We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work / Pleasure trip to Madrid”
Review of Hotel Claridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Claridge
Ranked #59 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed in the Hotel Claridge for two nights in May while on a business trip.
The hotel was chosen by the company due to it's proximity to work and I couldn't have been more impressed.
I arrived along with a colleague mid morning, 10.45am, check-in was super efficient AND they HAD rooms ready for us.
The room was super comfortable and to rear of building as there was no view over Conde De Casal and NO noise problems.
Breakfast was standard European buffet style but very well presented with plenty of options.
The bonus of the trip was taking in Real Madrid's final game of the season and then being able to witness / partake in some of the celebrations as their rivals Atletico Madrid won their first league title in 18yrs.
While the Claridge is not right in the middle of the city the nearby Metro stop makes easy work of getting there.
All in all a great trip and Fantastic stay at the Claridge.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank saggartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 285 of 934 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

We just returned from Madrid having stayed in the Hotel Claridge for 4 nights.
First impressions was it was near a busy roundabout. We were assigned a room on the fifth
floor but after inspection asked to change due to the noise from the road even though it had a good view, the staff were very accommodating and gave us room 908 which was very quite but no view just the back of another building and dark, but this was fine for us.
The room had all you need for a short stay, including LCD tv, mini bar etc. the bed was a tad hard for us but slept okay. The bathroom only had a shower no bath, toilet and sink again fine for us, All nice with air con as well. We didn't book breakfast due to earlier reviews saying about the cafes around, well we looked and didn't like them much so in the end paid for the buffet breakfast in the hotel 13.40 euros a day. The breakfast was nice though the service could have been better as plates etc were not cleared that quick if at all. We requested a couple of things and eventually our requests were met, not before gentle reminders, i.e.. spoons when they were empty. Overall we were pleased wit the hotel though the location away from the main area can be a bit of pain having to get the metro back and forth when you want to freshen up. We used the 12 euros ten ride tickets between us and found the metro very good. The porter were very helpful with directions etc and helpful hints.. I would have given a very good mark but let down slightly for us by the location and the breakfast but for others this would be fine...

Room Tip: if you want a quite room ask for 908 though the view is poor and dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snarlup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Spent 3 days in Madrid staying at The Hotel Claridge. Front of house staff very accommodating, Najib in particular offered advice and took time to go through the map with us. The hotel is close to the bus route and metro. The room was very large and plenty of room to move around - there were 3 of us. Bathroom extremely spacious. It was disappointing not to have tea and coffee facilities in the room, I also feel small touches like providing tissues would have been nice. Toiletries were not replenished when used.

We had booked half board as this usually works well for us. For a 4* hotel this was a huge disappointment. On night one we were not offered a menu but informed there were two choices of starter and main course. We were offered Russian Salad or a cold soup (local dish). The main course was oxtail or fish. On night two we were offered sautéed cabbage or a green salad for starters and fish or veal stew for mains. Sadly night 3 was no improvement as veal stew was offered again. We ate elsewhere - although given the location of the hotel this was very limited. We noted that other diners who were paying for their meals were offered a complete menu.

Breakfast was plentiful, until the final morning, when there had obviously been a change of staff. Dishes were not topped up, milk had run out and despite asking was not refilled, there was a lack of cutlery and tables were slow to be cleared.
The issue of the evening meal was brought to the hotel's attention. They were sympathetic, and apologetic, however on the last night we had to eat out at extra cost and there was no offer to refund this or at least meet us half way. This sadly detracted from what was a very enjoyable stay and because of this do not feel that we had value for money.

Room Tip: Although front of hotel rooms overlook the very busy road, the double glazing is very efficient
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exhaustedFareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed at Hotel Claridge during the end of May 2014 whilst in Milan for a number of days.

The hotel is well presented, clean and in a convenient location.

What I did not realise on my first night, is Spain still allows smoking inside, so for "non-smokers" make sure you get a non-smoking floor. The hotel itself has 15 floors, and the views are actually really nice, especially at sunrise.

The bar is well stocked, and the staff overall are willing to please.

A few tips for Madrid travellers:

1. Taxi's from the airport should cost 30 Euro, anywhere inside the Ma30. I got ripped off (45 Euro) my first day and learnt it the hard way. It's city policy that it's 30 Euro. Confirm with driver before hand.

2. Opposite the hotel is a Madrid Metro station. Conde de Casal line. To get into the "city centre" take platform 1, head north to Nuevo Ministeros. From there your in centre. A taxi back to hotel shouldnt' cost more than 16 Euro. a 10 trip pass on Metro is about 12 Euro. You can wait up to 15 mins for a Metro train. It finish's at 1.30am

3. a nice area is Santiago Bernabéu Stadium, with Cusco. This is the real madrid football stadium. Again, a taxi back isn't more than 15 euro. Lots of nice area's and places, especially roof terraces for sunset.

Enjoy

Ich.x

Room Tip: make sure you highlight your preference of a smoking or non-smoking room. -
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ichdienme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

All of the hotel staff were very helpful especially David on concierge, Roberto & Raul on reception.

Perfect location, not noisy even though it's on a busy junction. Bus stop for No.14 right outside the hotel which takes you straight into Madrid or No.32. Both €1.50 single journey. Taking approx 7 mins or the Metro is just across the street also € 1.50.

Supermarket over the road with a bottle of Los Molinos blanco for $ 1.69! Fresh baguettes etc...

Spoilt for choice with the numerous Panaderia's offering Cafe con Leche & Pan au Chocolate! Tried several & all really good.

There are numerous bars offering Tapas & Menu del dia around €10 near the hotel & in Madrid itself.

One of our favourites was Taberna Malaspina near Zara just off Plaza Sol! Excellent bar & eatery with very friendly staff!

The bus tour was worth doing as you can hop on & off at your leisure. The Real Madrid Stadium
Tour was very good & our two sons aged 15 would recommend it.

The cable car ride was very disappointing & I wouldn't recommend it.

Looking forward to coming back

Room Tip: 703 & 704 are nice rooms that 2 families can occupy as adjoining rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is a classy 4 stars hotel with very large and nice rooms, a huge gym (a REAL gym, not a room with a couple of machines) and a fine restaurant and bar. The personnel is very nice and helpful. The morning breakfast is correct even if maybe not at the level of a 4 stars hotel both in terms of quantity and quality. A positive note is the presence of a real Nespresso machine for the morning coffee.

Room Tip: Even rooms on the road are rather silent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The Claridge is a beautiful hotel and is so upscale for the price! The rooms are large, very clean, and modern. The bathroom is large and luxurious. The service was outstanding! The front desk staff was so
helpful and friendly yet professional. The location is steps away from both public transportation and taxis. This is a 5 Star hotel for a low price!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Jardin Metropolitano
#60 of 440 in Madrid
581 reviews
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
#146 of 440 in Madrid
1,880 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
El Madrono
El Madrono
#48 of 440 in Madrid
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arguelles
Suites Viena – Plaza de Espana
NH Madrid Ventas
#58 of 440 in Madrid
832 reviews
Maydrit Hotel
#106 of 440 in Madrid
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Claridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claridge

Address: Plaza Conde de Casal 6, 28007 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Madrid
#26 Business Hotel in Madrid
#29 Family Hotel in Madrid
#45 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#81 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £67 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Claridge 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dominating the Plaza del Conde de Casal, the Claridge Madrid Hotel located in the Retiro district, one of the most vibrant and distinctive areas of the capital. Following a complete refurbishment, the Claridge Hotel has been transformed into a boutique hotel and awarded a four star category in 2012. Its carefully designed interior, decorated with a hint of the American and Classical British styles, creates an individual and highly sophisticated ambience enhanced by a collection of photographs of Madrid, Madrid 2.0, Created by the artist Gerard Franquesa using the Sgraffito technique.The Claridge Hotel, with its highly professional team who are passionate about giving attention to detail, makes it possible for guests to enjoy every comfort and convenience in an ideal location from where, thanks to excellent transport links, the main tourist and business centres of Madrid, restaurants and theatres can all be easily accessed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Claridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claridge Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing