We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for a very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vincci Capitol Hotel
Ranked #180 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly located in between areas full of shops, restaurants, bar and cultural landmarks. The amazing part was that, despite having a room on the second floor, giving on Gran Via, it was very silent. Upon check in, we got a very pretty room but too small for a 3day stay. It was a bit claustrophobic. We asked for a change and for a little supplement, we got a much more comfortable room, with a jacuzzi. Both the room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. The jacuzzi wasn't working but, after mentioning it to the hotel, it was fixed. The only con's were that the room was a bit too dark and that the wifi only worked when standing close the door. It was a lovely hotel and we got it for a great price. I totally would recommend it and go back. Please note that it doesn't seem that the written requests upon booking (a double bed and a balcony) were read and that you should therefore maybe call the hotel and/or remind them about your wishes at the time of check in.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Capitol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Vincci Hotels and sending your comments and feedback regarding our establishment. We are pleased to know that your stay with us met your expectations and that you were especially satisfied with our location and our rooms. That you had a good experience with us is our greatest compensation and what motivates us to continue working hard so that our guest´s experience in our hotels is as pleasant and enjoyable as possible.
We regret, however, that some aspects of your stay were not entirely to your liking and would like to inform you that we will take good note of your opinions: surely they will help us continue to improve the service we offer our guests.
We would, in any case, like to clarify that we always keep in mind and try to attend to guest’s requests at the moment of booking and during their stay. In those cases where for some reason it was not possible to do so, we always give an explanation to the guest and try to offer them an alternative that they are satisfied with.
In your case, we are sorry we could not offer you a room with a balcony and double bed. Requests are subject to availability and at the moment of your arrival it was not possible to assign you one. We are sorry for any inconveniences this caused are would also like to apologize if, in addition, our staff did not adequately inform you as to why we could not take care of your request. In any case, we are pleased that we were able to offer you a change of room that better fit with your preferences.
We are at your disposal for whatever you may need.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 358 of 1,546 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2012

This place is terrible. Absolutely terrible. While the location is excellent, the bed quality, bathroom, utilities and service are deplorable. How about the specifics....
1. The air conditioning did not work for the duration of the stay. They did not/could not fix it, and refused to move me to a different room. They also refused to relocate me to another hotel after several days enduring late summer Madrid heat in a stuffy, cramped room. Thank God I was not there during the day, but I don't enjoy sleeping in a pool a sweat so nights were awful.
2. The bathroom was designed by a moron. The shower is so small that you cannot turn around without knocking into the controls and slamming elbows into the wall. If you drop the soap, you must literally exit the shower in order to bend over and pick it up. You cannot even lather yourself it is small. The sink did not drain, and the toilet ran constantly. It was like being in a hostel.
3. I thought the bed was a practical joke. Seriously. It was so thin that you could see every spring. So I obviously felt them also.
4. The service was awful, as mentioned in bullet point one. To make it worse, they spoke no English which made the discussions very difficult. Look, I don't expect everyone to speak English, but it is a hotel in Madrid. I also speak German and Turkish, but that didn't help. You better speak Spanish or need help during the couple hours in the middle of the day when the English speaking help is there, or else...

Location is great. Cannot complain about that. But lots of hotels are located conveniently. Also, the hotel appeared clean. Otherwise, as I've made clear, this place is awful. Stay. Away.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pharmanuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Capitol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Dear guest,
We would like to inform you that at the moment it is not possible to identify you as a guest of our hotel and respond to your comments as you have not sent us your reservation number, as we have requested on various occasions. Without this information or something to identify you as a guest, it is not possible for us to follow up on your feedback. We would be delighted to do so if you sent this information to the following email address: gema.gallardo@vinccihoteles.com indicating in the subject line the following information: Vincci Capitol 17/10/2012.
In any case, we would like to clarify that our restaurant has not had any problems with the air conditioning during the previous months and in those situations where a guest mentions that the room is not to their liking or that, in spite of our ongoing revision and maintenance work, there is a problem, we always try to take care of as soon as possible any imperfections or damage and, if availability allows us, we will offer the guest a change of room, trying at all times to make their stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. This protocol is strictly and immediately applied in these types of situations.
We would also like to note that our reception staff speak English perfectly.
Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I stayed here when on business, I had room 207 which was a large room and was very spacious. The bathroom was spotless. It has a great sun terrace with sun loungers and comfy seeting and several other terraces with some fantastic views over Madrid. It did lack an iron in the room which would have been usefull and the previous comments relating to the bathroom light being linked to the main controll was very frustrating. The bar on the 1st floor is very good with a friendly bar man and great views over looking the main street.
I would return when in Madrid.

Room Tip: 207 was huge and has a great view overlooking the Gran Via.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PWN13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Capitol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Vincci Hotels and sending us your comments and suggestions. We are pleased to know that our establishment met your expectations and that our rooms, sights and bar service were to your liking. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones.
With respect to our ironing service, you should be aware that due to safety reasons our rooms do not have irons. However, among our services with an additional cost, we have an ironing and laundry service.
We would love to see you again soon at our establishment.
Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

First the good. Good location, within walking distance of everything you want to see. Rooms clean and quiet considering the location on a very busy road. Nice sun terrace. But.. Rooms small and the lighting is abysmal, impossible to read by. Can only turn on the bathroom light by turning on all lights. Towels smelt of food. Corridors dark. Room service tray left outside next doors room at 10pm, still there at 12.00 the next day. Didn't have breakfast, because it was far cheaper to eat in one of the cafes nearby. Would probably look for somewhere else for a return visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkS177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Capitol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for the time you have taken to write your opinions and feedback regarding your experience in our hotel. We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with our location and our terrace. Surly our guest´s satisfaction is our reason to be and what we work for every day in Vincci Hotels.
We regret, however, not having completely met your expectations and that certain aspects of your stay were not to your liking. Regarding this we would like to inform you that we take note of each and every guest´s observations, complaints, suggestions and comments, always with the aim of improving.
We are also sorry that you were not entirely pleased with our rooms. In this regard we would like to clarify that we have available three different types of rooms (standard, standard with terrace, standard with Jacuzzi, superior, skylight junior suite, Fila 4, Fila 5 and Fila 6) with the goal of being able to adapt ourselves completely to the tastes and needs of our guests. Those guests who are not pleased with the room assigned can say so and always in so far as it is possible our staff will offer them a change of room, trying at all times to make sure their stay is comfortable and enjoyable.
Regarding our lighting system, we would like to note that we have an advanced system that allows regulating the lighting for different settings so that each guest can find the best lighting for their tastes at each moment. However, those guests who find difficulties adjusting the lighting can mention it and our staff will immediately assist them.
We are at your disposal for whatever you may need.
Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We booked in for a mid week short break in Madrid. The hotel was perfectly located within a short walk of Sol, on the main open-top tour bus route and near to all facilities. Our room gave a wonderful roof top view of Madrid, spacious, modern and spotless it was a pleasaure to come back to after a day sightseeing. Using the hotel bar on our return after dinner gave a view of Madrid by night down Gran Via. The barman was quietly attentive to all guests, prompt, efficient and courteous with service. Would definitely stay again given the opportunity.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoozNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Capitol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

To our esteemed guest:
We appreciate your comments. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed with a couple of friends in a triple room. Room was a decent size, with a nice bathroom. Only complaint was the lighting. Couldn't work out how to have light in the bathroom without putting main room light on - not ideal in the middle of the night. Room was very clean but quite dark. Very heavy curtains blocked out a lot of potential light. Having said all that, great location and very good value and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Wandererd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Capitol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Vincci Hotels and sending your comments. We are pleased to know that your stay with us met your expectations and that our location, rooms and cleaning service were to your liking. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.
We regret, however, that our lighting system was not to your liking. We will take your opinions into account: they will doubtless help us to improve the customer service we offer our guests in the future. In this regard we would like to note that we have an advanced lighting system that allows one to regulate the lighting for different settings with the goal that each client can find the optimal lighting for their tastes at any moment. However, those guests who have difficulties adjusting the lighting of their room can mention it and our staff will take care of it.
Ultimately, we work to satisfy our guests and their opinions are what always guide us in doing so.
Warmest regard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I stayed in a standard room (309) for two nights at the Vinnci Capitol. For the price, I think the hotel is more modern than others I have stayed at around the area, however the room was smaller than what I am used to. I think if you are planning to stay for more than a few nights, or have a lot of luggage you would be better booking a larger room at the same hotel, or another hotel altogether - it would be very cramped.

The decor is quite modern and the bed was comfortable. For those staying as a couple, it should be noted that the bed in the standard room is two singles put together - not too unusual normally, but they are actually made as seperate beds and then put together, so if you like sleeping next to your partner, I think this would be difficult.

One thing that stood out to me was the large selection of movies and TV - the only hotel out of four I have stayed at during my trip to offer a variety of english speaking channels which was very welcome when you are far from home.

Room service was very quick, the croquettes and pizza were my favourite. I tried the jamon beans, however they are extremely oily and had an unusual taste - I would not recommend them.

Staff were pleasant, and accommodating. Do not expect a great deal of service though - for example I struggled to open a door myself and lug two suitcases and a handbag to try and hail a cab. At most good hotels, you would find that a staff member would help guests with their bags, but at the Vincci Capitol there were two staff within a few meters, neither who even attempted to assist. Overall - not a big deal at all, but indicative of the friendly but 'minimal' level of service you can expect at the hotel.

I am coming back to Madrid in a couple of months, and of the hotels I stayed at, due the great position and relatively cheap cost I would likely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Capitol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Vincci Hotels and sending your comments and feedback regarding your stay in our establishment. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations and that our location, beds, room service and TV channel selection were all to your liking. Surely, our guest´s satisfaction is our reason to be and what we work for every day in our chain.
We regret, however, that you were not entirely pleased with specific aspects of your
stay and would like to inform you that we will bear close in mind your comments and
feedback: surely it will help us to continually improve the service we offer our guests.
Ultimately, we work hard to achieve customer satisfaction, and your opinions are always the most useful in helping us to do so.
We would really love to see you again on your next visit to Madrid.
Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Hotel Vincci Via 66
Hotel Vincci Via 66
#117 of 438 in Madrid
1,521 reviews
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Centro
Iberostar Las Letras
Iberostar Las Letras
#47 of 438 in Madrid
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Cibeles Hotel
Centro
Eurostars Casa de la Lirica
Centro
Emperador Hotel Madrid
Emperador Hotel Madrid
#142 of 438 in Madrid
2,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Capitol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Capitol Hotel

Address: Calle Gran Via 41, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Madrid
#71 Business Hotel in Madrid
#106 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#128 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £91 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci Capitol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Madrid: the Hotel Vincci Capitol, located right on the Gran Vía and Plaza Callao. It is a building symbolic of Madrid’s “Art Deco” civil architecture. The ground floor houses one of the most famous cinemas on Madrid’s Gran Vía, Cines Capitol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vincci Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing