We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly close to Atocha”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AC Hotel Carlton Madrid
Ranked #150 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
South Carolina
Level Contributor
217 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Fairly close to Atocha”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I had read reviews on this hotel that said it was across the street from Atocha station and that's not exactly true but it's not a bad walk (about 2-3 blocks) once you find your way out of the "left" side of the station. It was convenient coming from Madrid and then going on to Algeciras and for a day trip to Toledo. The hotel is a nice, moderate and clean hotel, more away from the hustle and bustle. The front staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was ok but not worth the price but we didn't discover other places to eat until later and liked the convenience of going back to the room afterwards. It is within walking distance of the Prado and the red hop on/off bus and nice for an enjoyable dinner on the terrace of the Ritz and for the metro. The bath was modern and a very nice size. Had a little trouble figuring out the shower faucets at first and the hair dryer doesn't stay on unless you hold your finger on "on" while drying. The double windows could be opened to look out on the street but kept the noise out when closed. The walls, however, didn't keep out the noise in adjoining rooms. The light could come through the curtains even though there were blinds as well but we got used to that and were usually so tired we slept anyway. There was no clock or radio but we had our phones so that wasn't a problem for us. The keys didn't work the second day so we had to have them redone which was a little inconvenient. Even though it was a no smoking hotel, there was a cigar smell in our hall the second day which wasn't something they were probably aware of. The elevators were small but accommodated 2 people and 2 small suitcases and there were 2 elevators. The main entrance has steps down to the lobby from the revolving door which is not handicap accessible or even convenient for those arriving with luggage who have no disabilities. There was another door further down at ground level but not convenient to main entrance. I would suggest the hotel add at least a ramp at the main entrance. Would probably stay here again as a good value for the money although it seemed a little away from the center of things. We were here 3 nights and for our needs of the Atocha it was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCTraveller42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlton01, Manager at AC Hotel Carlton Madrid, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Sir

First of all we'd like to thank you for your comments. It help us to improve in the future.

Regarding the hair dryer in the bath, we have different types. If you had informed us about it during your stay, we could take to your room another hair dryer working without the finger on it.

We have no clock in the rooms but you have "wake up call " service at reception.

The Hotel has two entrances, as you explained, one with steps and other one for disabilities and for luggage.

Thanks again for your comments and we will continue on working to satisfy our guests.

Sincerely

Jose Alfonso Garcia Reviriego
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    619
    206
    37
    23
See reviews for
212
563
79
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
169 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

AC Carlton is a nice and clean hotel with helpful staff that is minutes to the Atocha train station. It is also about a 10 minute walk to the Prado museum and El Retiro Park. If you need to go to Sol and other sites, the metro station is close by or take the Cercanias from Atocha…..I walked to all major sites as I think it is the best way to explore any city. Sol is probably a 20 to 25 minute walk.
The room at the AC Carlton is about the average size of any Marriott room. The staff is very willing to assist and is multi-lingual. I would definitely stay at this Marriott location again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomadic_Thoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just a little way from old town Madrid (NEAR TRAIN STATION). Great hotel, but the hardest beds I have ever slept on. Great breakfast (included). Near Hop-On-Hop OFF buses. Which was the way to visit. Service was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlton01, General Manager at AC Hotel Carlton Madrid, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear guest,

First of all I would like to apologize for the inconveniences caused with the bed, If you would had told us about the problem with the bed we would have offered a change to another room with a different type of mattress.

Thank you also for your good comments, we hope to see you in your next visit to Madrid.

Thank you and kind regards

José Alfonso García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Great hotel. This hotel is located close to many things and attraction, you can go to most attraction with just less than a 20 minute walk. The rooms and hotel itself was really nice. We had no problems with this hotel.
Would recommend.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Karam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The AC Carlton is in a great location just a few minutes walk from the subway and train station. There were a few convenience type shops near by and the neighborhood seemed fairly safe.

The front desk staff was very helpful and patient with my constant questions and requests for recommendations. They were knowledgeable and went out of their way to offer assistance. Check-in was easy and quick.

My room was a well appointed and comfortable. The windows can be opened slightly to allow the breeze to come into the room.

I would stay here again and have recommended the property to friends traveling in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fr3quent-Fly3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

THE FRONT PEOPLE WERE NOT VERY HELPFUL. acTED LIKE DID NOT WANT TO BE BOTHERED. Elevated is very very small.
Cleaning lady was nice and hospitable

Pros:
good soft pillow like most Marroitt
Room is clean
Location is good - no so far from Grand via but from enough so it is not so noisy

Cons : rude receptionist
When asked to call a taxi - receptionist acted like "why am I asking him to call"
Worst customer service for a Marriott

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kent2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlton01, General Manager at AC Hotel Carlton Madrid, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I am really sorry for the bad impression you have from our hotel and from our staff at the Front desk. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences caused during your stay.

I will talk to my front desk staff to remember them the importance of our guests, because they already know that customers are our main focus and the most important to us. It must have been a misunderstanding on our part , as they work to please our guests and offer them a nice stay at our hotel.

Please, accept our apologies for the inconveniences.

I hope you visit our hotel the next time you come to Madrid, so we can offer you a better stay and an excellent customer service.

Kind regards
José Alfonso García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Before finalizing our booking via Marriott website, we figured: there must be something wrong with this hotel. It’s impossible to pay such a low amount for the location and the quality of the hotel.

Well, I can assure you from my own experience that this hotel delivers what it advertises: great and spacious rooms; a healthy breakfast with a great variety of options to satisfy your appetite and a perfect location.

For those who opt for breakfast-not included price; there are restaurants nearby in the area where you can get a decent breakfast for slightly less the price in comparison to the hotel.
If you want to spend even less on breakfast; not far down the road (when in front of the hotel, turn right) you’ll find a supermarket were you can buy bread, cheese and other goodies that falls under the category: breakfast.

In short: a great hotel with friendly and hardworking staff, an excellent location and options nearby for those who do not want to have breakfast in the hotel.

On a more general travel note: if you travel with children, make sure to bring their student pass when going to a museum; all of them offer reduced prices for students. That also counts for teachers, If you can hand over documentation proving you’re linked to an educational institution, you’re eligible for discount as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
AC Hotel Atocha
#188 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Hotel Paseo del Arte
#122 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,896 reviews
Retiro
NH Madrid Atocha
NH Madrid Atocha
#135 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#61 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#75 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Mediodia
Hotel Mediodia
#197 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Carlton Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Carlton Madrid

Property: AC Hotel Carlton Madrid
Address: Paseo Delicias 26, 28045 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Carlton Madrid 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Priceline, Marriott, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Carlton Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing