We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic Hotel Experience and Brilliant Location!!”
Review of Hotel Atlantico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Atlantico
Ranked #21 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

What can I say? You know when you read reviews before you book a hotel and once you've booked, you hope it meets your expectations... This one absolutely EXCEEDED our expectations!! The hotel is around 20-30 mins from the airport in a cab (30 euro fixed price) and is situated in the middle of Madrid. We managed to see all of Madrid by foot and had no need to use the metro (there a millions everywhere). All your tourist spots are within 10-20 mins walking distance from the hotel. Plaza Mayor and De Sol are 10 mins away walking. Being a keen football fan, we had to take a cab to football stadium as this is a little bit out the way. Gran Via is the shopping street and is surrounded by shops like Zara, H&M, McDonalds, KFC and tapas restaurants - There's a Nike shop next door to the hotel...

Anyway.. Back to the hotel... Fantastic 9 floor hotel with a rooftop bar. Hotel staff were absolutely helpful and they give you a really good map of the city which I recommend you get as its soo simple to follow and see the sights.. The room was bigger than expected and clean! We stayed on the 8th floor and the room had everything needed for a 5 night stay.. His & her sinks, double shower with a big shower head (ended up having 2 showers a day.. lol) TV, mini bar, safe and a huge bed!! +++ FREE WIFI :-)

We would like to thank Hotel Atlantico for the wonderful stay and would definately stay with you again if we decide to return to Madrid again in the future.

Room Tip: Try getting a room on the 8th floor as they are meant to be nicer. Its the highest floor you can get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ketan561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 April 2014

Hello ketan561.

Your compliments of the Hotel Atlántico are greatly appreciated. We are really happy to hear that we exceeded your expectation!!! We work diligently to offer the best service and a great stay for each guest. It is nice to know when this succeeded. It is great to know that our location, hotel, facilities and services, as wifi, made fantastic your stay. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to write a wonderful review. We look forward to your return.


Kind regards,
Eva García
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

959 - 965 of 3,494 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

When in Madrid, my wife and I stay at Atlantico in the heart of the city. The staff is friendly, professional and ready to attend to your every need. The rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. The buffet style breakfast is a treat which offers continental to American style and endless coffee the way you want it. In the evening, the upstairs bar and lounge is open for a relaxing time to socialize and enjoy the view from the terrace of the active center of Madrid. We have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 April 2014

Dear Albert H.

Thank you very much for your lovely comment and thank you for the full marks!!!. We are very happy to read that your stay was pleasant and that you have enjoyed everything about our hotel included the central location which we know how important is to make easier visiting the city. I am always most reassured to read that it's our personal and friendly service that is most appreciated so thank you for mentioning this. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again very soon we hope to the Hotel Atlantico.

Kind regards,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I spent five nights during Semana Santa at the Hotel Atlantico in Madrid, and it was fabulous. I had read some reviews that mentioned noise, so I requested and was given a room on a higher floor that was not overlooking the street, and it was absolutely silent. Hard to imagine this in a hotel that is really in the center of everything, but it's true. The room had been recently renovated, and it was really lovely. Also immaculate. The wifi was quick and reliable. I totally recommend this hotel to anyone who values comfort and location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAtraveler297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 April 2014

Dear MAtraveler297.

Thank you very much for your kind words that are really the best compliments that a Hotel General Manager can ever receive. We are all very happy that you liked our hotel and enjoyed the five days of your stay during Semana Santa. We hope to see you again in a near future.

Warmest regards,
Eva GArcia
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We recently stayed in a deluxe room which was very clean and comfortable, with a massive bathroom. On the downside, the small window looked out towards the very small back yard of the hotel, but the upside was no noise. The housekeeping staff were excellent, with a turn down service that provided a little bit of luxury. The main reception staff were polite, but perhaps a little aloof, which is something I think they need to improve on as it they are effectively the 'face' of the hotel. That said, the staff in the upstairs lounge were a delight and really made you feel welcome. The hotel was centrally located, within easy walking distance of numerous bars, restaurants and shops. It felt safe walking about both during the day and also at night. The bus tour stop is very close to the hotel and there are numerous choices for breakfast, if you don't want to eat in the hotel. A big plus is the rooftop terrace and connecting lounge. A great place to unwind with a coffee or a drink after a hard day's sightseeing and great views of the Gran Via and beyond. We used the hotel's bus service from the hotel back to the airport which cost €8 each and got us there with minimum fuss. We will definitely stay here again when we are back in Madrid.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for a deluxe room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belfastgirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 April 2014

Dear belfastgirl007.

First of all thank you for this wonderful review. Thank you for your kind words and consideration. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time here. I will share your comments with the entire staff. They take great pride in their service efforts. It means so much to our team to hear a review like yours. It is our pleasure to have served you. We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards.
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel was clean, comfortable and in a really good location to access the centre of the city, as well as being very close to a metro station. We actually used the metro to get from the airport to the hotel, we had to change a few times but it was easy to follow and only cost us 5 euros each.

The hotel has a fairly small lobby area but our room was well appointed with a lovely adjoining marble bathroom. There is a great roof terrace with a bar with some lovely views over Madrid.The staff in reception were quiet and efficient, as well as being very helpful with advice.

We loved Madrid, the weather was gorgeous, there are plenty of interesting buildings and sights to look at, we visited three really good art galleries and went to the Royal Palace which is free to EU citizens after 6 o clock, well worth a visit. There are lots of good places to eat and drink in the city, although as in all main cities it is better to try and avoid the main squares which attract tourist prices.

The hotel is in an ideal location to access all of these places either on foot, by metro or by using one of the two routes, which incidentally are interchangeable, on one of the open top buses. We had a really good time and we would definitely recommend the Hotel Atlantico as somewhere to stay and enjoy Madrid. Great!

Room Tip: We were on the sixth floor, which seemed to be high enough to avoid most of the noise from the roads...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaRSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 April 2014

Dear LindaRSwansea.

Reading such a wonderful report of our service and facilities is a real pleasure.! I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the location to be easy access to all areas of Madrid. Your mention about the hotel staff is also greatly appreciated. Thank you again and we do look forward to having you stay once again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Eva Garcua
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We recently stayed at the Hotel Atlantico and after reading the many raving Trip Advisor reviews had high expectations some of which were met. The location of the hotel is central to many of Madrid's main attractions. The rooms were immaculate and the housekeeping staff did a fantastic job of maintaining the hotel. Thanks to the window shades we did not hear much of the traffic on Gran Via, but could hear people talking in adjacent rooms and were also awakened by what felt like the constant slamming of doors by other guests. I found the staff at the front desk to be average, indifferent to our questions and not very helpful at providing recommendations on nearby restaurants, events and attractions. The hotel would probably benefit from having a concierge who was familiar with these items and could provide appropriate recommendations.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DryHeat2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 April 2014

Dear DryHeat2010.

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to give us a feedback on your recent stay at Hotel Atlántico. We deeply apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay regarding the interior noise. But most of all I apologize because the concierge did not met your expectations to give a solution to this problem. I have already informed to all the Front Desk Staff, about your complaint in order to solve this matter and that such incidents do not occur anymore in the future. Thanks a lot to help us to improve our services for our guests.

I hope you can give us another chance and we can accommodate you again on your next visit to Madrid.

Best regards,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My boyfriend and I have recently returned from a lovely trip away to Madrid and Barcelona. Hotel Atlantico is lovely! We had a room facing the Gran Via (which some people have complained about I noticed) so I was expecting it to not be very good with regards to road noise. We personally LOVED our room location. Although it was on the road it did not wake us up in the night and the electric shutters shut out most of the noise anyway. The decor wasn't quite to our taste but I still thought it was pretty. The bed was super comfy and the bathroom was nice and spacious. The staff were all GREAT and really helpful. On our last night there we went to the rooftop terrace where there is a lovely bar with great views. The barman was also really great and deserves a compliment. On the last day our flight home wasn't until 8pm - we were able to leave our luggage in the hotel all day and they also offer a bus service to the airport for a few euros if you didn't fancy the metro (although the metro isn't too stressful, even with luggage!) Overall we had a lovely stay here and I really recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a good value hotel with great views and is in a brill location. Thanks for a lovely stay! :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 April 2014

Dear Hannah P.

Thank you very much for your great feedback, it really means a lot for our team and is much appreciated. We are more than pleased to hear that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Atlántico.

Warmest regards,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#26 of 441 in Madrid
4,015 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#9 of 441 in Madrid
1,636 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 441 in Madrid
1,755 reviews
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#51 of 441 in Madrid
3,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantico

Address: Gran Via 38, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#5 Family Hotel in Madrid
#16 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#46 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £106 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Atlantico offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. The hotel has 2 terraces with panoramic views of the city. Rooms are soundproofed and feature a classic decor. Each one has flat-screen satellite TV, a safe, minibar, ironing facilities and a private bathroom. Atlantico Hotel has an elegant cafe-bar and a daily buffet breakfast. In the area you will find a wide range of shops and dining options. Chueca District is 500 metres away and has a lively nightlife. Staff at the 24-hour reception can offer tourist information, and luggage storage is available. A free transfer to the hotel from Madrid’s Barajas Airport is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantico Hotel
Hotel Atlantico Madrid Centro
Hotel Atlantico Gran Via Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing