We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Atlantico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Atlantico
Ranked #22 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Hotel Atlántico is an excellent hotel in the center of Madrid, just in the middle of the street Gran Via. The hotel room was nice and clean and has OK space. The beautiful bathroom was really a story of itself. The hotel is close to the important attractions in Madrid, and there is no need to use taxi or bus.
The overall service was good and the breakfast was excellent. The view from the terrace and not least from the tower was excellent.

Not much negative to say about this hotel. The last day, we did not get any new water or wine glasses in our room, though. Service at breakfast seemed a little bit better on Friday than Saturday. The wine served on the terrace was not top quality.

This trip was our first taste of Madrid. We definitely come back to this city with family and friends. This hotel will be among our first choices!

Room Tip: One of the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hagbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 April 2014

Dear Hagbart,

congratulations for the beautiful pictures and thank you for putting on line on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to read that your stay was comfortable and that you have enjoyed everything about our hotel (services, cleaning and room) included the central location which we know how important is to make easier visiting the city.

We however regret that you were not entirely satisfied with the service of the minibar since they did not get any new glasses in the minibar. I have already informed to the departmente involved about your complaint in order to solve this matter and that such incidents do not occur anymore in the future. I'm sorry the incident and I apologize for it.

I am very happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you can give us another chance and we can accommodate you again on your next visit to Madrid.

Warmest regards,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

961 - 967 of 3,446 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

We picked this hotel for a three-day city break based on Tripadvisor recommendations. I wouldn't describe this hotel as upscale as the high tripadvisor ranking might have you expect. It's a safe choice for a city hotel with an ordinary lobby, good location (bonus points: Real Madrid official store next door), good rooms, friendly folks, a cosy breakfast room (and good breakfast), a nice terrace lounge and overall good-for-value money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jpzip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear jpzip,

Thank you for your review. We regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we especially regret by your score that Hotel Atlantico did not correspond to your expectations, as per the comments of TripAdvisor.

Thank you once again for your feed back as it would help us to identify points that can be improved and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We hated to leave this place! We stayed here based on other Trip Advisor reviews - thanks everyone, we had a fantastic stay. The hotel is great - we stayed in the deluxe room in the brochure, actually, and it was amazing. It was immaculate and spacious and had every amenity - except for a coffee maker in the room. But there was a lounge on the top floor and so many places to go on the Gran Via that it did not really matter. The breakfast buffet was fabulous - everything you could possibly want - although they did not seem to replenish towards the end of the serving hours, so better to get there earlier. The location is ideal - a nice walk to the palace and other historic points of interest. Right between two Metro stops. So easy to get anywhere in Madrid that you might want to go to, as well as to the main train stations for the Renfe for the high speed trains for day trips. Toledo is a must-see - especially since this is the 400th birthday of El Greco. The Cathedral there is staggering. All the museums in Madrid were top notch - excellent curation and except for the line ups for the Guernica in the Reina Sophia, not nearly the madness of the crowds in Paris. We loved our trip to Madrid and would absolutely stay at the Atlantico again. Oh, yes, there is noise at night if you are facing the main drag but we didn't mind - it added to the atmosphere - and we even caught some of the demonstrations from the balcony, complete with singing crowds - for us, this only added to the memorability of this vacation. It was awesome!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 April 2014

Hello Susan B,

Your review was a pleasure to read thank you, it is always great to know that we have met all expectations. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us included our location in the heart of Madrid. Thank you also for your suggestion about the breakfast. You are right once the breakfast timetable is finished, the buffet is not replenished, but if you ask the waiters for a continental breakfas,t they will be willing to serving.

Thank you for you high score and for sharing with other travelers your nice comments.

Warmest regards,
Eva García
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Wonderful three night stay in Madrid. Free coffee in the mornings. A business office on the 9th floor so that you can print your boarding passes. Close to restaurants, shopping and many architectural gems.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1953James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 April 2014

Hello 1953James,

Thank you for posting your review here and your great comments. We are happy that you had a good experience with us and you prove this with a full marks in the survey!!!

Thanks again and I hope to see you soon.

Warmest Regards,
Eva García
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

A great hotel in the heart of the city. My wife and I stayed for 3 nights, on arrival I found all staff to be very helpful, room was very good with a massive ensuit, all things considered this hotel is spotless. Breakfast was 10 euro, basic but plentiful and worth the price. The Royal Palace is a 15 minute walk one way and the Prado Museum 15 minutes the other way, Plaza Mayor is also a 10 minute walk away. Got a taxis from airport which was a fixed price of 30 euro, took the hotel bus back to airport at a cost of 8 euro pp. Gran Via is a very busy street, we asked for a room away from the noise and got a side room and never heard a thing. If you are looking for a very good hotel in the centre of Madrid the Atlantico ticks all boxes.

Room Tip: Side rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 April 2014

Hello Colin477.

Thank you very much for your lovely comment and recommendations. We are very pleased to read that you and your wife had a comfortable stay with us and that you have enjoyed everything about our hotel included the central location which we know how important is to make easier visiting the city. Thank you also for your high score! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.


We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Hotel Atlantico.

Kind regards,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

A very welcoming Hotel in the heart of the city. Beautiful room and lovely decor throughout the Hotel.
Reception staff were very helpful and welcoming, other staff members were also attentive and looked after us at breakfast which was excellent. We also took advantage of the bar and lounge on the top floor with wonderful views from the terrace, once again well looked after by the barman who supplied us with snacks and any thing that you wished to drink.
Brilliant city location for seeing all that Madrid has to offer.

Room Tip: If you want a great view of Gran Via it can be noisy, so ask for an inward facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 March 2014

Dear Alanett.

Many thanks for your comments regarding the services and staff during your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and rest assured that your comments will be shared with the whole team here and read with pride.

We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hotel Atlántico.

Faithfully yours,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

If you are looking for a central location as a base to see the many interesting aspects of Madrid then this is a good choice, The hotel room was clean and comfortable. Staff and breakfast waiters are helpful and polite. Calleo Metro station is literally a 1 minute walk. The main sights, shopping and restaurant / bar areas are also within easy walking distance. We spent 7 nights there and would readily recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 8th floor which was above the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George23London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 March 2014

Dear George23London.

Thank you for your nice review and your stay with us. We appreciate your patronage. We are glad that we were able to make your visit comfortable and convenient. Thank you also for your mention about the hotel staff. I will share you comments with them.

We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#21 of 437 in Madrid
3,918 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#11 of 437 in Madrid
1,554 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 437 in Madrid
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#18 of 437 in Madrid
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantico

Address: Gran Via 38, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#7 Family Hotel in Madrid
#17 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#46 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £106 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Atlantico offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. The hotel has 2 terraces with panoramic views of the city. Rooms are soundproofed and feature a classic decor. Each one has flat-screen satellite TV, a safe, minibar, ironing facilities and a private bathroom. Atlantico Hotel has an elegant cafe-bar and a daily buffet breakfast. In the area you will find a wide range of shops and dining options. Chueca District is 500 metres away and has a lively nightlife. Staff at the 24-hour reception can offer tourist information, and luggage storage is available. A free transfer to the hotel from Madrid’s Barajas Airport is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantico Hotel
Hotel Atlantico Madrid Centro
Hotel Atlantico Gran Via Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing