We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and price”
Review of Hotel Atlantico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Atlantico
Ranked #23 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great location and price”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a single room on the 5th floor beginning of August
Room was clean, I didn't so much mind that the furnishings were outdated- I was out most of the day. I'm 5'5 and my feet seems to hang off the end of the bed' so I slept diagonally- but if you are very tall, could be an issue. Great location- centrally located and close to metro stops. 20 minute walk to the museum. Breakfast was fine for 10 euros. Overall quiet and friendly staff. I would recommend.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank rella118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Good morning rella118.

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Atlántico and we are very happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us

We deeply apologize that your bed was not as long as it should. If this happens next time, please report immediately to reception to get change to a queen size.

Thank you very much for your remark which constantly help us in improving our standards and the service to our guests.

We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warmest regards,
Eva García
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,233
    925
    172
    44
    26
See reviews for
482
1,904
261
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Great location for touring Madrid. In the middle of everything, including all tourist spots, restaurants and shops (and supermarkets).

Rooms are of reasonably size and a big bathroom. Always spotless clean. The reception is at times undermanned and could be rude.

Highly recommend for those, in particular first timers, who tour Madrid.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Francis057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hello Francis057

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Hotel Atlántico and for your recommendation.

On the other hand, I am very sorry to hear that the treatment received by the reception staff has not met your expectations. I have already informed to all the Front Desk Staff, included the Manager, in order to solve this matter and that such incidents do not occur anymore in the future.

We are very happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your remark constantly help us in improving our standards and the service to our guests.

We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warmest regards,
Eva García
Assistant Director




Warmest regards,
Eva García
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I booked a last minute weekend trip to Madrid with my mum as ...well ... sometimes you just need to get away and it was brilliant.
The hotel is stunning and has a wonderful terrace where you can sit and just watch the world go by. The staff were very friendly and ready to help with any queries or requests that you had.

the hotel is located on Gran Via which is basically in the heart of Madrid. All the major Tourist attractions were either within walking distance or on the route of the hop on hop off tourist bus which stopped two minute walk up the road.

I would whole heartily recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit a truly wonderful city. will definitely return, !!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria2619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hello Victoria2619.

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. I am delighted to note that you and your mum enjoyed your stay with us. Most of all though I am especially pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff I always feel is the most important and lasting memory of a hotel.

Finally thanks for the compliments to our city and your recommendations to other travelers.

Warmest regards,
Eva García
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights during August and we were not disappointed. My wife is a wheelchair user and we requested this during the booking process (as they advised) when I checked the week before via email I had a prompt response back saying they had allocated us an adapted room.
The room was spacious, clean, air conditioned and a huge bathroom with a wheel in shower (with removable seat), adjustable height sink, toilet with grab rails and Bidet. There were alarm buttons throughout the room and bathroom. Take note, however, that the bathroom floor is tiled and can be very slippery when wet. The wardrobe had a pull down clothes rail so my wife could reach independently. The Bed was very comfortable and the sheets were changed everyday, and every other day we had chocolates left by the housekeeping staff. We had an room that was inward looking so basically looked out on an enclosed courtyard so the room was dark but this didn't matter to us as it meant we could get plenty of sleep! At the bottom of the courtyard was a fountain to make it look nicer, no one has access to the fountain it is decorative and a nice little touch.
There was free WiFi throughout the hotel, not just in certain areas, it always worked and was a decent speed.
Breakfast - if you are looking for a hotel that will serve a "Full English" then you will be disappointed, they had bacon, small sausages, fried, scrambled and hard boiled eggs, with Ketchup and a toaster but we didn't eat any of this. We went for the wonderful continental buffet with fresh rolls, pastries, meats and cheeses. There was also fresh and dried fruit with a selection of Yoghurts. Coffee is via a machine - if you simply select Black Coffee you will get an Espresso if you want a normal sized cup select filter coffee. If you want Tea simply ask one of the friendly staff (Usually 2 on) and they will make you a pot and bring it to you.
On the 9th floor there is a small "Business centre" (more of a meeting room) but there is a lot of space to sit around, talk and relax. There are also 2 small terraces with great views over the city, both terraces have steps leading up to them but if you ask the bar staff (Bar opens at 3:30pm) they will get a portable ramp to allow wheelchair users to access the terraces. On one occasion a cleaner even got the ramp for us! The bar isn't that cheap but also not overpriced, they will bring drinks out to you on the terraces and you can bill your room. There are communal toilets on the 9th floor but sadly not a communal disabled toilet.
99% of the staff we met were very helpful, one in particular "Cloy" who we met doing the upstairs bar and breakfast spoke excellent English and was always very helpful. Nothing was ever a problem for the reception staff, we spoke to them once about a broken remote for the air conditioning and they said they would get it sorted and they did. We booked a flamenco show through them and the lady on reception (forgotten her name) recommended one that had street access (easier for my wife) she rang them up and translated everything for us, found out they had a side entrance with a ramp! When she saw us the next day she asked how the show was and whether there were any problems. When we checked out I asked if I could store our bags for a few hours and it was simply not a problem. We went back about an hour later and asked for a taxi to the airport, when he asked what terminal and I went to find my boarding pass he asked what airline to save me a job. He walked out with our suitcase, got a taxi for us and made sure we got in it ok.
The whole hotel has been decorated to a very high standard and it felt very luxurious from the moment you walked through the door and it wasn't very expensive.
The Location was excellent, Plaza del Sol is about 3 minutes away, Plaza Mayor about 10 minutes, and Santa Anna about 10 minutes.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to go to Madrid for any reason, and if you are a disabled traveller then this hotel will look after you!
I can see why this hotel is rated so highly on tripadvisor it really is excellent as the title says it is the finer details that make this hotel so good.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor and the room was inward facing with little natural light which didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magicmingus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hello Magicmingus.

We would like to thank you very much for your wonderful comments but also for your useful remarks. You can be sure that we exceed the standards for the disabled in the Hotel Atlanticol, but we appreciate your suggestions. We are very happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I am delighted to read that Cloy took such good care of you during your stay. He was delighted to read your comment.

I sincerely hope we will be able to welcome you back to Hotel Atlantico again soon.

Kindest regards
Eva García
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasantville
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were greeted in a friendly manner and made to feel welcome immediately. Our room was upgraded and we stayed one night in a large, sunny room with a beautifully appointed very large bathroom. Rooms are clean and entire hotel is very well kept. Shower pressure was great! Room was quiet throughout stay. Location very good. Breakfast room sunny and inviting. Roof lounge is beautiful. Personal service and excellent dinner and touring information from staff. Recommended if you want a personal touch and don't want or need the large hotel amenities.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMUParent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hello CMUParent.

Thank You for choosing Hotel Atlántico and for sharing with other travellers your kind opinion about our facilities and services.
It is very rewarding for us your mention about the personal touch we offer to our guest, our main goal. It will be a pleasure to host you again in future.

With best regards
Eva García
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Perfect spot in central Madrid. Spacious, comfortable bedroom and modern updated bath. Fantastic really, we had no complaints. Great location walkable to museums and to tapas bars and the mercado, which we loved. I will definitely go back to this hotel for our next trip to Madrid. Overall, a fantastic stay. The only minor drawback was that breakfast was just so-so. I was expecting something better. Not a deal breaker.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hello ambough.

Thanks for taking time to post your review of our hotel. We do appreciate all the great comments about our hotel and location. We appreciate your feedback so that we can learn and listen to what our customers are saying.

I hope we get to see you again in the near future. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and with the reviews, we had high expectations. We were not disappointed. We had upgraded our room to a suite and we were wowed by the finish and the quality. It was quiet and a very high standard.

Location was perfect and the hotel public areas were luxurious. We don't usually spend this much on city breaks but it was a gift for my husband for his 30th birthday so it was a special occasion. We would definitely consider staying again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkshireTraveller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hello YorkshireTraveller85.

First of all thanks for choosing the Hotel Atlántico to celebrate the 30th birthday of your husband. It is a pleasure to read you had a pleasant stay with us. Please congratulate your husband from the Hotel Atlantico.

I am so happy you enjoyed your time with us.

We hope you get to make it back to see us sometime soon.

Sincerely,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 436 in Madrid
3,829 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#7 of 436 in Madrid
1,497 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 436 in Madrid
1,642 reviews
Centro
IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#19 of 436 in Madrid
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantico

Property: Hotel Atlantico
Address: Gran Via 38, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#7 Family Hotel in Madrid
#19 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#46 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Atlantico offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. The hotel has 2 terraces with panoramic views of the city. Rooms are soundproofed and feature a classic decor. Each one has flat-screen satellite TV, a safe, minibar, ironing facilities and a private bathroom. Atlantico Hotel has an elegant cafe-bar and a daily buffet breakfast. In the area you will find a wide range of shops and dining options. Chueca District is 500 metres away and has a lively nightlife. Staff at the 24-hour reception can offer tourist information, and luggage storage is available. A free transfer to the hotel from Madrid’s Barajas Airport is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantico Hotel
Hotel Atlantico Madrid Centro
Hotel Atlantico Gran Via Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing