We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best location hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vincci Capitol Hotel
Ranked #183 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Hotel location is in the center of the center !
Reception people are nice.
Rooms are big and clean. (If possible - order room with view to the city or Gran Via street, upper)
Rich breakfast.
Good WiFi in the Rooms.

Room Tip: If possible - order room with view to the city or Gran Via street, upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lironmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 1,564 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Vincci Capitol is located in the bustling heart of Madrid's most touristy area. Only a stone's throw away from Plaza Mayor, this hotel is a great place to stay if you want to visit the bustling Gran Via area. The hotel itself was very quiet - well air-conditioned (key for Madrid in the summer), with an extremely friendly staff. The 1920s style decor was also a plus. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in march this year my husband took me on a surprise break for my 40th birthday. I can not say anything bad about the hotel or staff.
Excellent customer service rooms cleaned daily and to a great standard.
Excellent location and easy links to transport networks.
Loads of wonderful places to eat and drink and shop along with some stunning places within waking distance of the hotel to visit.
Whilst there I had a knock on the door and to my surprise cleaning staff had seen it was my birthday and sent chocolates and champagne up to my room compliments from the hotel. Lovely touch which completed my stay.
All I will add and it's not a criticism but personal preference I would ask for a room with a view if I get the chance to go back that would have made it even more special.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TreeReade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect. Smack in the middle of Gran Vía, corner of Plaza de Callao, and steps away from Puerta del Sol, so access to most subway lines is easy, as is walking to the main touristic points in the centre (Palacio de Oriente, Opera, Prado Museum, Puerta de Alcalá, Neptune, Cibeles, Parque del Buen Retiro, old Madrid, etc).

The hotel has a full-service restaurant, a SPA, and some public-access terraced areas (I assume for guests only) in the upper floors that offer swift views of the city.
Needless to say, unless you specifically booked a package that includes meals or SPA treatment, these services are pay-per-use (I read a review of someone complaining that the SPA was not included in the price of the room and they considered that to be false advertising... incredible).

We booked the Junior Suite, which unfortunately was not available when we arrived early (way too early do to our flight). The bellperson took care of our bags while we roamed the city, and by the time we came back to the hotel after lunch, all our bags were waiting for us in the room.

The room itself was better than I expected.
Access to it is through a private elevator on the 9th floor. The shape of the room is circular, which I thought would be an issue for my OCD, but it wasn't; there is a divider wall in the middle of the rather large room that separates it into several areas (as you walk inside the room towards the left: bathroom, jacuzzi with somewhat of a view, little corner with table and chairs in the bedroom, bedroom itself with fantastic views of Gran Vía and Callao, work desk area, small living-room area, and a spectacular terrace with views of the Palacio de Oriente.
What with the windows in the bedroom and the large balcony by the living-room area, we had almost 360 degrees of incredible views of the city.

The King bed was comfortable, the espresso machine helpful (though tea was not available), the jacuzzi worked well once you learnt how to operate it, the staff was helpful, responsive, and friendly without being overbearing, and the free wifi didn't suck.
Despite the ongoing craziness of the celebrations and protests (we happened to get there when Spain had won the EuroCup, and the King of Spain abdicated a few days after).

The little issues were the lack of iron and ironing board (though one is provided relatively promptly upon request, though it's not a good solution when you're in a rush), the jacuzzi's odd operation, the odd piping-system smell in the whole hotel (apparently it's a persistent issue, seeing other reviews, which we easily fixed with a Glade plug-on scent; we were ready), the strange setting of the bathroom area (which is really not quite a bathroom itself but an area of the back of the room with the jacuzzi for two and gloriously oversized rainshower, two strangely placed sinks, and a door with the commode), and a slight lack of attention either from maintenance or housekeeping (one of the sinks was obviously stuck; housekeeping must not have noticed, no idea why not, so the second day I had a look at it: a previous guest had emptied his/her martini glass inside with all the lemon peels, which were clogging the drain. Easy to fix).

These issues were definitely not enough to detract from a fabulous stay at this hotel.
Not only will I stay again on my next trip to Madrid, I will also recommend it (though I will make sure I explain the issues I saw).

Room Tip: Go for the top-floor Junior Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DanielKalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

It's in a very good place in downtown of Madrid (right behind of the famous schweppes sign) The hotel decoration is based in cinema. Rooms are modern and well maintained. They all have an interesting set of lights and are pretty silent.

Staff is very nice and professional.
A good option if you get a good offer.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Ga11ego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

It's my second time with Vincci hotels. After a great first time in Vincci Via 66 I decided to book (6 months in advance!) the better located Vincci Capitol hotel.
Upon arrival we got such a bad room that the receptionist apologized for it, before we even saw it!
And man it was bad, you need to pass two elevators to get to it, it's very small and the smell there was awful. I was really disappointed and the only way out of this room was to upgrade to a suite on my own expense (A good service would call for the hotel to offer this upgrade for free).

Stay away.
Daniel

Room Tip: From the tenth floor you will need two elevators to get to the room. This is not what you're in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DanielHaviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincciHoteles, Atención al Cliente at Vincci Capitol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear guest,

We would firstly like to thank you for choosing to stay with us again in Madrid.

However, we are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations this time.
Please rest assured that we take note of all comments, complaints and suggestions made by our clients in order to enable the improvement of our services.

Please excuse the misunderstanding upon your arrival. We would like to assure you that whenever we are aware of a problem with a room, we never offer it to our clients.

We are sorry that you were not happy with the room you were assigned. This is a room in a privileged location with fantastic views that are highly esteemed by our guests.

We would also like to point out that, after dealing with your request and showing you various standard rooms that were not to your liking, you chose a superior room which, as we advised, is subject to a supplement.

We regret that, despite all of our efforts, we did not manage to make your stay satisfactory.

Please do not hesitate to contact us should you require further assistance.

Kind regards,
Carmen Fernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

It was not my first visit to Madrid nor my first experience in Vincci Hotels but my fist stay at Capitol. Unrivaled location, excellent location and even i was upgraded to the superior deluxe room with its outstanding view covering the whole Gran Via area. Do not miss the stay in this hotel, highly recommended.
Go by night to rooftop and you will enjoy the view of the city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JobelK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Hotel Vincci Via 66
Hotel Vincci Via 66
#115 of 441 in Madrid
1,556 reviews
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#19 of 441 in Madrid
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#26 of 441 in Madrid
4,015 reviews
Centro
Iberostar Las Letras
Iberostar Las Letras
#43 of 441 in Madrid
1,682 reviews
Huertas
Vincci Soho
Vincci Soho
#103 of 441 in Madrid
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Capitol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Capitol Hotel

Address: Calle Gran Via 41, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Madrid
#71 Business Hotel in Madrid
#106 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#129 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £77 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci Capitol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Madrid: the Hotel Vincci Capitol, located right on the Gran Vía and Plaza Callao. It is a building symbolic of Madrid’s “Art Deco” civil architecture. The ground floor houses one of the most famous cinemas on Madrid’s Gran Vía, Cines Capitol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vincci Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing