hotel is on a main busy street, we had an Expedia upgrade so were not facing the road and the room wasn't adjoined to any others so very quiet.
The reception/bar staff are helpful and friendly, The public area's were clean and tidy and we used the shuttle bus to get back to the airport, good value for 8 euro's.
The terrace was nice and would be nicer in the summer, we didn't do breakfast as there was plenty of options whilst out and about.
The hotel is perfectly situated for access to the sights, main shopping area and Metro stops.

Room Tip: 801 - Quiet, no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JAX1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 February 2014

Dear JAX1206.

Thank you so much for your feedback. I am delighted to note that you enjoyed your quiet room, the terrace, cleaning, shuttle bus and the location.
Most of all though I am especially pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff in the reception and bar, I always feel is the most important and lasting memory of a hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Eva García
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This hotel is centrally located on the Gran Via, one of the main streets of Madrid. The Gran Via is a little like Times Square in New York, at least in terms of noise and people. That noise can be heard in the rooms on the street side. It is probably the only negative thing to say about the hotel. It has a quiet dignity about it, that is reflected by its helpful staff. Never in the forefront, but always ready to help. The restaurant is only open for breakfast, but there are plenty of excellent restaurants in the neighborhood. We'll stay here again next time in Madrid.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank GerardNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear GerardNetherlands,

we would like to thank you very much for your wonderful comments but also for your useful remarks.
We are very happy and proud that you liked the hotel and particularly our service. I apologize for the exterior noise but although our windows try to block all exterior sounds with a modern and adjustable system of soundproof, sometimes it is very difficult do not have any exterior noise since the hotel is located in one a busy main road of Madrid, as you have already noted in your review.

The Hotel Atlántico values your business and considers you one of our most important customers. We look forward to hosting you again.

Best regards.
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

First of all - location !!
In the middle of the city, close to metro station, shopping areas, tourist attractions.
Service was very good.
Breakfast (10€) was very nice.
Rooms are mid size and have all comfort one needs.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EdnaBrodai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 February 2014

Dear Guest EdnaBrodai.

Thank you very much for your lovely comment. We are very pleased to read that your stay was comfortable and that you have enjoyed everything about our hotel (room, breakfast and service) included the central location which we know how important is to make easier visiting the city.

We really hope there'll be another chance to have you all here soon.

Warmest regards,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This hotel has a great location. The staff is polite and professional. The rooftop bar has a wonderful view and worth the trip up there. The rooms were nice and it was quiet in the hotel. There is a metro stop very close by and it was easy to get to by public transportation from the airport. My only complaint is we were overcharged (charged twice) on our one trip to have breakfast and unfortunately there was no way to dispute the charge. I would stay there again but not utilize the breakfast buffet to avoid the error. I would also recommend to family and friends.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank boarlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 February 2014

Dear boarlady.

Thank you for your review and for your nice comments about your stay.

On the other hand, I am really very sorry if we have charged breakfast twice by mistake. Please send and e-mail to the hotel e-mail address and to my attention and I will contact you immediatly in order to solve this matter.

Waiting for your e-mail and apologizing again by the mistake.

Kind regards,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#26 of 441 in Madrid
4,015 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#9 of 441 in Madrid
1,635 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 441 in Madrid
1,755 reviews
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#50 of 441 in Madrid
3,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantico

Address: Gran Via 38, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Madrid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#16 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#46 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £107 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Atlantico offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. The hotel has 2 terraces with panoramic views of the city. Rooms are soundproofed and feature a classic decor. Each one has flat-screen satellite TV, a safe, minibar, ironing facilities and a private bathroom. Atlantico Hotel has an elegant cafe-bar and a daily buffet breakfast. In the area you will find a wide range of shops and dining options. Chueca District is 500 metres away and has a lively nightlife. Staff at the 24-hour reception can offer tourist information, and luggage storage is available. A free transfer to the hotel from Madrid’s Barajas Airport is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantico Hotel
Hotel Atlantico Madrid Centro
Hotel Atlantico Gran Via Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing