We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Atlantico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Atlantico
Ranked #19 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Ok
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Our stay at Hotel Atlantico was the best! Pleasant staff. Perfect location. We walked almost everywhere but train station was very close. Great restaurants nearby. (One of the night staff recommended Public-a Mediterranean restaurant, and it was really good!) Very comfortable beds and spotless rooms. Be prepared- rooms are small but comfortable.Be sure to go up on the terrace. It was a beautiful view. There's are many reasons this hotel is rated so high. Guests' comfort is a priority here!

Room Tip: I booked our room through a Groupon. Fantastic value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TulsaTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear TulsaTina.

Truly appreciate your review, it is so pleasing to read that we met all expectations. I am happy to read that your stay was comfortable and I'm delighted that you enjoyed our location directly in Gran Via street, only to a few minutes from the main sights of the city. I am most pleased of all thought that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff.

Thank you again and we do look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,150
    892
    170
    40
    26
See reviews for
466
1,833
246
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa Bay
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I chose this hotel from the reviews on TA & was not disappointed! Thanks to all who reviewed & helped me make a great choice - that's what TA is all about! Location - AMAZING! Right in the thick of the Grand Via, 5 minute walk to 2 metros. Walking distance to Plaza Mayor, restaurants, tapas, bars, San Miguel Mercado (inexpensive market - yum), Palacio Real, clothes shopping, souvenirs, you name it. Something for everyone. Our room was lovely - large compared to European standards. Extra large bath with bidet & a separate vanity area with its own blow dryer & mirror outside of the master bath. The a/c cooled the room perfectly which was important since it was very warm when we visited. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. We asked for a upgrade when we booked the room with Chase (hey - you never know it does happen & again when we checked in) & I think we got it. Staff was pleasant, knowledgeable & multi-lingual.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brooke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Brooke B.

Thank you for your nice review. It is glad to know that TA's comments helped you choose your hotel in Madrid and the Hotel Atlantico was not disappointed. We appreciate customers who let us know when things are right. We are very happy that your stay was a positive experience and that you enjoyed your time with us.

The Hotel Atlántico values your business and considers you one of our most important customers. We look forward to hosting you again.

Best regards.
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Hotel Atlantico is conveniently located in the heart of Madrid. Many rooms face Grand Via, a very busy street in Madrid but the rooms are very well insulated. The building is very beautiful and the rooms are spacious and they come with all comforts (good AC, essential in the summer). From the hotel you can really go anywhere you want by walking or with the subway. If you do not want to be bothered with walking, the Prado is only 5 minutes away by cab. The front desk is not particularly friendly, they are too busy with the many people staying in the hotel. Breakfast is rather generic, not really a four star hotel breakfast, but decent. There is a nice bar on top of the hotel which is quite nice. There are many places just outside the hotel (among which a Starbuck) where you can spend much less. Overall a good bargain and a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobias54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Tobias54.

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Atlántico and we are happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us, although the reception staff were not met your expectations. I apologize this was not happen with you. I have already informed about your complaint to the front desk manager in order this will not happen again in the future.

Thank you very much for your remark which constantly help us in improving our standards and the service to our guests.

We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warmest regards,
Eva García
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cold Spring, New York
Level Contributor
223 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This lovely hotel is located on Madrid's Gran Via and is centrally located for most important tourist attractions. We walked to all the big ones with no difficulty, but if you prefer there are nearby Metro stops, too. Our room was comfortable with two twin beds for two women traveling together and had a nice large bathroom with all the amenities. The room also had a 'fridge which was convenient. Our room, in the back was quiet. We were quite self-sufficient and did not require the services of the desk staff. One small inconvenience was that there is virtually no lobby, on the plus side, however is that the 9th floor is entirely a lobby with separate rooms for a sense of privacy. The outdoor terraces offer lovely views and take the time to climb the steep stairs to the cupola for even more spectacular views.

Room Tip: a room in the back will be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellynvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hello ellynvb.

Many thanks for your comments regarding the services during your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and rest assured that your comments will be shared with the whole team here and read with pride. We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hotel Atlántico.

Sincerely,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Atlantico from March the 19th - 22nd. The room was huge and clean. Very quiet. Breakfast at the hotel was tasty. Lots of choices.
The staff at the front desk was very helpful.
We will stay there again again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoraBachatera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hello CoraBachatera.

Thank you very much for your kind words that are really the best compliments that a Hotel can ever receive. Thanlk you also for your full mark.

We are all very happy that you liked our hotel but particularly that you enjoyed the service our front desk staff have provided.

We hope to see you again in a near future.

Warmest regards,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We spent 4 nights at this hotel. We drove to Madrid from San Sebastian, driving around Madrid and trying to find this hotel, and then looking for the Avis office to drop off the car was a little hairy. I think if we had done a bit of research to figure out where the Avis office was in relations to the hotel, it would have lessened the pain.
The hotel is beautiful, but on a very busy street, "the" Grand Via. The street is always packed with people, tourists, cars, vendors (and watch out for petty theft). Within minutes, you can walk to the pedestrian walkways, the countless squares and alleys, down to the palace and the opera house. While the hotel is in a touristy and busy part of Madrid, once you step inside the hotel, it is another world altogether, it was very quiet. The service at the front desk was pleasant and very efficient (not over the top). The superior room that we had was beautiful, the double-pane window made the room completely quiet, we had a balcony overlooking the city. The bathroom was gorgeous, marble everywhere, and spotless! They have a wonderful roof top terrace with views to die for, very spacious with several different terrace areas, lounges and a bar. We spent sometime with friends who joined us, and sat on the terrace with drinks and snacks for a few hours to visit and chat. We had privacy, and there was no one else there to bother us. The room rate was extremely competitive, we were very happy with this choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BayAreaRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hello BayAreaRes.

Thank you very much for your lovely comment. We are very pleased to read that you liked the hotel and you have enjoyed our central location which we know how important is to make easier visiting the city. Your feedback is a vital part of our business and it is through your constructive comments that we are able to improve the service we offer guests in our hotel.

We really hope there'll be another chance to have you all here soon.

Best regards,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillehammer, Norway
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Our stay was as expected; comfortable room, easy access to the city, nice streetview, good breakfast, a splendid café on the top and nice people working at the hotel. The only reason not to give it a fiver, is the noice from the street. But that we knew in forhand from trip advisor and did not come as a surprice! If you choose away the streetview, the noice will disappear, we heard from other guests. Good luck, this is an easy choise!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globereporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hello globereporter.

We would like to thank you very much for your wonderful comments but also for your useful remarks. Your feedback is very much appreciated and i can assure you that my staff and i use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guest. Thank you once again for your feedback as it would help us to identify points that can be improved, as the noise, and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#18 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,548 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantico

Property: Hotel Atlantico
Address: Gran Via 38, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#7 Family Hotel in Madrid
#15 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#46 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Atlantico offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. The hotel has 2 terraces with panoramic views of the city. Rooms are soundproofed and feature a classic decor. Each one has flat-screen satellite TV, a safe, minibar, ironing facilities and a private bathroom. Atlantico Hotel has an elegant cafe-bar and a daily buffet breakfast. In the area you will find a wide range of shops and dining options. Chueca District is 500 metres away and has a lively nightlife. Staff at the 24-hour reception can offer tourist information, and luggage storage is available. A free transfer to the hotel from Madrid’s Barajas Airport is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlantico Madrid Centro
Atlantico Hotel
Hotel Atlantico Gran Via Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing