We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average”
Review of Tryp Madrid Centro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tryp Madrid Centro
Ranked #268 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 31 March 2014

You generally get what you pay for and this is certainly true for Tryp Washington. It is in a good location and the important bits are clean, such as the bed and the bathroom, but I wouldn't recommend it if you're looking for anything other than average. The corridors are dark and dirty and the walls of the room could have done with a good clean. I can't comment on the breakfast as we didn't take it. It seemed rather expensive when you can have a great Spanish breakfast experience in the cafe next door for about a quarter of the price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tessa0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOAQUIN G, E-Guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear tessa0109,

Firstly I would like to thank you for having chosen us and for sharing your experience at Tripadvisor. We are very glad that you enjoyed our central location, close from the most important city attractions. Most of our rooms are recently painted and renovated so please let us know when you come back to Madrid and we assure your experience will improve. Moreover we recommend you to try or varied free buffet breakfast, we are sure you´ll like it! It will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (979)
There are newer reviews for Tryp Madrid Centro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 980 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed at the TRYP Madrid Washington Hotel from December 2013 to February 2014, 70 nights in total, and based on this extensive experience feel qualified to give this hotel an excellent rating and highly recommend it without reservation. We are a mature professional couple with high expectations for our accommodations when we travel. Throughout the years we have stayed at different hotels in Madrid but can sincerely say that none compare with the value for the money one receives at the TRYP Washington. Our spacious and spotlessly clean room on the ninth floor faced the back of the building and was very quiet, the mattresses were comfortable, the linens always freshly cleaned and of good quality, and the washroom was large and pristine. Although I usually only take showers in hotel rooms this facility was so spotless that I often also took a bath! We also appreciated the safe and the free Wi-Fi internet service that allowed us to stay in touch with Canada and manage our affairs. The location is perhaps one of the best in Madrid, on the Gran Via, surrounded by restaurants, bars, theatres and shops and in walking distance from all major cultural attractions. Should you wish to go further afield you are connected with bus, metro and taxi stops right in front of the hotel. A great way to begin the day was with the delicious international buffet breakfast with views of the Gran Via from which you got a sense of the pulse of the city and how to dress for the weather as it can be quite variable during the winter months. On the first floor there is also a comfortable lounge with sofas, chairs, table, television, newspapers, just like a private living room, where we were able to prolong our visit with some friends who had come from Canada after going next door for lunch. Excellent service is probably the most outstanding feature of this hotel! The staff was extremely friendly, professional and efficient and promptly met all our needs: extra pillows for the beds, extra hangers for the armoire, and an extra chair for the room. The staff at the front desk, led by Santurino Torres Suarez, became our friends and we were warmly greeted each morning and evening on our return. We were not the only recipients of their kindness and I observed the time and care they extended to all the guests and the front desk was often a classroom with maps wide open and the expert staff giving explanations, directions and advice especially to those who were new to the city. This attention to good service and hospitality begins at the top with the director, Nadia Abdel-Lah Fernandez, (who speaks English perfectly) and who personally welcomed us at the beginning of our stay to the Washington and called us on our last day to wish us a safe trip home. This is a three star hotel with no large lobbies, restaurants, plush carpets or fancy chandeliers but our room was spotless and comfortable, and met our requirements for this extended stay at a very affordable price. The staff and service were outstanding and we will certainly return and consider the Washington our second home. We extend to all the staff our appreciation and respect, and give this hotel an excellent rating.

Room Tip: Room facing the back very quiet
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOAQUIN G, E-Guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Angela P,

Reading your nice words is a pleasure for us, they really moved us. The highest for us is to know that you felt at home with us thanks to your clean and spacious room, and our varied breakfast. But above everything thank you very much for your comments about our staff, we all feel really proud and want to thank you for being so kind! We are already looking forward to welcoming you back home.

Kind greetings from our director and from all our team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Superb location, not far from the metro and allot of Madrid highlights are within walking distance. Barajas airport to the hotel in 30 minutes. Check in took ages since the hotel needs allot of info and there is only one person working at the reception. Room 611 big enough, you are here for the city and not to stay in your room. The bathroom is looking fancy though. Staff is friendly and helpfull but nothing special really since they are only doing the necessary things and wont suprise you with a "how was your day" or "how was your trip" etc. The could win some if they where more personal with you.

The breakfast is top notch and worth every euro. Allot of things to choose from and reminds me (except the furniture and personal service) of a Hilton breakfast. This hotel delivers solid 3 star rooms and service in a big city. Nothing more and nothing less. Fine for a couple of nights and for the price we had to pay. But if you set your bars a little higher than you can easily spot some things for improvement.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roman158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOAQUIN G, E-Guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear roman158,

First of all I want to thank you for having chosen us, as for sharing your experience at Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed our central location, comfortable rooms and varied breakfast. Thank you also for underlining the friendliness of our staff. On the other hand we take note of your valued comments about the check in and service as your next visit is perfect. We hope you come soon to check the improvements.
Please, do not hesitate to contact us; we are at your complete disposal.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

If you're looking for a fancy hotel, this probably isn't the place for you. However, with Tryp Washington you can't beat the location as well as the price, and they deliver what they promise - a solid 3-star hotel and service. Just steps away from Plaza de España and the Royal Palace, this hotel is ideal for those wanting to explore the centre of Madrid by foot. The breakfast is very good, has a lot of variety and is served until late (11 am). Rooms on upper floors have nice views. Expect some noise from Gran Via if your room is facing that way, as you are on the busiest street in Madrid.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DuoCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOAQUIN G, E-Guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear DuoCalgary,

On behalf of our entire Tryp Madrid Washington´s team, I want to thank you for the nice words about your stay with us. It is a pleasure for us that you enjoyed varied breakfast and central location, near the main attractions of Madrid. We love that you chose us and that you could live the city to the fullets on your visit, and we hope you visit us again very soon. Do not hesitate to contact us and we will have a nice quiet room prepared for you!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed in Room 809 (a twin bedded room at the front of the Hotel). We found the room clean and of a rather larger size than normal. The beds were very comfortable (makes a change) and the buffet breakfast was first class. Cold meats, cheese, pastries, fruit, toast making facilities and also had hot scrambled eggs, beans, bacon and sausages. Something for everyone. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only thing that I did not like was that as it was November, the aircon was not on and the room did become very hot during the nights. Also, as we faced the Gran Via, it could have been very noisy, but as we were on the 8th floor and we had double glazed windows the noise was at a minimum and did not disturb us too much. The only noise that we did hear was the sirons of the ambulances and Police cars, but they really did not cause us any real problems. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front can be a little noisy, but it really did not disturb us at all.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Standring64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOAQUIN G, E-Guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Standring64,

Thank you very much for your excellent review. I will share your comments with our entire team, as they encourage us to continue carrying out our daily work to provide our passionate travelers unforgettable experiences. About the air condition, we would like to let you know that although from November we connect the heating it is possible to switch it off in your room in order to guarantee each guest comfort. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us and we will send you our routes Own the City made by our experts.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Location on Grand Via was more problem than helpful.We had a back room, and had to deal with large crowds of people out on the streets late into the night, horns honking, sirens passing, people yelling and doors, cans and what sounded like pallets being dropped. Even inside the hotel, people laughing loudly in the hallways at a late hour, room doors and elevator doors slamming, all contributed to very little sound sleep. Beds were comfy, but pillows were horrible. Breakfast was adequate, but not great. I would not stay at this hotel (or anywhere on the Grand Via, for that matter) again.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, get a room in the center, not in the front or back. Also, higher floors would...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOAQUIN G, E-Guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear TravelerJim,

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen us as for sharing your review at Tripadvisor. We understand that we did not fulfill your expectations due to the outside noise and we really apologize for that. We are located at the heart of the city and Gran Vía is a busy street. However I would like to let you know that we have quieter rooms facing other areas. So please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit to Madrid and I´m sure your experience will be improved.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We're not great travellers,but me and my wife thought this hotel was clean and tidy.the room 311 was adaquate .towels etc changed everyday,bed was comfortable,nice big bathroom,2 single beds,tv,nice and quiet.We were quite happy with the location,centre to everything.So thank you to hotel,we would return.
Mr B Marsh

Room Tip: Room facing main road
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOAQUIN G, E-Guest Experience at Tryp Madrid Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Brian M,

Thank you very much for your nice words. It is a pleasure for the whole Tryp Madrid Washington’s team that you enjoyed so much our central location, your room and the service you received. We are delighted to have been chosen so that you could live the city to the fullest and we are very excited to know that you may come back!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel
Centro
Tryp Madrid Gran Via Hotel
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Cibeles Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Exe El Coloso
Hotel Exe El Coloso
#325 of 438 in Madrid
872 reviews
Centro
Hotel Exe Suites 33
Hotel Exe Suites 33
#210 of 438 in Madrid
627 reviews
Malasana
Hotel Sterling
Hotel Sterling
#266 of 438 in Madrid
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Madrid Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Madrid Centro

Address: Calle Gran Via 72, 28015 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Tryp Madrid Washington Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £83 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tryp Madrid Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Melia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Tryp Madrid Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Washington Hotel Madrid
Tryp Hotel Washington
Tryp Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing