We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little luxury”
Review of Hotel Atlantico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Atlantico
Ranked #21 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

A good location on the main shopping street, a few minutes walk from the "actual center". Very nice rooms, clean and well decorated. We lived towards the busy road but couldn't hear the traffic due to the good sound insulation. We lived there for 5 days but didn't find the time to try the restaurant nor the cafe on the top floor. Check in and out took in total 1 minute and that was all the conversation we had with the staff. Location and room quality are the two main reasons to why we recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dalsgaards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 June 2014

Dear Daldsgaards,

like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and for spending some of your time in writing your nice comment and for your recommendations.
We are glad your stay with us was comfortable, that you have been satisfied about cleaning and decoration and specially enjoyed our location and room quality.

We hope there'll be another chance to host you, in the meantime please accept our
Warmest regards.

Eva Garcia
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

894 - 900 of 3,494 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

We arrived from Cordoba at the Hotel around 6pm. The hotel staff is very pleasant and had our room ready. We were told that it is a very nice room. True enough, we were ecstatic after entering our room, jumping and running around like a pair of squirrels on caffeine. It is huge, with a separate bathroom (and wash basins) and lavatory and the most awesome of all, a walk-in wardrobe. It was amazing. After travelling a bit around Spain, Madrid was our last stop and we were going to spend 5 nights in the same hotel. We were really keeping our fingers crossed that the hotel is nice. It far exceeded our expectations. The location is excellent even for the laziest person alive (no offence intended). It is in between Callao and Gran Via stations, which are located on the same street. The street where the hotel is situated, is lined with popular shops and eateries. Across the hotel is Puerta del Sol where everything happens. If you do not mind walking, then a lot of the attractions are nearby, such as Plaza Mayor , Palacio de Cibeles and further along Museo del Prado. The staff speaks fluent English and is very helpful in giving advice and directions. I would not hesitate a second to stay here next time I am in Madrid.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monkeyinsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 June 2014

Dear Monkeyinsingapore,

Congratulations for the beautiful pictures and thank you for putting on line on TripAdvisor. Thank you to choose the Hotel Atlantico after your trip from Cordoba. Your compliments are greatly appreciated. We work diligently to offer the best service and a great stay for each guest. It is nice to know that we exceeded your expectations.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to write a wonderful review. We look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Eva García
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Our stay at Hotel Atlantico was the best! Pleasant staff. Perfect location. We walked almost everywhere but train station was very close. Great restaurants nearby. (One of the night staff recommended Public-a Mediterranean restaurant, and it was really good!) Very comfortable beds and spotless rooms. Be prepared- rooms are small but comfortable.Be sure to go up on the terrace. It was a beautiful view. There's are many reasons this hotel is rated so high. Guests' comfort is a priority here!

Room Tip: I booked our room through a Groupon. Fantastic value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TulsaTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 June 2014

Dear TulsaTina.

Truly appreciate your review, it is so pleasing to read that we met all expectations. I am happy to read that your stay was comfortable and I'm delighted that you enjoyed our location directly in Gran Via street, only to a few minutes from the main sights of the city. I am most pleased of all thought that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff.

Thank you again and we do look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I chose this hotel from the reviews on TA & was not disappointed! Thanks to all who reviewed & helped me make a great choice - that's what TA is all about! Location - AMAZING! Right in the thick of the Grand Via, 5 minute walk to 2 metros. Walking distance to Plaza Mayor, restaurants, tapas, bars, San Miguel Mercado (inexpensive market - yum), Palacio Real, clothes shopping, souvenirs, you name it. Something for everyone. Our room was lovely - large compared to European standards. Extra large bath with bidet & a separate vanity area with its own blow dryer & mirror outside of the master bath. The a/c cooled the room perfectly which was important since it was very warm when we visited. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. We asked for a upgrade when we booked the room with Chase (hey - you never know it does happen & again when we checked in) & I think we got it. Staff was pleasant, knowledgeable & multi-lingual.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brooke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Brooke B.

Thank you for your nice review. It is glad to know that TA's comments helped you choose your hotel in Madrid and the Hotel Atlantico was not disappointed. We appreciate customers who let us know when things are right. We are very happy that your stay was a positive experience and that you enjoyed your time with us.

The Hotel Atlántico values your business and considers you one of our most important customers. We look forward to hosting you again.

Best regards.
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Hotel Atlantico is conveniently located in the heart of Madrid. Many rooms face Grand Via, a very busy street in Madrid but the rooms are very well insulated. The building is very beautiful and the rooms are spacious and they come with all comforts (good AC, essential in the summer). From the hotel you can really go anywhere you want by walking or with the subway. If you do not want to be bothered with walking, the Prado is only 5 minutes away by cab. The front desk is not particularly friendly, they are too busy with the many people staying in the hotel. Breakfast is rather generic, not really a four star hotel breakfast, but decent. There is a nice bar on top of the hotel which is quite nice. There are many places just outside the hotel (among which a Starbuck) where you can spend much less. Overall a good bargain and a good stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tobias54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Tobias54.

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Atlántico and we are happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us, although the reception staff were not met your expectations. I apologize this was not happen with you. I have already informed about your complaint to the front desk manager in order this will not happen again in the future.

Thank you very much for your remark which constantly help us in improving our standards and the service to our guests.

We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warmest regards,
Eva García
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This lovely hotel is located on Madrid's Gran Via and is centrally located for most important tourist attractions. We walked to all the big ones with no difficulty, but if you prefer there are nearby Metro stops, too. Our room was comfortable with two twin beds for two women traveling together and had a nice large bathroom with all the amenities. The room also had a 'fridge which was convenient. Our room, in the back was quiet. We were quite self-sufficient and did not require the services of the desk staff. One small inconvenience was that there is virtually no lobby, on the plus side, however is that the 9th floor is entirely a lobby with separate rooms for a sense of privacy. The outdoor terraces offer lovely views and take the time to climb the steep stairs to the cupola for even more spectacular views.

Room Tip: a room in the back will be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellynvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 June 2014

Hello ellynvb.

Many thanks for your comments regarding the services during your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and rest assured that your comments will be shared with the whole team here and read with pride. We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hotel Atlántico.

Sincerely,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Atlantico from March the 19th - 22nd. The room was huge and clean. Very quiet. Breakfast at the hotel was tasty. Lots of choices.
The staff at the front desk was very helpful.
We will stay there again again for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoraBachatera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Hello CoraBachatera.

Thank you very much for your kind words that are really the best compliments that a Hotel can ever receive. Thanlk you also for your full mark.

We are all very happy that you liked our hotel but particularly that you enjoyed the service our front desk staff have provided.

We hope to see you again in a near future.

Warmest regards,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#26 of 441 in Madrid
4,015 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#9 of 441 in Madrid
1,636 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 441 in Madrid
1,755 reviews
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#50 of 441 in Madrid
3,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantico

Address: Gran Via 38, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Madrid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#16 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#46 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £107 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Atlantico offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. The hotel has 2 terraces with panoramic views of the city. Rooms are soundproofed and feature a classic decor. Each one has flat-screen satellite TV, a safe, minibar, ironing facilities and a private bathroom. Atlantico Hotel has an elegant cafe-bar and a daily buffet breakfast. In the area you will find a wide range of shops and dining options. Chueca District is 500 metres away and has a lively nightlife. Staff at the 24-hour reception can offer tourist information, and luggage storage is available. A free transfer to the hotel from Madrid’s Barajas Airport is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantico Hotel
Hotel Atlantico Madrid Centro
Hotel Atlantico Gran Via Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing