We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base to explore Madrid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
AC Hotel Carlton Madrid
Ranked #151 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester
1 review
“Good base to explore Madrid”
Reviewed 31 May 2008

We stayed 4 nights at the Carlton. Got quiet room on a higher floor overlooking side street. Very clean and comfortable but beds are very hard and pillows are the total opposite so might not please everyone. No facility to make hot drink in room and you have to pay for room safe. There is no access to iron/ironing board available for guest use (you have to use hotel laundry service at silly money).
Only real negative for us though was the staff at the reception desk. Couldn't help but get the impression that the customer wasn't really at the top of their priorities. Rest of the staff were fine.
Didn't eat at the hotel - Madrid has a huge number of places to eat to suit all tastes and pockets. Didn't even take breakfasts as there are lots of places around the hotel and their price of 13 Euro each wasn't enticing.
Madrid Metro is clean and efficient - Palos de la Frontera stop is marginally closest to hotel but Atocha Station stop is good too.
Sol area (just a few stops up the line from Palos de la Frontera) is the area to go for restaurants, bars, nightlife. Madrid is a great town to be out in and you can't fail to find somewhere you like for whatever mood you are in at the time. Just don't expect to eat dinner early! A day trip on the train from Atocha station is well worth the short journey.

  • Liked — Size and cleanliness of room
  • Disliked — Reception staff
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Stonechip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    624
    207
    39
    23
See reviews for
214
567
79
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2008

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. I had a single room on the 7th floor that had a little balcony with a table and chair. The room was nice but the bathroom was quite small. The bath had a glass enclosure, making it difficult to get into and out of the bath. All the windows have double glazing which cuts out all traffic noise. However, the walls are very thin and I could hear people in the room next door. I also got woken up by people arriving late at night who slammed their doors.

On my first night, there was a loud sound of machinery nearby. This went on till about midnight. It sounded like it came from the hotel, as the double glazing is so good I couldn't hear anything from outside. When I complained the next morning, the hotel staff said they had no idea what the noise could have been, but quickly moved me to a better room (a suite with a double bed). This was on the first floor and was a huge improvement. The bathroom was large and had a spa bath. There was a lot more wardrobe space. There was also a second door that insulated the room from any noise from the corridor. I wasn't charged extra for the room, but would happily have paid more as I had a very peaceful night's sleep on the second night. It was room 802 in case anyone wants to book it. The hotel apparently don't have many suites.

The breakfast buffet at the hotel cost £13 and was well worth the money. You can get a cooked breakfast (bacon, eggs, mushrooms), toast, croissants, cold meat, yoghurt, cereal, juice and lots more.

The hotel is located about 5 minutes walk from Atocha station. It's perfectly located if you are travelling to or from Atocha. I would stay at the Hotel Carlton again if I return to Madrid.

  • Liked — Great location, good breakfast, no traffic noise
  • Disliked — Small bathroom in single rooms. Could hear noise from other rooms.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank balletmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2008

The goal was to find a four star hotel that offered an inclusive rate for B&B - few do in Madrid - and one located close to, but not in, the old town. Hotel Carlton fitted our criteria and looked good on paper. And so it proved to be in real life.

We had a first floor room that looked onto an inner courtyard, not much of a view, but certainly quiet. The room was excellent with a good sized lounge opening into a large double bedroom, off which was a large well appointed bathroom - all very spacious, well furnished and decorated.

The room came with a mini bar, safe (addlt cost option), tea and coffee making facilities, two TVs and a wide range of complimentary soaps, shampoos and such like.

The breakfast buffet included hot and cold food, was of good quality with plentiful choice - a great start to the day.

We tried the hotel restaurant on one evening; the food was o.k. - nothing special and not really value for money. Spanish cuisine is very much a personal taste and finding a good restaurant – as opposed to a bar or café – is not easy. The Spanish also prefer to eat late, often from 10 p.m. onwards

Location; just 10 minutes from a Metro station, within 15 minutes walk of the old town, or the fabulous Retiro Park – well worth a visit, particularly on a Sunday – when the locals visit the park to stroll, listen to live music, or just enjoy the sun. Plenty of local sights, galleries and museums, railway station all within 5 to 15 minutes walk.

Overall a good choice.

  • Liked — Good size room
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHMStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bloomfield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2008

This hotel is on the "outskirts" of what Priceline calls Old Madrid. It is quite a walk to the different plazas where most of the tourists want to be. However it is quite close to the Museums. I paid $190 US per night which I thought was a little high for Priceline but it was last minute and it was May Day weekend.

Bath: Very Nice

Bed: Not Very Nice (An American hotel would go out of business with this bed)

Environment: Noisy and we had an inside room!

Breakfast: Not included with the Priceline Rate (Hotel wanted an additional 13 EURO per person....NO THANKS !)

Very close to train station.

  • Liked — Last minute availability
  • Disliked — Beds and Noise
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SteveeWestBloomfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2008

We spent 3 nights at the hotel. Though reception had a business-like approach we found them friendly and helpful. The rooms and shower facilities were reasonably spacious and very clean. Breakfasts were great and we loved sitting at the bar for a sundowner. The Carlton is centrally positioned and once we had worked out the metro we were able to to get around easily. Attocha station is easy walking distance and a trip to Toldedo (takes +- 40 mins) is a must. The only fault we could find is that the hotel does not have International adaptors available and I couldn't find a shop in the vicinity that stocked them. Otherwise I highly recommend the Hotel.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gypsype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjose, ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2008

Excellent Place to stay in Madrid. Location is great. Very nice and modern hotel, and staffs are friendly. Breakfast Buffet is great, but expensive.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Like_travelling_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton , California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2008

The hotel wasn't as bad as I thought it would be after having read some reviews. From the airport we bought the 10 ticket pass and went to the Atocha subway stop after transferring once. From there it was about a 5 minute walk. The neighborhood the hotel is located in is not that great but for the price you can't beat it. The staff at the front desk was fine..I guess we didn't get the rude person. Our room was on the 4th floor looking out of our window at another building. The room was larger than I expected and our bathroom was quite large. It was all very clean and looked as if the room had been recently painted and the bathroom looked remodeled. We didn't have any problems with the bed. Also there was some noise one night of loud guests but other than that it wasn't too bad. Breakfast at the hotel is exspensive but since there is nothing close by to eat at you really don't have much choice. The selection was very good with lots of different food options to choose from. They also serve dinner at the restuarant but nothing looked real appetizing to us. I guess we are just not used to some of the food served there. The location of the hotel is quite good. You are close to the train station and also to many of the museums. The Reina Sofia is very close by. Near the Sofia is a pizza restaurant where we ate a couple of times called Pinocchios. It wasn't as exspensive as lot of the other places. We couldn't find anywhere decent to eat near the hotel. We even asked at the front desk and they said there was nowhere to eat. Overall we had a good experience and would probably stay here again.

  • Liked — Location near museums and train station and the price
  • Disliked — Internet access was exspensive...also not the best neighborhood
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigerlily6550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
AC Hotel Atocha
#191 of 436 in Madrid
772 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Hotel Paseo del Arte
#124 of 436 in Madrid
1,912 reviews
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#64 of 436 in Madrid
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
NH Madrid Atocha
NH Madrid Atocha
#138 of 436 in Madrid
320 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Mediodia
Hotel Mediodia
#198 of 436 in Madrid
885 reviews
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#76 of 436 in Madrid
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Carlton Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Carlton Madrid

Property: AC Hotel Carlton Madrid
Address: Paseo Delicias 26, 28045 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Carlton Madrid 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Marriott, Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your AC Hotel Carlton Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing