We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean mid-range hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rafaelhoteles Atocha
Ranked #214 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
521 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 569 helpful votes
“Clean mid-range hotel”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

A clean and comfortable functional mid-range hotel. Not too far away from many attractions with a little walk. If you have difficulty walking though it might not be for you. Not for a romantic getaway. Quite near to the Atocha Railway Station, which is an absolute den of thieves and pickpockets.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1800hammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier G, Guest Relations Manager at Rafaelhoteles Atocha, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear guest:
Thank you so much for taking the time lo leave us your feedback online. We are disappointed to learn that you did not like our convenient location, near the major touristic areas and museums. To be situated near the Atocha Railway Station has more advantages than inconveniences in general.
We are grateful for your review and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best Regards.
Javier Grao
Guest Relations
Rafaelhoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    525
    292
    110
    20
See reviews for
182
371
57
390
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

While the location of this hotel may work for those in Madrid on business or those with a tour group who are travelling by tour bus, in my view, it is a very poor location for tourism on one's own. I would not stay here again as a tourist.

While the hotel is located "next" to the Atocha train station, "next to" is a relative term. It is actually a fair number of LONG blocks (5? 6? 7? 8?) from the entrance/exit, and that walk is through a somewhat gritty, dust blown, trash-strewn residential/commercial (but nowhere to eat, essentially) area. The Atocha metro station is a bit further on from the station--not very convenient although we used it frequently of necessity to get to the city center. (Metro is great.)

The hotel's physical plant is communist grey block on the exterior, and an attempt at contemporary style with a cheap effect in the rooms. Our room was spacious and the bathroom perfectly adequate. The housekeeping was excellent. The front desk service was perfunctory.

Soundproofing between rooms allowed us to hear a neighbor vomiting all night.

The Rafaelhoteles is a 4 star hotel in a 1 star location. Most unfortunate.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I went to Madrid to spend my 5 day holiday with my family.
We were accomodated in Rafaelhotels Atocha.
The hotel was very clean, the breakfast excellent, the staff VERY friendly.
The WI-FI was a little bit slow, but free.
It is near the center of Madrid, the underground station is near, too.
I will suggest that they should have more international (english speaking) channels on TV.
Greetings from Belgrade.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spaled2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier G, Guest Relations Manager at Rafaelhoteles Atocha, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for sharing your experiences online. It is wonderful to learn that we exceeded your expectations and provided you with attentive service. We take into consideration your suggestion about more english channels.
Thank you for review and recommendation.
We hope to serve you again in the near future.
Best regads.
Javier Grao
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This property is situated in a quiet lane next to the Atochya station. The room was clean and adequate. The breakfast which was served was not spectacular but nothing to complain about. Wish there were a few English newspapers in the reception/waiting area. A Chinese restaurant in the adjacent lane is totally worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Degee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Rafaelhoteles Atocha, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear guest:
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Rafaelhoteles Atocha Hotel and sharing your experience online. It is nice to know you liked the location of our hotel and the rooms and rest of hotel services. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.
Best regards.
Javier Grao
Guest Relations
Rafaelhoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Stayed two nights at Atocha during a conference. The hotel is located in a quiet area near the Atocha station. The sorrounding area is not very interesting. The hotel is dark and not very charming. Rooms are spacious and clean, free WiFi and large bathroom are on the positive side. The biggest problem is the food. The breakfast buffet has small variety of bread, heavy boiled sausages and dry eggs. The dinner menu was a not acceptable. The fish which seems to be too old, pasta not cooked and the chef has obviously forgotten to seasoning the food. It was not possible to put drinks etc. at the room bill as they staff insisted that I was not the person staying in my room! The nail on the head was that a guest got her trolley and purse stolen in the reception.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelBNielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Rafaelhoteles Atocha, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear guest:
Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. We were disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant you did not find it to your tastes; we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guests in the future. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.
We welcome any opportunity to improve.
Best Regards.
Javier Grao
Guest Relations
Rafaelhoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

Location, location, location, close to the AVE train station and close to the office. Adjacent rooms very noisy, somebody really loud at 5am! Wifi very, very slow, Tv stations weak signal, no international news channels. Called room service for a period of half an hour, then decided to I've up! Breakfast buffet was poor, anaemic sausages and bacon. Although evening meal was very good. Would I stay again, only if the company was paying.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier G, Guest Relations Manager at Rafaelhoteles Atocha, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear guest:
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments online. It is nice to know you liked the convenient location of our hotel. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.
Best Regards.
Javier Grao
Guest Relations
Rafaelhoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

easy to get to from airport (via Metro) or Atocha train station (on foot) but for the price I thought it was average. The bed was not overly confortable and the rooms noisy. Could here everything going on in adjacent rooms and maids made a racket every morning! not the best hotel if you want a good night sleep.
On the + side, there is a nice courtyard at the back.
Food was poor at breakfast but nice at the restaurant.
I'd try another hotel next time...

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view to the courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebmallet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier G, Guest Relations Manager at Rafaelhoteles Atocha, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear guest:
Thank you for the review of your stay. We are pleased you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel and our restaurant services. We want our guests to have a relaxing, carefree stay and to enjoy our accommodations amenities; we are disappointed to learn that this is not what you experienced due to noise around your room. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.
Best regards.
Javier Grao
Guest Relations
Rafaelhoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
AC Hotel Atocha
#193 of 435 in Madrid
781 reviews
AC Hotel Carlton Madrid
#150 of 435 in Madrid
1,260 reviews
Retiro
Hotel Agumar
Hotel Agumar
#244 of 435 in Madrid
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
NH Madrid Atocha
NH Madrid Atocha
#134 of 435 in Madrid
335 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Hotel Paseo del Arte
#123 of 435 in Madrid
1,934 reviews
Retiro
Only YOU Hotel Atocha
Only YOU Hotel Atocha
#10 of 435 in Madrid
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafaelhoteles Atocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafaelhoteles Atocha

Property: Rafaelhoteles Atocha
Address: Calle Mendez Alvaro 30, 28045 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in Madrid
#121 Business Hotel in Madrid
#142 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rafaelhoteles Atocha 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafaelhoteles Atocha is located few minutes walking to Madrid-Puerta de Atocha high-speed railway station, near to the main museums of Madrid: Reina Sofia, El Prado, Caixa-Forum and Thyssen-Bornemisza. The hotel has 245 equipped rooms with all the facilities needed to make your stay agreeable and relaxing. The hotel has handicaped rooms and smokers rooms. The restaurant Azafran offers the best dishes of Mediterranean gastronomy. The hotel has 8 meeting rooms, ideal to celebrate events up to 800 attendees. Also a garden terrace is available for outdoor events (capacity up to 40 attendees). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rafaelhoteles Atocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafaelhoteles Atocha Madrid
Rafaelhoteles Atocha Hotel Madrid
Hotel Rafael Atocha
Atocha Hotel Rafael

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing