We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive hotel for the price”
Review of Hotel Claridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Claridge
Ranked #59 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orange, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Impressive hotel for the price”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We booked a family room but were surprised to find a two bedroom, two bathroom suite. The whole suite smelled fresh and was in pristine condition, the bathroom was magazine worthy. From the moment we checked in the service was outstanding, the staff was always willing to help and the buffet was varied and had many healthy choices, as well as the typical ham, cheese and varied bread that is eaten for breakfast in Spain. I am quite sure a hotel of this quality on the Gran Via would go for twice what we paid for.
We travel a lot, about 4 times a year and this gem of hotel was a nice surprise. Yes, it may be a bit out of the way from the bustling streets surrounding the Gran Via but the metro station is just a block away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtrekker21012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    354
    58
    16
    10
See reviews for
233
291
51
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Checked into Hotel Claridge on a Saturday afternoon and we were greeted with smiles and great service right away. Our bags were transported to our lovely room on the 11th floor...most comfortable bed and BEST shower in Europe! We had trouble adjusting the thermostat for our room, one call to the front desk and someone arrived in minutes to show us how to work it. Breakfast buffet was a bit pricey at 12 EU per person, however, it was loaded with variety enough to make a nice meal. The best surprise was our meal in the hotel restaurant...not one's to normally stay in for dinner, we were too tired Sunday night to venture far. The Claridge hotel restaurant could compete with any high end restaurant in Madrid...highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank AUrbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel in October last year. It was a beautiful room the service was great and the staff was very helpful. It was a little out of the way of Il Centro, but there was a bus outside the door that took you to the Prado and very close to the tourist attractions.



  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgeMadrid, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Claridge, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Google Translation
Estimado cliente,

Muchas gracias por tomarse su tiempo en escribir, nos alegra que su estancia fuese placentera y recuerde que también tenemos la parada de metro justo frente a la puerta de nuestro hotel, además de los autobuses. Esperamos que vuelva pronto a visitarnos.

Reciba un cariñoso saludo de todo el equipo Claridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We just came back from a weekend at Hotel Claridge. Hotel was fantastic.

On arrival we were greeted by David (great guy) - gave us tips on where to eat, places to go etc. Although this hotel is not in the centre it is just a short distance on the Metro to Puerto del Sol / Plaza Mayor (Metro is across the road). We purchased a 10 journey ticket which allowed you to travel on the Metro or by bus for just over €12 (value for money). There are also quite a few shops to grab a coffee or Sangria depending on what tickles your fancy.

We arrived on 28 Feb and realised Madrid were having their Carnival - fantastic entertainment - cannot complain.

Rooms are clean, spacious, flat screen TV (we were lucky enough to find an English movie channel).

I would recommend this hotel and will certainly be going back at some point.

The only downside was that we were situated at the back of the hotel so view was non existent. Reserve a room at the front or side of the hotel.

Room Tip: High floor and room at the front or side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulidford
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

When going to a country I select a hotel because I want to go back there I look for comfort location good food and good service for me. Claridge hotel meets that when visiting Madrid this is my third stay here. I would like to specially the young man on the front desk who spoke excellent english and was able to fix my I. Pad on which I type this report I would employ him
However I would like to say the staff throughout the hotel are excellent. The menu is good and the food is excellent.

Room Tip: All the rooms I have stayed in have been good and you can adjust the airconditioning.make sure which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Amazing stay which cannot be faulted. Whilst not in the centre very conveniently located with Conde de Casal Metro station right in front of the hotel meaning you can get anywhere in Madrid quite easily. We went to the Real Madrid game on the Saturday night and did all the usual sight seeing with ease on the other days. Being out of the main centre has its advantages anyway not being too hectic. That said the hotel is located on a busy junction but this wasn't a problem as once inside you'd never know as very well soundproofed. Overall the room was very quiet - which for Madrid is quite a big thing - but being February (6th-10th) we didn't have the air con on so cannot say how the hotter months would fair. The hotel is immaculate and tastefully designed having been recently refurbished. It's so clean, modern and cannot fault. We didn't eat at the hotel but from what we saw it was fine. Top tip there is an amazing bakery across the road which is open 7am - 10pm. There aren't any restaurants of any particular note that close to the hotel but as already stated you've the Metro which can be used or if you are happy to walk a bit further the hotel can make recommendations further a field. That said there is a more than pleasant authentic tapas bar/restaurant which I fine 5 minutes up the hill. Even more amazing is the gym - which as with most hotels is free - but without doubt is the best hotel gym and very close to the best gym full stop had the pleasure of using. It is massive and brand new with every machine and more, weights and cardio, ever seen. It's open to the public too so is a genuine fully equipped modern gym for all tastes and wants. I seriously was blown away by how good it was and wasn't expecting it as no-one's mentioned it on here and it isn't overly sold to you beforehand. Most of all however are the great staff in the hotel - so friendly and helpful - as are the majority of Madrileos, which is one of the biggest things I'll take away from our time in Madrid - the people. My biggest shout out though goes to David the porter. A fantastic friendly face to see each day with perfect English and a personality to match. Very knowledgable and full of great tips and easy to chat with. Hotel Claridge management if you read this I hope you recognise one of your biggest assets. Overall a great place to stay which I'd recommend to anyone.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisH1973_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed here from Jan 31st through Feb 2nd and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Our room wasn't particularly large but more than adequate for us. Very comfortable bed, flat screen TV (not that we ever turned it on) and nice clean bathroom.

Front desk staff were very helpful with tips on sights to see and how to get around.

The hotel is right by the metro so 1 easy line change and 15 mins gets you to Puerto del Sol / Plaza Mayor.

We stayed on room only basis but there are cafes close by where you can get a light breakfast (croissants, tostada etc) and plenty of patisseries plus a supermarket directly across the road.

Only blemish on our stay was a poor meal in the restaurant which was cold and disappointing. After a bit of a struggle with the waiter we ended up not paying for the offending dish.

Overall, great value for the price we paid and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimdavies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Jardin Metropolitano
#55 of 436 in Madrid
531 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
El Madrono
El Madrono
#37 of 436 in Madrid
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#62 of 436 in Madrid
1,672 reviews
Arguelles
Suites Viena
Suites Viena
#25 of 436 in Madrid
1,287 reviews
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#4 of 436 in Madrid
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Claridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claridge

Property: Hotel Claridge
Address: Plaza Conde de Casal 6, 28007 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Madrid
#26 Business Hotel in Madrid
#29 Family Hotel in Madrid
#47 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#81 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Claridge 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dominating the Plaza del Conde de Casal, the Claridge Madrid Hotel located in the Retiro district, one of the most vibrant and distinctive areas of the capital. Following a complete refurbishment, the Claridge Hotel has been transformed into a boutique hotel and awarded a four star category in 2012. Its carefully designed interior, decorated with a hint of the American and Classical British styles, creates an individual and highly sophisticated ambience enhanced by a collection of photographs of Madrid, Madrid 2.0, Created by the artist Gerard Franquesa using the Sgraffito technique.The Claridge Hotel, with its highly professional team who are passionate about giving attention to detail, makes it possible for guests to enjoy every comfort and convenience in an ideal location from where, thanks to excellent transport links, the main tourist and business centres of Madrid, restaurants and theatres can all be easily accessed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Mirai, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Claridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claridge Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing