We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of AC Hotel Carlton Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AC Hotel Carlton Madrid
Ranked #159 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2009

We stayed in this hotel during a 4 day stay in Madrid. The hotel was spotless, well stocked, and within close proximity to the train station. Our standard room was spacious and the bathroom was sizeable. The room had extensive storage space. Noise was not a problem, neither from the street or other rooms.
The staff was courteous, prompt, and attentive. The front desk staff always helped with directions with a smile.

Breakfast was good. It had a lot of variety including fresh fruit. The bar had a nice menu. The bar had GREAT Sangria!

All and all we were thrilled and would stay again. It is a good location, nice staff, and good food service. We were able to walk to various points of interest from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkennedy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    601
    197
    37
    23
See reviews for
206
541
77
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Louis, MO
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2009

Stayed at the Carlton for 2 nites in November 08. Took train from Valencia, the Carlton is 2 blocks from the Atocha train station, so it was a short walk(one of the reasons i booked it).

We had about two hours before the Reina Sofia(Guernica) closed, so we checked in, which was hassle-free, and ran over there, which was only about a 5-10 min. walk.

The room and bathroom were immaculate, great, great room, and the hotel desk were very friendly.

Also within walking distance was the Prado and the Botannical Gardens. Note that there is only 1 entrance to the Botannical gardens(we thought we could cut-through on the way back to the hotel).

Take a cab to the Royal Palace. We walked from the Royal Palace to the Prado back to the hotel, and that was fine.

There's a lot of great, low-cost food options right around the hotel. Of the 4 hotels we stayed in Spain this was by far my favorite.

  • Liked — Everything - location, staff, room
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bigperm86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lothian
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Carlton in Madrid for a birthday treat for my husbands birthday to see a Real Madrid football game from 23rd January until 26th January 2009.

The hotel is very centrally located to subway / Atocha station, the sub way is one of best I have ever used, very easy to get around the city this way. Rooms in the Carlton were really good size and bathroom was very nice (recently refurbished).

The hotel itself sits on a busy road and the traffic does not stop all night long, but this is a city and most citys have noise all night. There was metal shutters on outisde of your room window which you could release down, this seemed to shut out some of the noise. The reception staff and bar man were all very nice and friendly. This hotel is perfect for a short weekend trip to Madrid and would recommend to anyone heading to Madrid.

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — The heat in the hotel. It was too hot.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bidele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khabarovsk, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2009

the hotel is really good because of location and quality of service.
we stayed at Carlton Madrid for a few times in Jan 2009 and tried to use many rooms. Every room had a good atmosphere . To be honest all rooms were not brand new but very clean and cosy.
Staff was very helpful and friendly.
Breakfast was absolutely amazing to compare with other hotels in Europe.
Laundry service is a bit expensive.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pumpui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2008

My friend and I stayed at the Hotel Carlton for a mini break to Madrid. It was a great location near the Atoca train station. There is a 24 supermarket nearby. The room was spacious with a big bathroom. The staff were friendly and spoke good English.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenDavis84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2008

Stayed at the carlton in oct 2008 for long weekend. Rooms are clean and spacious,front desk are helpful,most of the staff speak english.

In a good location,within walking distance of museums,atocha train stations and retiro park.

Top tip if you've never been to madrid,use the metro to travel everywhere! It's spotless ,reliable,cheap and easy to use.It's 2 euros to central madrid from the airport compared to 25+ in a taxi.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leewenliamdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bubblegal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2008

The Hotel Carlton was very nice - very clean modern and rooms are very spacious for a city hotel. You are within walking distance to most of the attractions - although not far from the metro - which we used as you can get daily tourist cards very cheaply - and is much safer to use than walk around at night.

Only disappointment is it was a treat for my birthday - and unfortunatley the hotel had not notified us that were refurbishments happening. We were woken up at 7am in the morning to people decorating the rooms next door.// all you could hear were people taping the carpet, talking and scraping off wallpaper. The walls were very thin (you could even hear toilets flushing from surrounding rooms). Also the bedside light did not work - we notified reception who advised that they would fix it the next day - this never happened.

We did get a very good rate at this hotel however feel we should have atleast been notified (even when checking in) that we may experience some inconvenience - at least we would not have been as annoyed when woken up very early on a holiday away.

]Overall - if no refurbishment was going on - I would definatley reccommend - but maybe not if u do like to sleep!

  • Liked — very modern clean rooms - interconnect if with big group
  • Disliked — The noise disturbance
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bubblegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
AC Hotel Atocha
#190 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Hotel Paseo del Arte
#120 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
Retiro
NH Madrid Atocha
NH Madrid Atocha
#142 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#77 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#65 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Huertas
Urban Sea Atocha 113
Urban Sea Atocha 113
#176 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Carlton Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Carlton Madrid

Property: AC Hotel Carlton Madrid
Address: Paseo Delicias 26, 28045 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Carlton Madrid 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Marriott, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your AC Hotel Carlton Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing