We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful hotel in a great location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Atlantico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Atlantico
Ranked #19 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Birminghan,Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel in a great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here the first night of our trip to Spain. We arrived very early in morning so of course our room wasn't ready but they were so gracious about it. Stored our bags, directed us to a great coffee shop and called us when the room was ready. The room was extremely comfortable and large. On a busy street but still quiet. So convenient! Right in the action and close to the subway if you need it. Walking distance to Plaza Mayor, museums and shopping. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katfix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Katfix.

Many thanks for your comments regarding the hotel and location. Your feedback is a vital part of our business and it is through your constructive comments that we are able to improve the service we offer guests in our hotel. We appreciated very much again for taking the time to inform your valuable thoughts and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hotel Atlántico.

Faithfully yours,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,147
    891
    170
    40
    26
See reviews for
465
1,830
246
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a great place to stay located in the smack bag centre. It is no surprise that when I opened my madrid map, "centro" was located almost right on top of the hotel. It is right in the middle of the shopping high street with high street stores just metres away. The hotel really is an oasis as you come out of the hustle and bustle of the Main Street into the tranquil hotel. The hotel is a great base to explore madrid.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was a very nice size with a large comfortable bed. Extra pillows etc are all in the wardrobe along with dressing gowns and hotel slippers. The bathroom was large and fully tiled with x2 basins. The shower was hot and powerful. Same poor hair dryer, that would struggle to dry a flea however. Good number of towels and good size. The air conditioning was good. Everything was impeccably clean. In our room 705 there was a small balcony which overlooked the street (see photo). The room was quiet enough insulated from the noise outside. The same can't be said for the internal walls. A loud spanish couple chatting away next door was a slight inconvenience for the short term.

The breakfast was reasonable for a few days stay, not a massive choice but enough. It is 10 euro per person but probably worth the money if you eat big for breakfast to prepare you for the day ahead. It has all the continental favourites, hams, cheeses, fruit etc. cereal, yogurts, breads, sweet cakes, juices, coffee machines. The hot food is fried eggs, sausages (hot dogs), bacon (European variety 90% fat, 10% bacon), spanish eggs and fried potatoes. All in all a good selection to set you for the day.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank James813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear James 813.

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay at the Hotel Atlantico. I'm delighted that you and your husband enjoyed our location directly in Gran Via street, only to a few minutes from the main sights of the city. Thank you also for your mention about the hotel staff and your comments about the breakfast. Your Feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and i use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guest. We hope to see you again.

Best regards,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
107 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We spent three nights here in May.

We arrived quite early for check in and was told that there wasn't a room available yet, so they sent us up to the restaurant where breakfast was still being served. By the time we had a cup of coffee and were ready to head out for some sightseeing (whilst they kept our bags), when we got downstairs we were informed there was now a room ready for us and they had given us an upgrade as well.

The staff were all excellent. Those at the front desk spoke excellent English and were very helpful with our questions regarding train times and restaurants.

The room itself was nicely appointed with quite sufficient room and was very clean. It was a lovely king size bed and we slept well. We overlooked the main street and it was a bit noisy during the day sometimes with quite a number of emergency vehicles screaming past but we did not find it a problem at night.

The hotel itself is a lovely french epoque style building. The buffet breakfast was good value for money and had quite a good selection. We normally go eat at a cafe rather than pay exorbitant prices at the hotel for a huge buffet selection which you can't get though, but the buffet breakfast here was good value for money.

We had coffee and drinks a number of times up on the top floor which was a very nice area. Unfortunately it was quite cold and windy whilst we where there so we didn't venture out onto the outside sitting areas. On a nice day they would have been lovely.

As mentioned by others, the location is excellent. You are within walking distance of most of the sights you want to see and there was lots happening in the plaza over the road to keep you entertained.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shandy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear shandy40,

thank uou for choosing Hotel Atlántico and for sharing with other travellers your kind opinion about our facilities and services. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our location in the heart of the city. I will share your comments with the entire staff. They take great pride in their service efforts. It means so much to our team to hear a review like yours. It is our pleasure to have served you.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards.
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

My friend and I stayed for four nights at this delightful hotel. It could not be better positioned and is particularly convenient for nightlife, eateries, shops and even a bit of sightseeing with all the main galleries within walking distance. The hotel building is a lovely 1920s confection with roof terraces and a rooftop bar. Our rooms were newly refurbished and comfortable with much needed efficient air-conditioning as we arrived in a heat wave. The hotel is on the main Gran Via but we did not find noise a problem. Breakfasts were pretty good and the staff entirely helpful and obliging. I plan to return next year. An oasis of calm in a pretty bustling metropolis.

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor with ( quiet ) rooms overlooking a side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Stephen G.

Thank you for your review and business. We are delighted you found it to be a positive experience for you and your friend. I am happy to read that your room was comfortable and you enjoyed our location, breakfast and staff. It is also nice to hear that noise was not a problem for you and found an oasis at Hotel Atlantico.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Eva García
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Hotel Atlantico is located right in the city center and offers all necessary comfort. Rooms are well equipped and the staff is extremely friendly and helpfull. The buffet breakfast is really good and reasonably priced.
The roof terasse and the facilities on the 9th floor is of a very high standard with top service.

Room Tip: Good location - short walking distance to places of interest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hello Jorn J.

Thank you for choosing Hotel Atlántico and for sharing with other travellers your kind opinion about our facilities and services. It is very rewarding for us to know that you have good memories from your stay with us and It will be a pleasure to host you again in future.

With best regards
Eva García
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

A good location on the main shopping street, a few minutes walk from the "actual center". Very nice rooms, clean and well decorated. We lived towards the busy road but couldn't hear the traffic due to the good sound insulation. We lived there for 5 days but didn't find the time to try the restaurant nor the cafe on the top floor. Check in and out took in total 1 minute and that was all the conversation we had with the staff. Location and room quality are the two main reasons to why we recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalsgaards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Daldsgaards,

like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and for spending some of your time in writing your nice comment and for your recommendations.
We are glad your stay with us was comfortable, that you have been satisfied about cleaning and decoration and specially enjoyed our location and room quality.

We hope there'll be another chance to host you, in the meantime please accept our
Warmest regards.

Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We arrived from Cordoba at the Hotel around 6pm. The hotel staff is very pleasant and had our room ready. We were told that it is a very nice room. True enough, we were ecstatic after entering our room, jumping and running around like a pair of squirrels on caffeine. It is huge, with a separate bathroom (and wash basins) and lavatory and the most awesome of all, a walk-in wardrobe. It was amazing. After travelling a bit around Spain, Madrid was our last stop and we were going to spend 5 nights in the same hotel. We were really keeping our fingers crossed that the hotel is nice. It far exceeded our expectations. The location is excellent even for the laziest person alive (no offence intended). It is in between Callao and Gran Via stations, which are located on the same street. The street where the hotel is situated, is lined with popular shops and eateries. Across the hotel is Puerta del Sol where everything happens. If you do not mind walking, then a lot of the attractions are nearby, such as Plaza Mayor , Palacio de Cibeles and further along Museo del Prado. The staff speaks fluent English and is very helpful in giving advice and directions. I would not hesitate a second to stay here next time I am in Madrid.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeyinsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Monkeyinsingapore,

Congratulations for the beautiful pictures and thank you for putting on line on TripAdvisor. Thank you to choose the Hotel Atlantico after your trip from Cordoba. Your compliments are greatly appreciated. We work diligently to offer the best service and a great stay for each guest. It is nice to know that we exceeded your expectations.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to write a wonderful review. We look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Eva García
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#18 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,538 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#48 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,747 reviews
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantico

Property: Hotel Atlantico
Address: Gran Via 38, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#7 Family Hotel in Madrid
#15 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#46 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Atlantico offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. The hotel has 2 terraces with panoramic views of the city. Rooms are soundproofed and feature a classic decor. Each one has flat-screen satellite TV, a safe, minibar, ironing facilities and a private bathroom. Atlantico Hotel has an elegant cafe-bar and a daily buffet breakfast. In the area you will find a wide range of shops and dining options. Chueca District is 500 metres away and has a lively nightlife. Staff at the 24-hour reception can offer tourist information, and luggage storage is available. A free transfer to the hotel from Madrid’s Barajas Airport is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlantico Madrid Centro
Atlantico Hotel
Hotel Atlantico Gran Via Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing