We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tryp Madrid Cibeles Hotel
Ranked #157 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I've stayed at this hotel from the 20th of May till the27th of May 2014 and all I can say that its a fantastic hotel:-))People are lovely,the service is excellent,the cleaning team is very professional, the hotel staff can speak English and they are all incredibly helpful.

The hotel is well located,highly recommended:-)))

Room Tip: First floor with the big balcony is excellent:-)))
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos B, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Cibeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear ‘Tony C’, we thank you for letting us know about your experience at TRYP Madrid Cibeles. It is good to know that all the information you needed it was provided by our hotel staff, so you can have the best experience with us. Thank you for the kind words about our cleaning staff and their good manners and good work.
It is true that our hotel has a very good location, on Gran Vía, city center of Madrid; being able to go walking to all the touristic monuments and museums, and also restaurants, cinemas, or shopping.

We hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 1,405 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

I use to live in Madrid and knew this location would be good but

After looking at review here and their website I choose this hotel but not so great. I got a room facing the center of the building pretty much a stone wall and it was really small room. I don't know if that's what every single person room was like but the ones across the hall facing the street were bigger mine had a vent/colum in the middle of the room.

I reserved a none smoking room but it smelled like smoke every time I came back from going out and there was an ash tray in the room from the hotel. The terrace that appears to be open for use on the room in their website was always locked and never used even on a nice day.

There was a special breakfast deal going on that I asked to have added on my room for 9euros. When I went down one day the waiter asked me if it was part of the room and I said yes when he checked it wasn't and I paid the 12euro rate/day. When I asked the lady at the counter she said it wasn't included but when I checked out they said they would have to charge me until I explained the whole situation. The room doors were noisy the moving of furniture could be heard upstairs when the maids cleaned or people moved about and I think the water was a little brown. Good location, pretty & nice front employees but not worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing out for a window outside and higher up to avoid noise from downstairs lobby br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank We99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos B, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Cibeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear ‘We99’, we want to thank you for letting us know about your experience at TRYP Madrid Cibeles. We really appreciate your kid words about hotel staff that helped you with everything you need during your staying.
It is true that we have a very good location, right in the city center of Madrid, on Gran Vía. You have all you need to enjoy the city, surrounding the hotel.
We also want to apologize for the inconvenience you had during your staying, we will take note of all of them and do our best to give you a better experience for your next staying at TRYP Madrid Cibeles.

Thank you again, best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed 29th April for 4 nights. Room light & spacious. Plenty of hanging/storage and iron and board in room useful. Bathroom was large and spotless and had a decent hairdryer - you didn't need to keep your finger on the button for it to work! Breakfast was excellent, all the usual suspects - also constantly topped up by attentive staff. Very busy at weekend. Location is perfect, just off the main Gran Via with no disturbance from this main road through Madrid.

Open top bus stop nearby, and used this to get an overview of the location of all the main sights in Madrid. Metro easy to use, safe,cheap and clean. We managed to cover all main attractions and a lot can be walked to from the hotel.

Plenty of places to eat in the day - some a little too reliant on their position/history making them quite blase about service etc. We struggled to find somewhere for Dinner - mainly because they eat so late. We were ready for bed after a full on day when they are just thinking about eating! So we made the most of breakfast and lunch and went snacky for evening.

Found Casa9 for our last night treat and it was excellent - serves from 8.30 (early for Madrid). Could not fault food or service and excellent value - 17euros for bread, glass of wine, starter main and pud. This was so good and such value we didn't even look at the a la carte.

Weather was perfect - which always helps. Madrid is a fabulous city and the hotel made it - would highly recommend it, we are quite picky and do a lot of research before these type of breaks - it paid off on this occasion.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Two-Bunnies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos B, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Cibeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear ‘Two-Bunnies2’, please let me thank you for these complete comment about your staying at TRYP Madrid Cibeles.
It is very good to know that you had a plenty satisfaction about Madrid and that the hotel was an important piece for this satisfaction.
Thank you for those kind words about the room, spacious and clean, with all you could need. And also for the mention about our big buffet breakfast that we serve every morning, with a big variety of food and drinks for you. It is true that the hotel has a very good location, right on Gran Vía (city center of Madrid), surrounded by all you can need in Madrid.

We hope to see you again very soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed over Easter and whole experience was great. Nothing too much trouble for the staff. Massive selection for breakfast with tea, coffee and biscuits available free in the bar at all times. Room spacious and spotless and best of all fabulous location with everything we wanted to see (except the Real Madrid stadium ) within walking distance - would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RicoR07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos B, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Cibeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear ‘RicoR07’, we thank you for this comment about your experience at TRYP Madrid Cibeles, it is good to know that hotel staff could resolve all of your needs during your staying, this is very important to us. We are happy to know that the room was good for you, spacious and clean, as you expected to be; and that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast, that we serve every morning with a big variety of fresh food and drinks.
And the special mention you wrote, about the free coffee and biscuits you can serve all day.
Also our location, as you said, right in the city center, on Gran Vía, being able to enjoy Madrid on foot.

Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a great hotel. The rooms are well appointed, nice linens and lovely rooms. The size of the room is comfortable. Bathrooms are clean, spacious and so nice. The breakfast buffet is beautiful with a nice selection to suit every taste. There are a few of these Tryp hotels in Madrid...we especially loved this one because it's right off of the busy street, on a little side street but close to the heart of everything. Perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiscongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos B, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Cibeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear "Wiscongirl "
I would like to start of thanking you for your nice words.!. We really like to take advantage of these opportunities to greet you once again and thank you for keeping counting on us.
The next time you make a stop at any of our hotels let me know and we will send you the routes OWN THE CITY made by our experts! So you don´t waste time planning, and just enjoy your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Tryp Madrid is down a side street off Gran Via. We were greeted by a friendly security guard and then went to check-in, getting to our room (3rd floor w/ a balcony) in a very short period of time. First impression was that the room was very clean. I really liked that my room had a balcony with the ability to keep the windows open.

Very good location - not really "on" Gran Via which allows some of the noise from the main street to not get to the room. Bed was very comfortable, housekeeping was pretty amazing and everyone was very nice. Stairs only took you to the main level to check in so we were reliant on the elevators to get to the street; this posed a slight issue around the daily checkin/checkout times, but nothing that really was an issue. ATM's were also within a block in either direction of the hotel which was nice.

We did not do breakfast in the hotel. There was a deal where they offered either 12 Euro a day on an ad-hoc basis or to get it for 9 Euro a day if you paid for all of them at once. We stayed in Granada for a few days so we did not think it was worth it. I would suggest trying some of the shops around the area since you could probably get a nice breakfast for 5 Euro max. I would not trust anywhere that does not advertise breakfast prices up front since that could wind up running 10-15 Euro if you do the cafe con leche/orange juice/toast combo.

Two issues we encountered were - 1) the current safes are difficult to work. We did not have any issues in losing/getting things stolen, but the safe took convincing to open/lock. 2) banging all around the hotel began at 8am. My guess is that was when housekeeping started making beds (on wheels so they could be moved). I did not mind much since it got me earlier, but it would have been nice to not have that banging so early.

Room Tip: Get a nice room with a balcony. Appears that only certain floors have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos B, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Cibeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear ‘Kevin O’,

What an amazing comment about your staying in our hotel, Tryp Madrid Cibeles. It is a pleasure to know all those details about your staying.

Starting with the good impression you had seeing that hotel has security 24h at the entrance; and the nice room you had, with very nice views to Gran Via and a balcony to enjoy it even better.
We also want to thank your nice words about our hotel staff; we do our best every day so you can have the best staying with us; this is one of our major priorities.

Please note that the hotel has stairs to the ground floor, but are not the same you use to come from your room to reception.

We hope to see you very soon in the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Centrally located this hotel is ideal for exploring the city centre. Rooms are small but functional. Breakfast is extra and quite expensive, although good quality. Service at reception and breakfast is good. wifi works I was sold a front view room except that there was no view, just a view of a balcony!

Room Tip: Go for cheapest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zetat0urs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos B, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Cibeles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear ‘Zetat0urs’,

Let me thank you in advance for letting us know about your staying in Tryp Madrid Cibeles.

As you saw we are right in the center of Madrid, having all you need to enjoy the city on a walking distance, with no need to spend money in buses or metro.
We are also glad to know that the room was good enough for you and the service you received from our staff was also good. As for the breakfast, I would like to inform you that we have a special price per person and per day if you take it for the whole stay.

Hope to see you again in the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Tryp Madrid Gran Via Hotel
Malasana
7 Islas Hotel
7 Islas Hotel
#66 of 438 in Madrid
1,389 reviews
Malasana
Petit Palace Triball
Petit Palace Triball
#53 of 438 in Madrid
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#22 of 438 in Madrid
3,464 reviews
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Centro
Tryp Madrid Centro
#273 of 438 in Madrid
1,012 reviews
Chueca
H10 Villa de la Reina Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Madrid Cibeles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Madrid Cibeles Hotel

Address: Calle Mesonero Romanos 13 | corner of Gran Via, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Family Hotel in Madrid
#110 Business Hotel in Madrid
#110 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#125 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £74 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Madrid Cibeles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MADRID TRYP CIBELES extraordinarily located in Madrid Gran Vía, just off the Plaza Callao, and only 10 minutes from mythical places such as Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol, Royal Palace and, the Prado, Reina Sofia and Thyssen. Emblematic building in the center of the Capital, is ideal for shopping Fuencarral and Preciados, and have fun in the musicals or for cultural visits. The TRYP MADRID CIBELES was completely renovated in 2011 and has a total of 8 floors with 132 rooms. Designed for both, leisure and business. With an excellent communication with the main public transports and access roads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Melia, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Tryp Madrid Cibeles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Cibeles Hotel Madrid
Tryp Hotel Cibeles
Tryp Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing