We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Naff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AC Hotel Carlton Madrid
Ranked #153 of 443 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The only good thing about this hotel is the proximity to Madrid Atocha railway station - about 10 mins walk. I guess the hotel is also within walking distance of the main boulevard.

However, the rooms are tiny "shoe boxes" and the only free WiFi is in the lobby. If you want WiFi in your room, it's €18 (tax inclusive) for 24hrs. What a con. If you get a room that faces the main road then it can also be noisy.

Breakfast is average and there are few communal areas such as a bar. Will give this a miss next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uk_hotel_expert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlton01, Director General at AC Hotel Carlton Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, they will help us to improve in the future.

We are really sorry for the inconveniences caused during your stay.

We would like to inform you that we have different type of rooms with different sizes. The hotel is studying the possibility of installing free wifi in all the hotel.

Thank you for your comments about our breakfast, however we think it has an excellent value for money.

Thank you for your comments, we really appreciate them.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

402 - 408 of 1,336 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

Stayed here for two nights using Marriott points. Only chose this hotel b/c I could not use my points at other properties.

Pros: Located close to train station and museums; rooms are big; metro about 10 min walk.
Cons: ALL noises heard in room including people showering, using the bathroom, drying their hair, talking in the hallway,etc. The acoustics at this property are horrible.
The neighborhood is not attractive, while it's not an unsafe area, it doesn't have a nice strolling atmosphere, you pretty much stay in the hotel while there.
When you walk in there is a revolving door and then steps down, not very convenient when you have luggage.
Wifi is very weak and you have to get a passcode for each device each day. Fortunately as an elite member it was free for me but if I had had to pay it would have been upsetting to have such poor service.
Menu was very American and the buffet was overpriced and poor. Do not recommend eating at all at the hotel.
The desk staff were not very helpful, they had limited city knowledge and couldn't recommend very good restaurants.

Overall, unless you have a free stay like I did, I wouldn't recommend this hotel. There are so many better places to stay in Madrid, why waste your time here? In hindsight, I wish I had not used points and just paid to stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: There are no quiet rooms in this hotel due to interior noise, bring ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avaya109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlton01, Director General at AC Hotel Carlton Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, they will help us to improve in the future.

We would have appreciated if you had told us all your complaints and suggestions about our hotel during your stay, we would have resolved everything we could.

Thank you again for your comments, we appreciate them.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed in this hotel 2 nights. The room was large, larger than the average 4 stars hotel. Staff kind and nice. Comfortable lobby, perfect for a drink while checking emails. Better than average breakfast as well. A very pleasant experience. I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CurvalM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The location is wonderful: very near the Atocha train station and also near the Reina Sofía museum and the avenue of the Prado. Fabulous restaurants and music venues are only a short walk away. The hotel is modern in appearance and room décor - dark earthy tones. The rooms and bathrooms are larger than most Spanish hotels and very well appointed. However, the one major drawback for those of us who are on business trips and who need to rest/sleep at night is that there is no soundproofing in the rooms. I was there twice in two different weeks so had a different room on different floors. Both times, I heard when others came to their rooms before and after midnight. Anyone speaking in a normal voice in the hallway or even in the rooms next door can be heard quite clearly. If the television or radio is turned on, one can also hear that clearly. The other drawback is that they don't offer free wireless in the rooms, only in the downstairs lobby. Most nicer hotels and many of the smaller non chain hotels now offer free wireless all over the hotel. The breakfast was wonderful and plentiful. However, they start serving at 7 AM so if you have a flight at 10 AM or before, you can't take advantage of that!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynn2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlton01, Director General at AC Hotel Carlton Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, they will help us to improve.

We are really sorry for the inconveniences caused during your stay.

Under normal cirumstances there is no noise in the rooms, the hotel was built to ensure the rest of our guests.

Our wifi service in the lobby is free and of an excellent quality. The hotel is studying the possibility to install free wifi in all the hotel.

We appreciate your comments.

They will help us to improve.

Thank you and best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Good:
- the staff are so friendly and speaks good English. For those who insist on perfect English, try learning Spanish, it's less pompous. Antonio behind the bar has a great smile too.

- Great location, 4 mins walk to Atocha metro and railway station (direct train on Renee to airport), 6mins walk to reina sofia, 13 mins to the Prado.

- Value. Good sized rooms, very clean, modern.

- small but functional fitness room.

- breakfast till noon on the wkends.

- bar is open till 2300h the dinner menu is not extensive but provides adequate variety. The veal burger is yum.

- love the ball shaped soap.


Bad:
Lifts. The two lifts are small. Good for 4 average sized adults max.

Showers. The thermal-stet of the shower system in our room is not working very well. Either too hot or too cold.

Full of loud Americans in the bar.

Free wifi in the bar/lobby. But in rooms need passcodes (free for elite members), valid only for 24 hours. Have to request for new code everyday day.

Room Tip: Level 7 has unblocked views and is close to the fitness room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weechuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed one night whilst on business and whilst it was comfortable, it is not a hotel I could stay in long term. The rooms are very modern and super clean, with exceptionally well appointed bathrooms, but could not be described a homely, being based on dark wood and black. The bed was large soft, but I could not get to sleep. Although I had aircon, it seemed to in effective.

The hotel bar is very sall considering the size of the hotel, offering space for 20 people max . Admitidly their are also tables for gusets wanting meals , but thee looked as if they were afterthoughts in wnat was a fairly cramped area.

By comparison , the breakfast room was spaceous and offered a good choice of food.

I would stay overnight again, but it is not a hotel I could recommend for a one week stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DriftwoodNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlton01, Director General at AC Hotel Carlton Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, they will help us to improve in the future.

We are really sorry you didn't like the decoration, it is a modern decoration that it's the claim of a lot of people.

About your comment of the bar, as all the common areas, there are rush hours, where there are a lot of people, and times when there is nobody; if you would have wanted to have a seat or drink something, we could have prepared to you a table on the breakfast área.

We appreciate your comments.

Thank you and best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I selected this hotel because it is a Marriott property. I was, admittedly, not familiar with the AC brand when making the reservation. It is relatively new to Marriott - at least in Spain. Having been to Madrid before and having no Marriott properties in the country, I was pleased to see that Marriott had added/purchased the AC and Autograph Collection hotels.

While the hotel is in a good location from the standpoint that it is quite convenient to the train station, museums, parks, shopping and public transportation - the hotel itself is on a seemingly sketchy street in a seemingly sketchy area. I was a bit disappointed when we arrived.

The front desk staff speaks marginal English which made checking in and asking questions somewhat difficult. The rooms are functional, but definitely no-frills. The website describes AC hotels as upper moderate tier lifestyle hotel brands with stylish urban hotels. I'm not sure this hotel fits that description. I found it to be very old and very dark.

On my next trip, I will select one of the Marriott Autograph Collection hotels. They are more expensive but I think will be worth the price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SeeingTheWordFromORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlton01, Director General at AC Hotel Carlton Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, they will help us to improve.

We are really sorry you didn't like the area where the hotel is; it is a typical area from Madrid; safe and good area.

Although our hotel is not an Autograph, we have a very good quality/Price relation.

We appreciate your comments.

Thank you and best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
AC Hotel Atocha
#182 of 443 in Madrid
853 reviews
Retiro
Only YOU Hotel Atocha
Only YOU Hotel Atocha
#11 of 443 in Madrid
723 reviews
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#73 of 443 in Madrid
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#81 of 443 in Madrid
666 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Mediodia
Hotel Mediodia
#194 of 443 in Madrid
990 reviews
Retiro
NH Madrid Atocha
NH Madrid Atocha
#110 of 443 in Madrid
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Carlton Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Carlton Madrid

Address: Paseo Delicias 26, 28045 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 443 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: £80 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Carlton Madrid 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your AC Hotel Carlton Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing